Sign In

Strengthening resilience in medical training and practice: moving from rhetoric to action (Strategic session 3)

(Wed. Aug. 24, 10:35 am - 11:55 am)

This session will define the concept of resilience; explore why it is a critical issue across the physician lifecycle, including how it can be compromised by internal and external factors; describe how it can be strengthened as a proactive primary prevention approach; and identify both barriers and enablers to putting such strategies into action.

Presenters

Ms. Marie-Pier Bastrash, Vice President Student Affairs, Canadian Federation of Medical Students

Dr. John Dean, Co-chair of Resident Doctors of Canada’s Wellness Committee

Dr. Tracy Scott, Clinical Instructor, Assistant Program Director, General Surgery Residency Program, University of British Columbia

Learning objectives

Participants will:

  • describe the concept of resilience and explore why it is a critical issue across the medical career lifecycle;
  • distinguish how resilience is compromised by internal (e.g. personality) and external (e.g. duty and on-call hours) factors;
  • determine how resilience can be strengthened through teaching practical skills;
  • demonstrate the importance of a proactive primary prevention approach to burnout;
  • identify the barriers and enablers to putting strategies in place to strengthen resilience throughout the medical career lifecycle.

 

Evaluation form

 

Click here to participate virtually (members only)


2016 General Council Program: This event is an Accredited Group Learning Activity (Section 1) as defined by the Maintenance of Certification program of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada for 16.75 hours. This program has been reviewed and approved by the University of Ottawa, Office of Continuing Professional Development. This Group Learning program has been certified by the College of Family Physicians of Canada and the British Columbia Chapter for up to 16.75 Mainpro+ credits (a certificate of participation will be emailed to participants at the end of the General Council Program).

 

Virtual participation (Strengthening Resilience): This event is an Accredited Group Learning Activity (Section 1) as defined by the Maintenance of Certification Program of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada for 1.25 hour. This program has been reviewed and approved by the University of Ottawa, Office of Continuing Professional Development. This Group Learning program has been certified by the College of Family Physicians of Canada and the British Columbia Chapter for up to 1.25 Mainpro+ credits (a certificate of participation will be emailed to participants at the end of the General Council Program).

Connexion

Améliorer la résilience dans la formation et la pratique médicales : de la théorie à la pratique (Séance stratégique 3)

(Le mercredi 24 août, de 10 h 35 à 11 h 55)

Cette séance définira le concept de la résilience, explorera pourquoi la résilience constitue un enjeu crucial dans le cycle de vie des médecins, examinera la façon dont des facteurs autant internes qu’externes peuvent compromettre la résilience, décrira comment on peut renforcer la résilience comme stratégie de prévention primaire et proactive, et cernera les facteurs contraignants et habilitants de la mise en œuvre de telles stratégies.

Présentateurs

Mme Marie-Pier Bastrash, vice-présidente, Affaires étudiantes, Fédération des étudiants et des étudiantes en médecine du Canada

Dr John Dean, coprésident, Comité du mieux-être, Médecins résidents du Canada

Dre Tracy Scott, enseignante clinique et directrice adjointe de programme, Programme de résidence en chirurgie générale, Université de la Colombie-Britannique

Objectifs d’apprentissage

Les participants :

  • pourront décrire le concept de la résilience et explorer pourquoi la résilience constitue un enjeu crucial dans le cycle de vie des médecins;
  • comprendront comment des facteurs internes (p. ex., la personnalité) et externes (p. ex., les heures de travail et de garde) peuvent compromettre la résilience;
  • sauront comment on peut renforcer la résilience par l’acquisition d’habiletés pratiques;
  • pourront démontrer l’importance d’une stratégie de prévention primaire et proactive de l’épuisement professionnel;
  • reconnaîtront les facteurs contraignants et habilitants de la mise en œuvre de stratégies d’amélioration de la résilience tout au long du cycle de vie des médecins.

 

Formulaire d’évaluation

 

Cliquer ici pour participer en mode virtuel (réservé aux membres)


Programme du Conseil général 2016 : Cette activité est une activité de formation collective agréée aux termes de la Section 1 du programme de Maintien du certificat du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada pour 16,75 heures. Ce programme a été révisé et approuvé par le Bureau de formation professionnelle continue l’Université d’Ottawa. Ce programme d’apprentissage collectif a reçu l’agrément du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada et de sa section de la Colombie-Britannique; il donne droit à un maximum de 16,75 crédits Mainpro+. (Un certificat de participation sera envoyé par courriel aux participants à la fin du programme du Conseil général.)

 

Participation virtuelle (Améliorer la résilience) : Cette activité est une activité de formation collective agréée aux termes de la Section 1 du programme de Maintien du certificat du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada pour 1,25 heures. Ce programme a été révisé et approuvé par le Bureau de formation professionnelle continue l’Université d’Ottawa. Ce programme d’apprentissage collectif a reçu l’agrément du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada et de sa section de la Colombie-Britannique; il donne droit à un maximum de 1,25 crédits Mainpro+. (Un certificat de participation sera envoyé par courriel aux participants à la fin du programme du Conseil général.)