Sign In

Defining a progressive vision for medical professionalism

What it means to be a medical professional in today’s world has informed more than a few debates at the Canadian Medical Association’s annual General Council (GC) meeting in recent years.

But with professionalism now a major strategic focus for at least the next three years, this year’s meeting will give GC delegates and observers a first chance to help the association frame its strategy in this area.

In particular, the CMA will be engaging the 30 GC ambassadors attending the meeting in a special interactive lunch session.

During the session, students, residents and early career physicians from the Atlantic region will participate in exercises to understand the current landscape as it relates to medical professionalism. They’ll identify perceived gaps or challenges in addressing professionalism in training, discuss the informal/hidden curriculum with respect to professionalism and identify opportunities for medical students and physicians to become enablers of change.

The CMA will have two other opportunities for GC delegates and observers to weigh in. At the Member Lounge on Monday, members will have a chance to identify attributes they associate with medical professionalism. There will also be a video booth at which delegates and observers will be encouraged to answer one of three questions:

  • What characteristics or behaviours do you associate with medical professionalism?
  • What would you describe as the biggest challenge facing professionalism in medicine today?
  • What role can the CMA play to support a progressive vision for medical professionalism in Canada?

“Those who have attended General Council for the last two or three years will recognize these questions as underlying much of our debate on more specific issues relating to the health care system,” said CMA President Chris Simpson.

“Defining a progressive vision for professionalism in a rapidly evolving health care system is critical for the future of medicine in Canada.”

The activities at General Council are just part of the work being undertaken by the CMA to define its vision and strategy for medical professionalism.

Connexion

Comment définir une vision progressiste pour le professionnalisme médical

Ce que signifie être un professionnel en médecine de nos jours a été le point de départ de plus d’un débat au Conseil général (CG) annuel de l’Association médicale canadienne au cours des dernières années.

Comme le professionnalisme sera un axe stratégique important pour encore au moins trois ans, la réunion de cette année sera une première occasion pour les délégués et observateurs du CG d’aider l’Association à établir une stratégie à cet égard.

Plus précisément, l’AMC invitera les 30 ambassadeurs du CG qui seront présents à une séance interactive spéciale durant l’heure du déjeuner.

Au cours de cette séance, des étudiants, des médecins résidents et des médecins en début de carrière de la région de l’Atlantique participeront à des exercices dans le but de comprendre la situation actuelle relativement au professionnalisme médical. Ils seront appelés à cerner les lacunes ou les difficultés qu’ils perçoivent en ce qui concerne le professionnalisme dans le cadre de la formation, à discuter des éléments informels ou tacites du programme d’études sur le plan du professionnalisme et à déterminer dans quelles situations les étudiants en médecine et les médecins pourraient devenir des agents de changement.

L’AMC offrira deux autres occasions aux délégués et observateurs du CG d’avoir voix au chapitre. Au salon des membres le lundi, les délégués pourront indiquer les caractéristiques qu’ils attribuent au professionnalisme médical. Il y aura aussi une cabine vidéo où délégués et observateurs seront invités à répondre à l’une des trois questions suivantes :

  • Quels attributs ou comportements associez-vous au professionnalisme médical?
  • Décrivez le plus grand défi à relever par rapport au professionnalisme en médecine de nos jours?
  • Quel rôle l’AMC peut-elle jouer pour favoriser une vision progressiste du professionnalisme médical au Canada?

« Ceux qui étaient présents au Conseil général au cours des deux ou trois dernières années reconnaîtront ces questions comme l’assise d’une bonne part du débat sur des questions plus précises qui ont trait au système de soins de santé », précise le président de l’AMC, Chris Simpson.

« Il est d’une importance cruciale pour l’avenir de la médecine au Canada de définir une vision progressiste du professionnalisme dans un système de santé qui évolue rapidement. »

Les activités prévues pour le Conseil général font partie des travaux entrepris par l’AMC pour définir sa vision et sa stratégie en ce qui a trait au professionnalisme médical.