Sign In

Federal leadership in health essential: panel

Federal leadership is essential to help reform the health care system, so there must be greater recognition of the importance of health care to Canadians in the current federal election campaign.

That was the consensus of all speakers at a recent sold-out panel discussion sponsored by the Canadian Medical Association (CMA) and hosted by The Hill Times publication in Ottawa.

Discussants endorsed the core CMA advocacy message that all federal political parties should commit to the development of a national seniors strategy.

In an electronic poll taken at the meeting, more than half of the audience members who participated said they would change their vote if the party of their choice was not committed to development of such a strategy. In another poll, 90% characterized seniors care as a somewhat or very urgent issue to address.

“We simply want the federal government to be partners again,” said CMA Past President Chris Simpson during question period.

Simpson shared the podium with Dr. Francine Lemire, executive director and CEO of the College of Family Physicians of Canada, Karen Cohen, CEO of the Canadian Psychological Association and co-chair of the Health Action Lobby, and Douglas Angus, an economist from the Telfer School of Management at the University of Ottawa.

Touching on the fact that the economy – but not health care – has emerged as a major issue during this election campaign, Simpson said “what our politicians need to understand is that the health of our economy and the health of our population are fundamentally linked.”

“In order to guarantee the good health of our population, we need to start spending smarter,” he declared, adding "a national plan for our seniors is more important than ever before in order to protect and sustain our health care system.

“Canadians want to hear from our political leaders what they plan to do to ensure that seniors and their families receive the care they need,” he said.

While other panellists discussed the priorities in health care for their particular organizations and Angus stressed the failure of policy-makers to address the growing number of Canadians with chronic diseases, each reiterated the need for federal leadership.

“We need visionary leaders from the right and from the left,” said Angus.

Questions put to panel members dealt with topics ranging from mental health to injury prevention.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Le leadership fédéral est essentiel en santé, affirme un panel

Le leadership fédéral revêt une importance cruciale dans la réforme du système de santé. La campagne électorale fédérale actuelle doit donc prendre davantage en compte l’importance qu’accordent les Canadiens aux soins de santé.

Tous les panélistes s’entendaient sur ce point lors d’une récente discussion parrainée par l’Association médicale canadienne (AMC) et organisée par la publication The Hill Times à Ottawa.

Les participants ont appuyé la revendication principale de l’AMC, qui demande à tous les partis politiques fédéraux de s’engager à élaborer une stratégie nationale sur les aînés.

Dans un sondage électronique réalisé lors de la réunion, plus de la moitié des membres participants ont affirmé qu’ils changeraient leur vote si le parti de leur choix ne s’engageait pas à élaborer une telle stratégie. Dans un autre sondage, 90 % des participants ont qualifié les soins aux aînés de problème assez urgent ou très urgent sur lequel il faut se pencher.

« Nous voulons simplement que le gouvernement fédéral collabore de nouveau avec nous », a déclaré le président sortant Chris Simpson durant la période de questions.

Le Dr Simpson partageait la tribune avec la Dre Francine Lemire, directrice générale et chef de la direction du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada, Karen Cohen, chef de la direction de la Société canadienne de psychologie et coprésidente du Groupe d’intervention action santé, et Douglas Angus, économiste à l’École de gestion Telfer de l’Université d’Ottawa.

« Ce que doivent comprendre nos politiciens, c’est que la santé de notre économie et celle de notre population sont fondamentalement liées », a affirmé le Dr Simpson en évoquant le fait que l’économie, contrairement aux soins de santé, est devenue un enjeu majeur de la campagne électorale.

« Si nous voulons que notre population soit en bonne santé, nous devons commencer à investir plus judicieusement », a-t-il ajouté. « Il est plus important que jamais auparavant d’adopter un plan national pour nos aînés, afin de protéger notre système de santé et d’en assurer la viabilité. »

« Les Canadiens veulent que les chefs politiques leur disent ce qu’ils comptent faire pour que les aînés et leurs familles reçoivent les soins dont ils ont besoin », a affirmé le Dr Simpson.

Tandis que les autres panélistes discutaient des priorités de leurs organisations respectives en matière de santé et que le M. Angus soulignait l’inaction des décideurs relativement à l’augmentation de l’incidence des maladies chroniques chez les Canadiens, tous ont réitéré la nécessité d’un leadership fédéral.

« Nous avons besoin de chefs visionnaires, qu’ils soient de droite ou de gauche », a affirmé Douglas Angus.

Les questions posées aux panélistes ont porté sur divers sujets depuis la santé mentale jusqu’à la prévention des blessures.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.