Sign In

Health consequences of climate change – Keynote address and strategic session

(Mon. Aug. 22, 9:10 am – 10:10 am – Keynote address)
(Mon. Aug. 22, 10:10 am – 10:55 am – Strategic session)

These sessions will present information on the human health consequences of climate change in Canada and globally, examine how physicians can address climate change in their practice and community, discuss linkages between the promotion of individual healthy behaviours and climate change mitigation and explore physicians’ leadership role in supporting a healthy future.

Presenter

Dr. James Orbinski, humanitarian practitioner, advocate and former president of Doctors Without Borders

Learning objectives

Participants will:

  • identify the impact of climate change on the environment and its link to human health;
  • recognize the individual clinical health impacts of climate change and secondary population impacts;
  • consider how the modification of human activity that promotes individual health can have synchronous positive repercussions for climate change mitigation;
  • determine broader strategy that encompasses both global and local perspectives and the need to support preparedness capacity;
  • differentiate between mitigation strategies to reduce climate change and adaptation strategies;
  • identify ways physicians can effect climate change collectively, in their practice and community.

 

Evaluation form

 

Click here to participate virtually (members only)


2016 General Council Program: This event is an Accredited Group Learning Activity (Section 1) as defined by the Maintenance of Certification program of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada for 16.75 hours. This program has been reviewed and approved by the University of Ottawa, Office of Continuing Professional Development. This Group Learning program has been certified by the College of Family Physicians of Canada and the British Columbia Chapter for up to 16.75 Mainpro+ credits (a certificate of participation will be emailed to participants at the end of the General Council Program).

 

Virtual participation (Climate change: Keynote address and strategic session): This event is an Accredited Group Learning Activity (Section 1) as defined by the Maintenance of Certification Program of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada for 1.75 hours. This program has been reviewed and approved by the University of Ottawa, Office of Continuing Professional Development. This Group Learning program has been certified by the College of Family Physicians of Canada and the British Columbia Chapter for up to 1.75 Mainpro+ credits (a certificate of participation will be emailed to participants at the end of the General Council Program).

Connexion

Les répercussions sur la santé des changements climatiques – Discours principal et séance stratégique

(Lundi 22 août, 9 h à 10 h 10 – Discours principal)
(Lundi 22 août, 10 h 10 à 10 h 55 – Séance stratégique)

Ces séances présenteront des renseignements au sujet des effets des changements climatiques sur la santé humaine, au Canada et dans le monde entier, verront comment les médecins peuvent aborder les changements climatiques dans leur pratique et leur communauté, discuteront des liens entre la promotion de comportements personnels sains et l’atténuation des changements climatiques, et exploreront le rôle de leadership des médecins à l’appui d’un avenir sain.

Conférencier

Dr James Orbinski, professionnel humanitaire, militant et ancien président de Médecins sans frontière

Objectifs d’apprentissage

Les participants :

  • reconnaîtront les conséquences des changements climatiques pour l’environnement et leurs liens avec la santé humaine;
  • reconnaîtront les effets cliniques des changements climatiques sur la santé de la personne et leurs conséquences secondaires au niveau des populations;
  • verront comment une modification de l’activité humaine visant à promouvoir la santé de la personne peut avoir des répercussions synchrones positives d’atténuation des changements climatiques;
  • cerneront une stratégie plus générale incorporant les perspectives globales et locales et la nécessité d’appuyer une capacité à faire face aux événements catastrophiques;
  • feront la distinction entre les stratégies d’atténuation visant à réduire les changements climatiques et les stratégies d’adaptation;
  • verront comment les médecins peuvent, collectivement, avoir un effet sur les changements climatiques, dans leur pratique et dans leur communauté.

 

Formulaire d’évaluation

 

Cliquer ici pour participer en mode virtuel (réservé aux membres)


Programme du Conseil général 2016 : Cette activité est une activité de formation collective agréée aux termes de la Section 1 du programme de Maintien du certificat du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada pour 16,75 heures. Ce programme a été révisé et approuvé par le Bureau de formation professionnelle continue l’Université d’Ottawa. Ce programme d’apprentissage collectif a reçu l’agrément du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada et de sa section de la Colombie-Britannique; il donne droit à un maximum de 16,75 crédits Mainpro+. (Un certificat de participation sera envoyé par courriel aux participants à la fin du programme du Conseil général.)

 

Participation virtuelle (Changements climatiques : discours principal et séance stratégique) : Cette activité est une activité de formation collective agréée aux termes de la Section 1 du programme de Maintien du certificat du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada pour 1,75 heures. Ce programme a été révisé et approuvé par le Bureau de formation professionnelle continue l’Université d’Ottawa. Ce programme d’apprentissage collectif a reçu l’agrément du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada et de sa section de la Colombie-Britannique; il donne droit à un maximum de 1,75 crédits Mainpro+. (Un certificat de participation sera envoyé par courriel aux participants à la fin du programme du Conseil général.)