Sign In

Health equity and the social determinants of health

Health equity is created when individuals have the opportunity to achieve their full health potential. Conversely, equity is undermined when preventable and avoidable systematic conditions constrain life choices.

Systematic conditions are largely the social and economic factors known as the social determinants of health. The World Health Organization defines the social determinants of health as the circumstances in which people are born, develop, live and age. They include:

  • income and income distribution
  • early life
  • education
  • housing
  • food security
  • employment and working conditions
  • unemployment and job security
  • social safety net
  • social inclusion and exclusion
  • health services

 

CMA position

The CMA believes the social determinants of health can have a larger impact on individual and population health than the health care system. The CMA also believes that any actions to improve health and tackle health inequity must address the social determinants and their impact on daily life.

Physicians and the social determinants of health

Physicians and the social determinants of health

Physicians and the social determinants of health

Physicians see the impact of health inequities every day in their clinics and emergency departments, and are committed to pushing for action to address issues of health equity in Canada. In 2012, the CMA policy Health equity and the social determinants of health: A role for the medical profession was adopted. A companion paper offers strategies to address health inequities in practice and highlights promising clinical approaches from across Canada.

Canadians and the social determinants of health

The CMA held a national dialogue in 2013 on the social determinants of health. In those town hall meetings, Canadians served notice that they expect government action to address these issues. The summary report – Health Care in Canada: What Makes Us Sick? – includes several recommendations.

Ensuring equitable access to effective and appropriate health care services is one way to help reduce health inequities resulting from differences in social and economic conditions. Equitable access can be defined as the opportunity for patients to obtain appropriate health care services based on their perceived need for care.

The CMA position statement Ensuring Equitable Access to Care outlines strategies for governments, health system planners and the medical profession.

Reports

Connexion

​L’équité en santé et les déterminants sociaux de la santé

Il y a équité en santé lorsque des personnes ont la chance de réaliser leur plein potentiel sur le plan de la santé. L’équité est par ailleurs minée lorsque des conditions systématiques qu’il est possible de prévenir et d’éviter contraignent les choix de vie.

Les conditions systématiques sont en grande partie constituées des facteurs sociaux et économiques appelés déterminants sociaux de la santé. Selon l’Organisation mondiale de la Santé, les déterminants sociaux de la santé s’entendent des contextes où les gens naissent, se développent, vivent et vieillissent. Ils comprennent les éléments suivants :

  • revenu et distribution du revenu
  • début de la vie
  • éducation
  • logement
  • sécurité alimentaire
  • conditions d’emploi et de travail
  • chômage et sécurité d’emploi
  • filet de sécurité sociale
  • inclusion et exclusion sociales
  • services de santé

Position de l’AMC

L’AMC est d’avis que les déterminants sociaux de la santé peuvent avoir plus d’effet sur la santé de la personne et des populations que le système de santé. Elle croit aussi que toute intervention visant à améliorer la santé et à s’attaquer à l’inégalité en santé doit tenir compte des déterminants sociaux et de leurs répercussions sur la vie quotidienne.

Les médecins et les déterminants sociaux de la santé  

Les médecins et les déterminants sociaux de la santé

Les médecins et les déterminants sociaux de la santé

Les médecins sont témoins des inégalités tous les jours dans les cliniques et les services d’urgence et ils sont déterminés à préconiser des mesures de lutte contre les problèmes d’équité en santé au Canada. En 2012, l’AMC a adopté sa politique sur l’Équité en santé et les déterminants sociaux de la santé : le rôle du médecin . Un document d’accompagnement présente des stratégies de lutte contre les inégalités en santé dans la pratique et décrit des stratégies cliniques prometteuses provenant de partout au Canada.

La population canadienne et les déterminants sociaux de la santé

L’AMC a tenu, en 2013, un dialogue national sur les déterminants sociaux de la santé. Au cours de ces assemblées publiques locales, les Canadiennes et Canadiens ont affirmé qu’ils s’attendent à ce que le gouvernement prenne des mesures à cet égard. Le rapport sommaire — Les soins de santé au Canada : Qu’est ce qui nous rend malades ? – contient plusieurs recommandations.

Garantir un accès équitable à des services de santé efficaces et appropriés, c’est une façon d’aider à niveler les inégalités qui découlent des différences au niveau des facteurs socioéconomiques. L’accès équitable peut s’entendre de la possibilité pour les patients d’obtenir des services de santé appropriés basés sur leur besoin perçu de soins.

Dans son énoncé de position intitulé Garantir un accès équitable aux soins l’AMC décrit des stratégies à l’intention des gouvernements, des planificateurs du système de santé et de la profession médicale.

Rapports

ADV-health-equity