Sign In

MD Financial Management session focuses on financial planning for female physicians

Female physicians can take more responsibility for their financial well-being when they have sound financial planning.

That was the key takeaway from a presentation by Bridget Paton, a senior financial consultant for MD Financial Management, at a well-attended lunch session prior to the Canadian Medical Association (CMA) general council meeting in Halifax.

The session, a first at the CMA annual meeting, was introduced by Dr. Suzanne Strasberg, chair of the MD Financial Management Board of Directors — the first woman to hold this post.

Paton said she is passionate about financial literacy for female physicians “because I’ve seen a lot of successful, intelligent women find themselves in financially compromised positions due to a lack of financial planning and paying sufficient attention to their own well-being.”

Paton opened by addressing the demographic realities: women comprise a greater percentage of the older population in Canada, with 84% of Canada’s centenarians being women.

She noted that the number of female physicians is increasing, and by 2030 they will outnumber their male counterparts. However, while female physicians are making up a larger percentage of the population this is not yet matched by greater involvement in financial decision-making.

Paton presented statistics showing men are far more likely to be solely responsible for family financial matters. In addition, female physicians tend to have lower incomes and financial assets, especially at a young age.

To address these deficiencies, Paton said women physicians can work with a financial advisor to create a financial “road map” that fits their needs and helps them plan for the type of retirement they want.

Paton discussed the benefits of incorporating a practice to allow a physician to take advantage of having more after-tax income. She noted that taking such a step is not as onerous, as some might believe and has both income-splitting and tax deferral advantages.

Because the business tax rate is much lower than the personal tax rate in many circumstances, she advised “if you’re in a position to save money … it makes sense to incorporate.”

Other tax-optimization strategies are available for female physicians, Paton noted, none inherently good or bad but possibly beneficial depending on a person’s financial situation.

She concluded by stating that female women physicians don’t have to be experts in financial planning, having some knowledge of investment basics can make them more comfortable in making financial decisions.

Connexion

Gestion financière MD met l’accent sur la planification financière pour les femmes médecins

Les femmes médecins peuvent devenir plus responsables de leur situation financière si elles bénéficient d’une solide planification.

C’est le message clé d’un exposé fait par Bridget Paton, experte-conseil principale pour Gestion financière MD lors d’une séance très achalandée tenue à l’heure du déjeuner, avant l’assemblée du Conseil général de l’Association médicale canadienne (AMC) à Halifax.

Cette séance, une première à l’assemblée annuelle de l’AMC, a été introduite par la Dre Suzanne Strasberg, présidente du conseil d’administration de Gestion financière MD — la première femme à occuper ce poste.

Madame Paton se dit passionnée par l’éducation financière des femmes médecins « parce que j’ai vu beaucoup de femmes intelligentes et accomplies qui se sont trouvées dans une situation financière compromise à cause d’un manque de planification et parce qu’elles n’ont pas prêté l’attention nécessaire à leur propre bien-être ».

Elle a commencé par énoncer une réalité démographique : les femmes représentent le plus grand pourcentage de la population vieillissante du Canada, dont 84 % des centenaires qui sont de sexe féminin.

Elle a ajouté que le nombre de femmes médecins est à la hausse et que, d’ici 2030, leur nombre surpassera celui de leurs homologues masculins. Or, bien que les femmes médecins soient plus nombreuses dans la population, elles n’ont pas pour autant participé davantage aux décisions relatives à leur situation financière.

Les statistiques présentées montrent que les hommes sont de loin beaucoup plus susceptibles d’assumer seuls la responsabilité des finances familiales. En outre, les femmes médecins ont tendance à avoir un revenu inférieur et moins d’actifs financiers, surtout lorsqu’elles sont jeunes.

Pour combler ces lacunes, madame Paton est d’avis que les femmes médecins peuvent retenir les services d’un conseiller financier dans le but de créer une « feuille de route » qui satisfait leurs besoins et qui peut les aider à planifier le type de retraite qu’elles souhaitent avoir.

Elle a discuté des avantages de constituer sa pratique en société afin que le médecin puisse tirer parti des avantages fiscaux et bénéficier d’un revenu plus élevé après impôt. Elle a ajouté que la démarche n’est pas aussi onéreuse que l’on pense, et qu’elle procure à la fois les avantages du fractionnement de revenu et du report de l’impôt.

Parce que le taux d’imposition des entreprises est beaucoup plus bas que celui des particuliers dans bien des cas, elle précise que « si vous êtes en mesure d’économiser de l’argent… il est logique de se constituer en société ».

D’autres stratégies d’optimisation du revenu sont à la disposition des femmes médecins, ajoute madame Paton, celles-ci peuvent être bonnes ou moins bonnes, mais certaines peuvent être favorables selon la situation financière de chacune.

Elle a conclu en disant que les femmes médecins n’ont pas besoin d’être expertes en gestion financière, mais qu’une connaissance des rudiments des placements peut les aider à prendre plus aisément des décisions d’ordre financier.