Sign In

Healthy delegates and a healthy environment

The Canadian Medical Association (CMA) continues to strive to make General Council (GC) a healthy and environmentally sound experience for delegates and observers.

From the moment they get up each morning, attendees will be presented with healthy choices to keep their minds and bodies focused on the sessions at hand.

Walk the Doc outings take place daily (while GC is in session) at 6 am, along scenic walking or jogging routes starting from the lobby of the Westin Hotel.

On Wednesday, the Academy of Medicine Ottawa invites delegates and spouses to a free yoga session on the grounds of Parliament Hill over the lunch hour.

Healthy food choices will be offered throughout the day, and this year the CMA is taking additional steps to reduce food waste.

After meeting with CMA and the Academy of Medicine Ottawa, Westin Ottawa agreed to participate in a program called La Tablée des Chefs, a sustainable food brokerage service. All nutritious food left over from GC will be safely delivered to those in need within the Ottawa region. The Ottawa Convention Centre (OCC) is piloting this project for GC, and Tourism Ottawa supports the program.

General Council venues are environmentally sensitive in other ways, too. The OCC is a LEED Gold convention centre (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design), and the Westin Ottawa is the first Starwood Hotel to have received two Five Green Keys ratings from Green Key Global and the Hotel Association of Canada — the highest possible rating for environmental awareness. The Fairmont Chateau Laurier has earned four green keys for energy and water conservation, waste management and community outreach.

The movement towards a truly paperless meeting makes more gains this year, with all essential documents being made available online in advance of the meeting or distributed electronically while GC is in progress.

One of the GC display booths this year features the Canadian Association of Physicians for the Environment (CAPE), illustrating the connections between health and the environment and explaining how physicians are well positioned to take to take action on climate change to protect health.

Connexion

Un environnement sain pour des délégués en santé

L’Association médicale canadienne (AMC) continue de s’efforcer à faire du Conseil général (CG) une expérience saine et respectueuse de l’environnement pour les délégués et les observateurs.

Dès le lever, les participants pourront choisir des options santé qui les aideront à demeurer dans un état physique et psychologique propice aux séances de la journée.

Des promenades Médecin en marche auront lieu quotidiennement du lundi au mercredi. Les participants sont invités se rendre à 6 h dans le foyer de l’hôtel Westin pour aller marcher ou courir sur des sentiers pittoresques.

Le mercredi midi, l’Academy of Medicine d’Ottawa invite les délégués et leurs conjoints à une séance de yoga gratuite sur la colline du Parlement.

Des aliments santé seront offerts toute la journée et cette année, l’AMC prendra des mesures supplémentaires pour réduire les déchets alimentaires.

Après une rencontre avec l’AMC et l’Academy of Medicine d’Ottawa, l’hôtel Westin a accepté de participer au programme de La Tablée des Chefs, un service de courtage en alimentation durable. Ainsi, tous les surplus d’aliments nutritifs du CG seront redistribués de façon sécuritaire à des personnes dans le besoin de la région d’Ottawa. Le projet est mis à l’essai au CG par le Centre des congrès d’Ottawa (CCO) et a reçu l’appui de Tourisme Ottawa.

Par ailleurs, les locaux utilisés pour le Conseil général présentent d’autres qualités écologiques. En effet, le CCO possède la certification LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) or, et l’hôtel Westin Ottawa est le premier des hôtels Starwood à avoir reçu une évaluation Clé verte de cinq de Green Key Global et de l’Association des hôtels du Canada – soit la meilleure note possible pour la conscience environnementale. Le Fairmont Château Laurier a quant à lui reçu une évaluation de quatre pour la conservation de l’énergie et de l’eau, la gestion des déchets et l’approche communautaire.

La transition vers des réunions zéro papier s’est poursuivie cette année : tous les documents essentiels ont été affichés en ligne avant la réunion ou seront envoyés par courriel pendant le CG.

Enfin, cette année, un des kiosques de démonstration au CG, présenté par l’Association canadienne des médecins pour l’environnement (ACME), illustre la relation entre la santé et l’environnement et explique pourquoi les médecins sont bien placés pour prendre des mesures visant à lutter contre les changements climatiques en vue de protéger la santé.