Sign In

Ebola guidance issued for Canadian MDs

The Ebola virus outbreak in Africa has prompted the Public Health Agency of Canada (PHAC) to alert physicians to be vigilant in reporting and investigating patients with symptoms of the disease.

As of midweek, the World Health Organization had reported 672 deaths from the Ebola hemorrhagic fever outbreak in Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone.

Health professionals in Canada are urged to immediately report all suspected or probable cases of Ebola to the Public Health Agency of Canada through its 24-hour emergency line: 1-866-262-8433 and not to undertake any laboratory testing on a patient suspected of having an Ebola infection.

Despite worldwide concern and publicity about the outbreak, Dr. Gregory Taylor, deputy chief public health officer for PHAC has issued a statement reassuring Canadians that their risk from the virus “is very low.”

Taylor stated that unlike the flu, the Ebola virus itself does not spread easily from person to person and is spread through direct contact with infected bodily fluids, not through casual contact.

“We also have a number of systems in place in Canada to identify and prevent the spread of serious infectious diseases like Ebola, as well as provide ill patients with the best possible care,” he said.

Taylor noted that Canada is the second largest contributor to Ebola response efforts having committed $1.41 million and providing PHAC experts to the World Health Organization to assist in the on-the-ground response.

Any health care professionals or other Canadian responders coming back from areas in which the Ebola outbreak is active are asked monitor themselves for symptoms for 21 days. If any symptoms occur, they should contact their healthcare provider immediately.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Conseils sur l’Ebola à l’intention des médecins canadiens

En raison de l’éclosion d’Ebola en Afrique, l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada (ASPC) exhorte les médecins à faire preuve de vigilance quand ils signalent et examinent des patients présentant des symptômes de la maladie.

Au milieu de la semaine, l’Organisation mondiale de la santé avait rapporté 672 décès attribuables à l’éclosion de la fièvre virale hémorragique Ebola en Guinée, au Libéria et en Sierra Leone.

Les professionnels de la santé au Canada sont priés de signaler immédiatement tout cas soupçonné ou probable d’Ebola à l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada par l'intermédiaire de la ligne d’urgence (24 heures), au 866 262-8433, et de ne pas entreprendre d’analyses de laboratoire pour un patient chez qui l’on soupçonne une infection par le virus Ebola.

Malgré les préoccupations et la publicité mondiales entourant cette éclosion d’Ebola, le Dr Gregory Taylor, sous-administrateur en chef de la santé publique à l’ASPC, a fait une déclaration afin d’informer les Canadiens que le risque de contracter le virus « est très faible ».

Le Dr Taylor a souligné que contrairement à la grippe, le virus Ebola lui-même ne se transmet pas facilement d’une personne à une autre. Il se transmet par un contact direct avec des fluides corporels infectés, et non pas par simple contact.

« De plus, le Canada dispose de certains outils pour déceler et prévenir les maladies infectieuses graves comme l’Ebola, mais aussi pour offrir les meilleurs soins possibles aux patients atteints », a-t-il précisé.

Le Dr Taylor a souligné que le Canada est le deuxième donateur le plus important de la réponse à la crise d’Ebola, ayant engagé 1,41 millions de dollars et mettant des experts de l’ASPC à la disposition de l’Organisation mondiale de la santé pour soutenir les interventions sur place.

Les professionnels de la santé et autres intervenants canadiens qui rentrent de zones où l’éclosion d’Ebola est active doivent surveiller l’apparition de symptômes pendant 21 jours. Si un symptôme se présente, ils doivent communiquer immédiatement avec leur fournisseur de soins de santé.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.