Sign In

International conference on physician health
sells out

The International Conference on Physician Health (ICPH) happening next month in London, UK, is a sold-out affair.

There will be a strong Canadian contingent at the meeting which is co-partnered by the American Medical Association, Canadian Medical Association and British Medical Association. Registrants from Canada will make up more than 25 per cent of the delegates.

In addition to CMA President Chris Simpson, there will be several presentations from Canadian researchers. Dr. Robert Wah, president of the AMA, and Ilora Finlay, Baroness Finlay of Llandaff, professor of palliative medicine and president of the BMA, will join Simpson in opening remarks at the Sept. 15-17 meeting.

The Canadian contributions include an overview of the evolution of the Canadian Physician Health Institute, and CMA research findings on physician attitudes towards end-of-life care gathered during the recent national dialogue on these issues. The Canadian Medical Foundation will be a sponsor for the welcome reception at the event.

The meeting is the 22nd such conference since the series began in 1975, and the second ICPH hosted by the BMA. This year’s theme is ‘Milestones and Transitions – Maintaining the Balance’.

“It is often difficult to maintain a healthy balance in our professional and personal lives, and at times of transition it can be more challenging still to look after one’s own health and wellbeing,” according to a letter from the co-partnering organizations.

In addition to keynote presentations by Professor Dame Carol Black, expert adviser on health and work to the Department of Health, England, and Jim Lucey, medical director at St. Patrick's Mental Health Services, Dublin, a featured interactive theatre session aims to bring to life the personal and professional challenges affecting a doctor dealing with a life-changing transition.

“Since the conference was last held in London in 2008, huge developments have taken place in establishing a strong physician health network across Europe and … we hope that this conference will provide renewed inspiration,” the welcome letter states.

Those not able to attend in person can still stay updated on what happens. Leading up to the conference, CMAJ Blogs is posting a series of blogs related to physician health. Daily webcasts from various sessions will be posted on www.bma.org.uk/icph2014 after the conference.

News coverage of the conference will be presented on cma.ca and proceedings can be followed through Twitter using the hashtag #ICPH2014.

The next Canadian Conference on Physician Health will be held in Winnipeg, Oct. 16-17, 2015. Watch for updates on www.cma.ca/physicianhealth.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

La conférence internationale sur la santé des médecins fera salle comble

La Conférence internationale sur la santé des médecins (CISM), qui aura lieu le mois prochain à Londres, au Royaume-Uni, a déjà inscrit le nombre maximal de participants.

Il y aura un fort contingent canadien à cette rencontre, organisée conjointement par les associations médicales canadienne, américaine et britannique. Les participants canadiens représenteront plus de 25 % des délégués.

En plus du président de l’AMC, le Dr Chris Simpson, qui se joindra au Dr Robert Wah, président de l’AMA, et à la Pre et baronne Ilora Finlay, présidente de la BMA, afin de prononcer les propos d’ouverture à la rencontre tenue du 15 au 17 septembre, divers chercheurs canadiens feront des présentations.

Ces présentations comprendront un aperçu de l’évolution de l’Institut canadien pour la santé des médecins et la présentation des résultats des recherches de l’AMC sur le point de vue des médecins dans le dossier des soins de fin de vie, recueilli lors du récent dialogue national.

Il s’agit de la 22e conférence depuis le début de la série en 1975, et c’est la deuxième fois que la BMA accueille l’événement. La conférence a pour thème cette année « Jalons et transitions – Maintenir l’équilibre ».

« Il est souvent difficile de maintenir un équilibre sain entre nos vies professionnelle et personnelle et, en période de transition, il peut être encore plus difficile de s’occuper de sa propre santé et de son propre bien-être », peut-on lire dans une lettre rédigée par les trois organisations partenaires.

En plus des présentations principales de la Pre Carol Black, experte-conseil en santé et travail pour le ministère britannique de la Santé, et du professeur Jim Lucey, directeur médical des Services de santé mentale St Patrick's, à Dublin, une séance interactive sera présentée afin d’illustrer les défis personnels et professionnels rencontrés par les médecins qui traversent une période de transition dans leur vie.

« Depuis la tenue de la conférence à Londres en 2008, des développements majeurs ont été réalisés pour la création d’un solide réseau de santé des médecins en Europe, et nous espérons que cette conférence donnera une inspiration renouvelée », précise la lettre de bienvenue.

Les intéressés qui ne peuvent assister en personne à la conférence pourront suivre les événements à distance. En prévision de la conférence, CMAJBlogs met en vedette une série de blogues sur la santé des médecins. Des diffusions web quotidiennes de diverses séances seront en outre affichées sur www.bma.org.uk/icph2014 après l’événement. La couverture médiatique sera présentée ici et il sera également possible de suivre les travaux sur Twitter, avec le mot-clic #ICPH2014.

La prochaine Conférence canadienne sur la santé des médecins aura lieu à Winnipeg les 16 et 17 octobre 2015. Suivez les nouvelles sur www.amc.ca/santedesmedecins.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.