Sign In

First survey of Canadian medical student health coming this fall

Completion of the first national survey of medical student health and wellbeing was one of the main priorities identified by Bryce Durafourt during his presidential address at the annual meeting of the Canadian Federation of Medical Students.

Noting that the survey, being completed under a grant from the Canadian Physician Health Institute, was proving to be “a bigger job than anticipated”, Durafourt said he anticipated it will be circulated this fall with results being presented at the Canadian Conference on Medical Education next spring. The survey is a joint project of the CFMS and the Quebec Federation of Medical Students (FMEQ).

Another priority identified by Durafourt is implementation of the first year of the federation’s 2014-2017 strategic plan endorsed at the meeting held in Kingston, ON.

“Tomorrow’s physicians, leading for health today,” is the new vision statement for the federation included in the plan.

Strengthening bilingualism within the CFMS was another priority identified by Durafourt as was gaining more individual members from Quebec. Quebec delegates from McGill – the only Quebec medical school to belong to the CFMS - as well as representatives from the FMEQ were active participants at the annual meeting.

Durafourt also touched on the strengthening of partnerships with other organizations and singled out the Canadian Medical Association (CMA) as an example of this and the recent ambassador program where the CMA sponsored 10 Ontario medical students to attend its General Council meeting. He also talked about the recent agreement to make CMA online leadership courses available to medical students at no cost.

He talked about becoming personally involved on the Association of Faculties of Medicine of Canada matching task force because of ongoing concerns from CFMS about the increasing rate of unmatched Canadian medical students. “This should be a priority for us,” he said.

Increasing and improving member engagement was another theme touched on by Durafourt and referenced repeatedly over the course of the three-day meeting. Leaders of the federation talked of the importance of the CFMS website in serving as a central hub for communications with members.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

La première enquête sur la santé des étudiants en médecine prévue cet automne

La réalisation de la première enquête nationale sur la santé et le mieux-être des étudiants en médecine était l’une des priorités soulignées par Bryce Durafourt lorsqu’il a prononcé son discours présidentiel à l’assemblée annuelle de la Fédération des étudiants et des étudiantes en médecine du Canada (FEMC).

Soulignant que l’enquête, réalisée à l’aide d’une subvention de l’Institut canadien pour la santé des médecins, se révélait être « un travail plus important que prévu », M. Durafourt a dit qu’il prévoyait la diffusion du questionnaire cet automne et la publication des résultats à la Conférence canadienne sur l’éducation médicale du printemps prochain. L’enquête est un projet conjoint de la FEMC et la Fédération médicale étudiante du Québec (FMEQ).

M. Durafourt a aussi insisté sur une autre priorité de la Fédération, soit la première année de l’exécution de son plan stratégique 2014-2017, adopté lors de la rencontre tenue à Kingston, en Ontario.

Le nouvel énoncé de vision de la FEMC, qui figure dans son plan stratégique, peut se traduire comme suit : « Les médecins de demain prennent dès maintenant la barre pour la santé » (Tomorrow’s physicians, leading for health today).

L’amélioration du bilinguisme au sein de la FEMC est une autre priorité identifiée par M. Durafourt, alors que le nombre de membres du Québec augmente. Des délégués de l’Université McGill – la seule école de médecine du Québec rattachée à la FEMC – et des représentants de la FEMQ ont participé activement à l’assemblée annuelle.

M. Durafourt a aussi abordé la question du renforcement des partenariats avec d’autres organisations et a donné l’exemple des liens avec l’Association médicale canadienne (AMC) et du récent programme des ambassadeurs grâce auquel l’AMC a parrainé 10 étudiants en médecine de l’Ontario pour leur permettre d’assister à l’assemblée de son Conseil général. Il a aussi parlé de l’entente conclue récemment avec l’AMC pour permettre aux étudiants en médecine d’avoir accès gratuitement aux cours de leadership offerts en ligne.

Il a poursuivi en parlant de sa participation personnelle au groupe de travail de l’Association des facultés de médecine du Canada sur le jumelage, car la FEMC est préoccupée par le nombre croissant d’étudiants en médecine canadiens qui ne trouvent pas de place au jumelage. « Cette question doit être prioritaire pour nous », a-t-il dit.

Enfin, M. Durafourt a mentionné à plusieurs reprises au cours de l’assemblée de trois jours les enjeux liés à une meilleure participation et mobilisation des membres. Les dirigeants de la Fédération ont souligné l’importance du site Web de la FEMC comme plaque tournante des communications avec les membres.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.