Sign In

How physicians can harness the power of social media (Education session)

(Tues. Aug. 23, 1:55 pm - 2:55 pm)

This session will explore popular social media tools, demonstrate how they can be important to physicians in their work as well as how they can support the profession both in providing and advocating for quality patient care.

Presenter

Mr. Mark Blevis, author, speaker and digital public affairs strategist with Full Duplex

Learning objectives

Participants will:

  • evaluate whether physicians can and should position themselves as health care thought leaders on social media;
  • consider how physicians can use social media to enhance grassroots health advocacy;
  • summarize lessons learned from how politicians and organizations use social media.

 

Evaluation form

 

Click here to participate virtually (members only)


2016 General Council Program: This event is an Accredited Group Learning Activity (Section 1) as defined by the Maintenance of Certification program of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada for 16.75 hours. This program has been reviewed and approved by the University of Ottawa, Office of Continuing Professional Development. This Group Learning program has been certified by the College of Family Physicians of Canada and the British Columbia Chapter for up to 16.75 Mainpro+ credits (a certificate of participation will be emailed to participants at the end of the General Council Program).

 

Virtual participation (Social Media): This event is an Accredited Group Learning Activity (Section 1) as defined by the Maintenance of Certification Program of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada for 1 hour. This program has been reviewed and approved by the University of Ottawa, Office of Continuing Professional Development. This Group Learning program has been certified by the College of Family Physicians of Canada and the British Columbia Chapter for up to 1 Mainpro+ credits (a certificate of participation will be emailed to participants at the end of the General Council Program).

Connexion

Comment les médecins peuvent harnacher le pouvoir et l’influence des médias sociaux (Séance d’éducation)

(Mardi 23 août, de 13 h 55 à 14 h 55)

Cette séance explorera des outils populaires de médias sociaux, montrera pourquoi ils peuvent être importants pour les médecins dans leur travail et comment les médias sociaux peuvent appuyer la profession à la fois dans la prestation de soins de qualité aux patients et pour préconiser de tels soins.

Présentateur

M. Mark Blevis, auteur, conférencier et stratège en affaires publiques numériques auprès de Full Duplex

Objectifs d’apprentissage

Les participants :

  • jugeront si les médecins peuvent se positionner comme leaders d’opinion en matière de santé sur les médias sociaux, et s’ils devraient le faire;
  • verront comment les médecins peuvent utiliser les médias sociaux pour améliorer leurs interventions locales de représentation en matière de santé;
  • résumeront les leçons tirées de l’utilisation que font les politiciens et les organisations des médias sociaux.

 

Formulaire d’évaluation

 

Cliquer ici pour participer en mode virtuel (réservé aux membres)


Programme du Conseil général 2016 : Cette activité est une activité de formation collective agréée aux termes de la Section 1 du programme de Maintien du certificat du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada pour 16,75 heures. Ce programme a été révisé et approuvé par le Bureau de formation professionnelle continue l’Université d’Ottawa. Ce programme d’apprentissage collectif a reçu l’agrément du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada et de sa section de la Colombie-Britannique; il donne droit à un maximum de 16,75 crédits Mainpro+. (Un certificat de participation sera envoyé par courriel aux participants à la fin du programme du Conseil général.)

 

Participation virtuelle (Médias sociaux) : Cette activité est une activité de formation collective agréée aux termes de la Section 1 du programme de Maintien du certificat du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada pour 1 heure. Ce programme a été révisé et approuvé par le Bureau de formation professionnelle continue l’Université d’Ottawa. Ce programme d’apprentissage collectif a reçu l’agrément du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada et de sa section de la Colombie-Britannique; il donne droit à un maximum de 1 crédits Mainpro+. (Un certificat de participation sera envoyé par courriel aux participants à la fin du programme du Conseil général.)