Sign In

Integrated care: lessons and opportunities (Strategic session 2)

(Wed. Aug. 24, 8:00 am - 9:00 am)

This session will explore the integrated care model, provide an overview of Accountable Care Organizations as they have developed through U.S. health reform and examine what opportunity might exist to adapt and adopt this model for Canadian health care.

Presenters

Dr. Chris Stanley, Vice President for Population Health, Catholic Health Initiatives

Dr. Carl Nohr, President, Alberta Medical Association

Learning objectives

Participants will:

  • assess the Accountable Care Organizations model in providing quality patient care;
  • analyze the barriers and the advantages in implementing an integrated health system;
  • express the role physicians would play in the governance of an integrated health system;
  • appraise the value of practicing in an integrated system.

 

Evaluation form

 

Click here to participate virtually (members only)


2016 General Council Program: This event is an Accredited Group Learning Activity (Section 1) as defined by the Maintenance of Certification program of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada for 16.75 hours. This program has been reviewed and approved by the University of Ottawa, Office of Continuing Professional Development. This Group Learning program has been certified by the College of Family Physicians of Canada and the British Columbia Chapter for up to 16.75 Mainpro+ credits (a certificate of participation will be emailed to participants at the end of the General Council Program).

 

Virtual participation (Integrated Care): This event is an Accredited Group Learning Activity (Section 1) as defined by the Maintenance of Certification Program of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada for 1 hour. This program has been reviewed and approved by the University of Ottawa, Office of Continuing Professional Development. This Group Learning program has been certified by the College of Family Physicians of Canada and the British Columbia Chapter for up to 1 Mainpro+ credits (a certificate of participation will be emailed to participants at the end of the General Council Program).

Connexion

L’intégration des soins : leçons à retenir et occasions à saisir (Séance stratégique 2)

(Le mercredi 24 août de 8 h à 9 h)

Cette séance explorera le modèle des soins intégrés, donnera un aperçu des organismes de soins responsables et de leur évolution dans le contexte de la réforme de la santé aux États-Unis et examinera les occasions qui existent peut-être d’adapter et adopter ce modèle dans les soins de santé au Canada.

Présentateurs

Dr Chris Stanley, vice-président, Santé des populations, Initiatives catholiques en matière de santé (Catholic Health Initiatives)

Dr Carl Nohr, président, Association médicale de l’Alberta

Objectifs d’apprentissage

Les participants :

  • évalueront le modèle des organismes de soins responsables dans l’optique de la prestation de soins de qualité aux patients;
  • analyseront les obstacles et les avantages de l’implantation d’un système intégré de santé;
  • préciseront le rôle que les médecins joueraient dans la gouvernance d’un système intégré de santé;
  • examineront la valeur de la pratique dans un système intégré.

 

Formulaire d’évaluation

 

Cliquer ici pour participer en mode virtuel (réservé aux membres)


Programme du Conseil général 2016 : Cette activité est une activité de formation collective agréée aux termes de la Section 1 du programme de Maintien du certificat du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada pour 16,75 heures. Ce programme a été révisé et approuvé par le Bureau de formation professionnelle continue l’Université d’Ottawa. Ce programme d’apprentissage collectif a reçu l’agrément du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada et de sa section de la Colombie-Britannique; il donne droit à un maximum de 16,75 crédits Mainpro+. (Un certificat de participation sera envoyé par courriel aux participants à la fin du programme du Conseil général.)

 

Participation virtuelle (L’intégration des soins) : Cette activité est une activité de formation collective agréée aux termes de la Section 1 du programme de Maintien du certificat du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada pour 1 heure. Ce programme a été révisé et approuvé par le Bureau de formation professionnelle continue l’Université d’Ottawa. Ce programme d’apprentissage collectif a reçu l’agrément du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada et de sa section de la Colombie-Britannique; il donne droit à un maximum de 1 crédits Mainpro+. (Un certificat de participation sera envoyé par courriel aux participants à la fin du programme du Conseil général.)