Sign In

Super Sunday in Halifax

Sunday, Aug. 23 - the day before General Council sessions formally begin is packed with informative and educational sessions for delegates and observers. Events begin early in the morning and continue throughout the day until the official welcoming reception at 5:30 pm.

The day starts at 8 am when the Canadian Medical Association’s political engagement staff will offer a 1-hour insider’s look at the world of politics and how you can make an impact.

This will be followed at 9 am by the Canadian Medical Foundation’s education session which will deal with the topic of supporting physician resilience within a complex stress environment.

The first of two MD Financial Management session’s will be held at 11:30 am when a lunch will be held focusing on financial planning for female physicians including incorporating your practice, tax-planning options and how to maximize your benefit overall.

At 12:15 pm, the CMA will offer a workshop exploring the physician role in a national seniors’ strategy. This session will discuss tools and resources to help physicians deliver appropriate care for seniors as well as identifying priorities for future action in this area.

From 2:15 pm until 2:45 pm, former president of the Canadian Federation of Medical Students Dr. Jesse Kancir will moderate a panel discussion on the clinical and leadership products and services available to members through NewCo, the CMA’s newest subsidiary.

Then, from 3 pm to 4 pm, MD Financial Management will hold a special session titled: Gen Y and You. Moderated by Dr. Bryce Durafourt, president of the Canadian Federation of Medical Students, the session will take the form of an interactive discussion on what MD Financial Management is doing for the next generation of Canada’s physicians and what it means for members of the CMA Please join us after the event, meet the panelists, and enjoy complimentary wine & cheese — with a chance to win some fabulous prizes!

At 4:15 pm new and returning delegates will have an opportunity to take part in an orientation session with the speaker and deputy speaker of General Council explaining how GC sessions function and how to participate most effectively.

Connexion

Le « Super dimanche » à Halifax

Le dimanche 23 août, soit la journée précédant le début officiel des séances du Conseil général, plusieurs séances d’information et d’éducation seront offertes aux délégués et aux observateurs. Les activités commenceront tôt le matin et se poursuivront tout au long de la journée, jusqu’à la réception d’ouverture officielle, à 17 h 30.

La journée commencera dès 8 heures. Les membres de l’équipe de mobilisation politique de l’Association médicale canadienne offriront alors une séance d’une heure sur le monde de la politique vu de l’intérieur et sur la façon dont vous pouvez faire une différence.

Cette activité sera suivie à 9 heures d’une séance d’éducation de la Fondation médicale canadienne sur l’optimisation de la résilience des médecins dans un milieu complexe et stressant.

La première des trois séances de Gestion financière MD se tiendra à 11 h 30, à l’heure du déjeuner. Cette séance traitera principalement de la planification financière pour les femmes médecins, notamment en ce qui a trait à la constitution en société, aux options de planification fiscale et aux solutions pour maximiser globalement ses avantages.

À 12 h 15, l’AMC offrira un atelier sur le rôle des médecins dans l’élaboration d’une stratégie nationale sur les aînés. Au cours de cette séance, il sera question des outils et des ressources qui sont mis à la disposition des médecins pour les aider à prodiguer des soins appropriés aux aînés, ainsi que des priorités à dégager à cet égard pour l’avenir.

De 14 h 15 à 14 h 45, le Dr Jesse Kancir, président sortant de la Fédération des étudiants et des étudiantes en médecine du Canada (FEMC), animera un panel de discussion sur les outils cliniques et les produits de leadership offerts aux membres par NewCo, la plus récente filiale de l’AMC.

Ensuite, de 15 h à 16 h, Gestion financière MD mènera une séance spéciale intitulée « La génération Y et vous ». Animée par le Dr Bryce Durafourt, président de la FEMC, cette séance prendra la forme d’une discussion interactive sur les mesures mises en place par MD pour la prochaine génération de médecins canadiens et sur la signification de ces mesures pour les membres de l’AMC. Nous vous invitons à vous joindre à nous après l’activité pour rencontrer nos experts et prendre part à une dégustation gratuite de vins et fromages. Vous pourriez même gagner de fabuleux prix!

À 16 h 15, les délégués auront l’occasion de participer à une séance d’orientation, que ce soit leur première expérience au Conseil général ou non. Durant cette séance, l’orateur et l’orateure adjointe du Conseil général expliqueront le fonctionnement des séances du CG et la façon d’y participer le plus efficacement possible.