Sign In

Health Care Transformation

The CMA believes it is possible for Canada to maintain a publicly funded, universal health care system and still eliminate wait times. But transformational change is needed to refocus our system to bring about patient-focused care.

Health Care Transformation is a broad-ranging initiative to modernize and improve our health care system. The CMA is committed to working with patients, physicians, health care providers and stakeholders to bring about a transformed, patient-centred health care system across Canada.

Health providers and stakeholders

In 2011, the CMA, in collaboration with the Canadian Nurses Association (CNA), published a report entitled Principles to Guide Health Care Transformation in Canada, which identifies key themes necessary for health care transformation: health promotion, effective management of illnesses, focus on quality outcomes and accountability to patients. PDF

These principles have been endorsed by more than 135 agencies and organizations across Canada. They are CMA’s and the CNA’s guiding framework for advocacy efforts and policy developments regarding health care transformation.

The CMA continues to advocate with the federal, provincial and territorial governments to address priority issues, including:

Public outreach

In 2012, the CMA’s National Dialogue on the Social Determinants of Health addressed health equity and the downstream effects on health of issues like poverty, income, housing and education. What Makes Us Sick is a summary report documenting recommendations from this national dialogue.

The National Dialogue on Health Care Transformation in 2011 addressed the need to improve Canada’s health care system, and gathered public feedback. The CMA summary report, Voices Into Action, captured key themes from the consultations. PDF

Innovating for Patients

The CMA's Innovating for Patients map features physicians from across the country who are working to improve the health of Canadians in new ways. Share your story, to inspire medical colleagues and inform patients and decision-makers about how physicians are creating the next generation of health care.

Connexion

​Transformation des soins de santé

L’AMC est d’avis que le Canada peut maintenir un système de soins de santé universel et financé par le secteur public tout en faisant disparaître les temps d’attente. Un changement transformationnel s’impose toutefois afin de refocaliser notre système et d’instaurer les soins axés sur les patients.

La transformation des soins de santé de l’AMC constitue un plan d’envergure visant à moderniser et à améliorer le système de santé du Canada. L’AMC est déterminée à collaborer avec les patients, les médecins, d’autres fournisseurs de soins de santé et des intervenants afin d’instaurer partout au Canada un système de santé transformé et axé sur les patients.

Fournisseurs de soins de santé et intervenants

Dans son rapport Principes devant guider la transformation des soins de santé au Canada qui fut publié en 2011 par l’AMC, en partenariat avec l’Association des infirmières et des infirmiers du Canada (AIIC), dégage les thèmes clés nécessaires à la transformation des soins de santé : promotion de la santé, prise en charge efficace des maladies, résultats de qualité et responsabilité envers les patients. PDF

Plus de 135 agences et organismes du Canada ont donné leur aval à ces principes. Il s’agit du cadre de l’AMC et de l’AIIC qui oriente les efforts de représentation et les événements stratégiques au sujet de la transformation des soins de santé.

L’AMC continue d’intervenir auprès des gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux pour aborder des enjeux prioritaires, notamment les suivants :

Communication avec la population

En 2012, le dialogue national mené par l’AMC sur les déterminants sociaux de la santé a abordé l’équité en santé et les effets en aval qu’ont sur la santé des enjeux comme la pauvreté, le revenu, le logement et l’éducation. Le rapport récapitulatif Qu’est-ce qui nous rend malade ? présente les recommandations issues de ce dialogue national. PDF

En 2011, le Dialogue national sur la transformation des soins de santé portait sur la nécessité d'améliorer le système de soins de santé du Canada, et recueillait les commentaires de la population. Le rapport récapitulatif de l'AMC La parole en action présente les principaux thèmes des consultations. PDF

L'innovation au service des patients

Le Recueil géographique de L'innovation au service des patients de l'AMC présente des médecins d'un bout à l'autre du Canada qui cherchent de nouvelles façons d'améliorer la santé des Canadiens. Faites connaître votre histoire afin d'inspirer vos collègues médecins et d'informer les patients et les décideurs sur la façon dont les médecins ont entrepris de créer la nouvelle génération des soins de santé.