Sign In

Governance changes signal new era for CMA

The Canadian Medical Association Board of Directors has unanimously approved a restructuring of its governance structure.

The restructuring creates a new subsidiary (currently known as NewCo) that will contain the revenue-generating areas of the CMA including cma.ca, publishing operations (including CMAJ), clinical tools and accreditation services. In the new model, the CMA will focus on advocacy and policy and continue its close collaboration with provincial/territorial medical associations and affiliated medical societies.

The move has been made to address a number of strategic opportunities and is designed to better deliver a more unified member value proposition. The changes will have no immediate impact on the type and quality of services currently being delivered to CMA members.

The restructuring also approved creation of a new Canadian Medical Association Holdings (CMAH) Board of Directors that will play an integrating role between CMA, MD Physician Services and NewCo. MD Physician Services remains unchanged as a subsidiary providing financial services to members.

“The change to the CMA governance structure and the creation of a CMAH Board of Directors and a new subsidiary – ‘NewCo’– address a number of strategic opportunities that will enable the CMA to more sharply focus on advocacy on behalf of physicians and the profession,” said Dr. Brian Brodie, the Chair of the CMA Board of Directors. “The creation of this new entity more accurately reflects CMA’s value proposition: advocacy, knowledge services and financial services.”

The search for a CEO of NewCo will be aligned with the CEO search for CMA.

The search for a CEO of NewCo has begun. The aim is to have a successful candidate identified by CMA’s December Board meeting.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

​Des changements de gouvernance annoncent une nouvelle ère pour l’AMC

Le Conseil d’administration de l’Association médicale canadienne a approuvé à l’unanimité une restructuration de son modèle de gouvernance.

Cette restructuration crée une nouvelle filiale (actuellement appelée « NewCo »), qui s’occupera des domaines d’activité de l’AMC générant des revenus, ce qui comprend amc.ca, les opérations de publication (dont le JAMC), les outils cliniques et l’agrément. Dans le cadre du nouveau modèle, l’AMC concentrera son travail sur la représentation et les politiques, et maintiendra son étroite collaboration avec les associations médicales provinciales et territoriales et les sociétés médicales affiliées.

Ces changements visent à profiter de diverses possibilités stratégiques et d’offrir de façon plus efficace une proposition de valeur plus unifiée. Les changements n’auront pas d’effet immédiat sur le type et la qualité des services actuellement offerts aux membres de l’AMC.

La restructuration prévoit également la création d’un nouveau Conseil d'administration pour Holding AMC (HAMC), qui jouera un rôle d’intégration entre l’AMC, Services aux médecins MD et NewCo. Services aux médecins MD conserve le statut de filiale offrant des services financiers aux membres.

« Le nouveau modèle de gouvernance de l’AMC et la création du Conseil d'administration de HAMC et de la nouvelle filiale NewCo répondent à un certain nombre de possibilités stratégiques qui permettront à l’AMC de se concentrer davantage sur la représentation au nom des médecins et de la profession », a dit le Dr Brian Brodie, président du Conseil d'administration de l’AMC. « La création de cette nouvelle entité reflète mieux la proposition de valeur de l’AMC : représentation, services liés au savoir et services financiers. »

Le recrutement du chef de la direction de NewCo se fera parallèlement au recrutement du chef de direction de l’AMC. La recherche d’un chef de la direction pour NewCo est amorcée. Un candidat devrait être désigné d’ici la réunion de décembre du Conseil d’administration de l’AMC.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.