Sign In

Drug shortages: causes, prevention and mitigation (Concurrent education session)

(Mon. Aug. 22, 3:20 pm - 4:40 pm)

Drug shortages continue to occur in Canada and internationally, having a detrimental impact on the delivery of patient care and treatment as well as the availability of health care services. This session will examine why drug shortages occur in Canada and internationally, and explore best practices and mitigation strategies to help prevent them through a case example.

Presenters

Ms. Elaine Chong, Chair of the Provincial/Territorial Drug Shortages Task Team

Dr. Adam Steacie, Chair, CMA Working Group on Drug Shortages

Mr. Ed Morgan, Multi-Stakeholder Steering Committee on Drug Shortages

Learning objectives

Participants will:

  • identify the definition of a drug shortage in Canada as well as the domestic and international root causes;
  • examine best practices for preventing and mitigating current and persistent drug shortages in Canada;
  • demonstrate an awareness of their role as physicians in advocating for actions and policy that address drug shortages.

 

Evaluation form

 

Click here to participate virtually (members only)


2016 General Council Program: This event is an Accredited Group Learning Activity (Section 1) as defined by the Maintenance of Certification program of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada for 16.75 hours. This program has been reviewed and approved by the University of Ottawa, Office of Continuing Professional Development. This Group Learning program has been certified by the College of Family Physicians of Canada and the British Columbia Chapter for up to 16.75 Mainpro+ credits (a certificate of participation will be emailed to participants at the end of the General Council Program).

 

Virtual participation (Drug Shortages): This event is an Accredited Group Learning Activity (Section 1) as defined by the Maintenance of Certification Program of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada for 1.25 hours. This program has been reviewed and approved by the University of Ottawa, Office of Continuing Professional Development. This Group Learning program has been certified by the College of Family Physicians of Canada and the British Columbia Chapter for up to 1.25 Mainpro+ credits (a certificate of participation will be emailed to participants at the end of the General Council Program).

Connexion

Les pénuries de médicaments : causes, prévention et atténuation

(Lundi 22 août, de 15 h 20 à 16 h 40)

Les pénuries de médicaments continuent de sévir au Canada et à l’étranger. Elles ont des conséquences négatives sur la prestation des soins et des traitements aux patients ainsi que sur la disponibilité des services de soins de santé. Cette séance se penchera sur la cause des pénuries de médicaments, au Canada et à l’étranger, et explorera les pratiques exemplaires et les stratégies visant à atténuer l’incidence des pénuries, dans le contexte d’une étude de cas.

Présentateurs

Mme Elaine Chong, présidente, Groupe de travail provincial-territorial sur les pénuries de médicaments

Dr Adam Steacie, président, Groupe de travail de l’AMC sur les pénuries de médicaments

M. Ed Morgan, Comité directeur multilatéral sur les pénuries de médicaments

Objectifs d’apprentissage

Les participants :

  • connaîtront la définition d’une pénurie de médicaments au Canada ainsi que leurs causes sous-jacentes, au pays et à l’étranger;
  • étudieront les pratiques exemplaires visant à atténuer les pénuries actuelles et persistantes de médicaments au Canada;
  • seront bien sensibilisés au rôle qu’ils peuvent jouer en qualité de médecins pour préconiser des interventions et des politiques face aux pénuries de médicaments.

 

Formulaire d’évaluation

 

Cliquer ici pour participer en mode virtuel (réservé aux membres)


Programme du Conseil général 2016 : Cette activité est une activité de formation collective agréée aux termes de la Section 1 du programme de Maintien du certificat du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada pour 16,75 heures. Ce programme a été révisé et approuvé par le Bureau de formation professionnelle continue l’Université d’Ottawa. Ce programme d’apprentissage collectif a reçu l’agrément du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada et de sa section de la Colombie-Britannique; il donne droit à un maximum de 16,75 crédits Mainpro+. (Un certificat de participation sera envoyé par courriel aux participants à la fin du programme du Conseil général.)

 

Participation virtuelle (Pénuries de médicaments) : Cette activité est une activité de formation collective agréée aux termes de la Section 1 du programme de Maintien du certificat du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada pour 1,25 heures. Ce programme a été révisé et approuvé par le Bureau de formation professionnelle continue l’Université d’Ottawa. Ce programme d’apprentissage collectif a reçu l’agrément du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada et de sa section de la Colombie-Britannique; il donne droit à un maximum de 1,25 crédits Mainpro+. (Un certificat de participation sera envoyé par courriel aux participants à la fin du programme du Conseil général.)