Sign In

​​Unprecedented member access to GC

This year’s General Council (GC) meeting in Ottawa offers unprecedented opportunities for CMA members to view and participate in discussions if they can’t attend in person. In addition to the sessions listed below that are accessible to members only, all other sessions of General Council will be webcast live here.

notice: All times are EDT.

Medical marijuana

Members can participate in a live, private online chat and polling during the education session on marijuana for medical purposes. The session is aired here(members only), starting at 1:45 pm on Mon., Aug. 18.

Presenters are Dr. Mark Ware, director of clinical research, Alan Edwards Pain Management Unit, McGill University Health Centre, and executive director of the non-profit Canadian Consortium for the Investigation of Cannabinoids, and Mark Nixon, Ware’s patient. The discussant is Dr. Trevor Theman, registrar of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta and president of the Federation of Medical Regulatory Authorities of Canada.

During the session, members in attendance and those watching online will be asked for their views on the use of marijuana for medical purposes.

Members’ Forum

In what has become a GC tradition, CMA members have an opportunity to meet in closed session with members of the CMA executive to discuss any issues of concern or interest. This session is being aired live here(members only), starting at 3:30 pm on Mon. Aug. 18. Questions to the executive can be submitted prior to the meeting or during the session at membershour@cma.ca.

Election 2015

Another webcast for members begins Tuesday at 3:15 pm when an education session on CMA election readiness starts, featuring former Quebec premier Jean Charest.

MD Financial Management

On Sunday at 3:15 pm, MD Financial Management​ webcasts​ an information session on the financial and investing needs of physicians.. The hour-long session is moderated by CBC senior business reporter Scott Peterson and features Brian Peters, MD president and chief executive officer, Bill Horton, chief investment officer, and Mike Gassewitz, executive vice-president, member solutions.

Social media

Members who use Twitter are encouraged to follow #cmagc for ongoing coverage of General Council. During the presentation by CBC’s White Coat Black Art host Dr. Brian Goldman on Monday at 10 am, a moderated Tweetwall is set up in council chambers so delegates can view comments tweeted about the session as they’re posted.

Connexion

​Accès sans précédent des membres au CG

L’assemblée du Conseil général (CG) de cette année à Ottawa offre aux membres de l’AMC des possibilités sans précédent de suivre les discussions et d’y participer s’ils ne peuvent être présents à l’assemblée. En plus des séances présentées ci-dessous, qui sont réservées aux membres, toutes les autres séances du Conseil général seront diffusées en direct sur le Web, ici.

NOTE : Toutes les heures sont présentées selon l’HAE.

Marijuana médicale

Les membres pourront participer à un sondage et à un clavardage privés en ligne pendant les séances d’éducation sur la marijuana à des fins médicales. Cette séance sera diffusée ici (membres seulement) à partir de 13 h 45 le lundi 18 août.

Les présentateurs seront le Dr Mark Ware, directeur de la recherche clinique, Centre Alan Edwards de recherche sur la douleur de l'Université McGill et directeur exécutif de l’organisme sans but lucratif Consortium canadien pour l’investigation des cannabinoïdes, et Mark Nixon, un patient du Dr Ware. Le participant à la discussion sera le Dr Trevor Theman, registraire du Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de l’Alberta et président de la Fédération des ordres des médecins du Canada.

Pendant la séance, les membres présents et les participants en ligne feront part de leur point de vue sur l’utilisation de la marijuana à des fins médicales.

Forum des membres

Comme le veut la tradition du CG, les membres de l’AMC pourront assister à des séances à huis clos avec des dirigeants de l’AMC afin de discuter de tout point posant des préoccupations ou suscitant un intérêt. Cette séance sera diffusée en direct ici (membres seulement) à partir de 15 h 30 le lundi 18 août. Les questions aux dirigeants peuvent être soumises avant la rencontre ou pendant la séance au membershour@cma.ca.

Élections 2015

Une autre diffusion sur le Web destinée aux membres commencera le mardi à 15 h 15, au moment où débutera la séance d’éducation sur les préparatifs de l’AMC pour les élections, mettant en vedette l’ancien premier ministre du Québec Jean Charest.

Gestion financière MD

Dimanche, à 15 h 15, Gestion financière MD​​ diffusera sur le Web une séance d’information sur les besoins des médecins en matière de finances et d’investissements. Cette séance d’une heure sera animée par Scott Peterson, chroniqueur économique chevronné de la CBC, et mettra en vedette Brian Peters, président et chef de la direction de MD, Bill Horton, chef de la direction des placements, et Mike Gassewitz, vice-président exécutif, Solutions aux membres.

Médias sociaux

Les membres qui utilisent Twitter sont invités à suivre #cgamc pour une couverture continue du Conseil général. Pendant la présentation du Dr Brian Goldman, animateur de l’émission de la CBC White Coat, Black Art, lundi à 10 h, un mur Twitter dirigé sera présenté dans les salles de conseil pour que les délégués puissent suivre en direct les commentaires émis pendant la séance.