Sign In

President’s Message

End-of-life care and the issues that surround it has been a priority for the Canadian Medical Association this year.

Prompted by discussions at General Council last August, your Board of Directors directed that the CMA lead an extensive national dialogue with both members and the public on physician-assisted dying, advance care directives and the availability of palliative care services.

Earlier this summer, the CMA released the results of its national dialogue with the public conducted through five town hall meetings across Canada and an online forum. I am proud of the leadership role we were able to take in helping moderate discussions about important issues that will ultimately be decided by Canadian society.

The CMA is now releasing the results of its consultation with members that involved six meetings across Canada and an extensive online consultation for which more than 1200 members registered. These member discussions featured thoughtful, respectful and informed dialogue on the whole range of end-of-life care issues.

It was clear you wanted to focus on those issues that impact the medical profession directly such as the role of physicians in medical aid in dying should the laws in Canada change to permit such practices.

Our consultations have not been taking place in a vacuum. In Quebec, legislation has now been passed legalizing medical aid in dying in certain circumstances. The Supreme Court of Canada will be hearing the Carter case later this fall which will also deal with medical aid in dying and we as an association have been granted intervenor status in that case.

As General Council prepares to further discuss these issues next month in Ottawa I would urge you to review the results of the member consultation to see the broad range of views expressed and the insights provided by your colleagues.

Connexion

Message du président

Les soins de fin de vie et les enjeux connexes sont une priorité pour l’Association médicale canadienne cette année.

À la suite des discussions du Conseil général en août dernier, votre Conseil d’administration a demandé que l’AMC organise un dialogue national exhaustif avec ses membres et le grand public afin de discuter de l’aide médicale à mourir, des directives préalables et de la disponibilité des services de soins palliatifs.

Plus tôt cet été, l’AMC a publié les résultats de son dialogue national avec le grand public, qui s’est tenu sous la forme de cinq assemblées de consultation, partout au pays, et d’un forum en ligne. Je suis fier du rôle de leadership que nous avons joué en aidant à animer les discussions sur d’importantes questions qui, en bout de ligne, seront tranchées par la société canadienne.

L’AMC présente maintenant les résultats des consultations tenues avec ses membres lors de six rencontres, à divers endroits au pays, et de discussions en ligne approfondies auxquelles plus de 1200 membres ont participé. Ces discussions ont permis aux membres de parler des nombreux enjeux liés aux soins de fin de vie de façon réfléchie, respectueuse et éclairée.

Il était clair que vous vouliez vous concentrer sur les questions qui ont un impact direct sur la profession médicale, par exemple le rôle que les médecins devraient jouer dans l’aide médicale à mourir si les lois canadiennes étaient modifiées afin de permettre cette pratique.

Nos consultations n’étaient pas exemptes de contexte. Au Québec, une loi autorisant l’aide médicale à mourir dans certaines circonstances a maintenant été adoptée. De plus, la Cour suprême du Canada entendra l’affaire Carter plus tard cet automne, qui traite également de l’aide médicale à mourir. L’AMC a obtenu le statut d’intervenant dans cette affaire.

Alors que le Conseil général se prépare à poursuivre les discussions sur ces questions le mois prochain à Ottawa, je vous prie d’étudier les résultats des consultations auprès des membres afin de vous familiariser avec tout l’éventail des points de vue exprimés et des idées présentées par vos collègues.