Sign In

Joule: Helping CMA members connect to the power of possibilities

Joule

“As a heart rhythm specialist who implants pacemakers and defibrillators, and uses energy — measured in joules (!) — therapeutically in my patients, I was instantly energized by our new brand.”

Dr. Chris Simpson
CMA Past President

Since 1867, the Canadian Medical Association (CMA) and its members have been part of countless life-changing innovations that have transformed medicine and patient outcomes. Building on this long history of innovation in the past and its vision for the future, the CMA has created JouleTM — a new subsidiary with the sole focus of providing products and services that empower physicians and meet their personal and point-of-care needs.

Delivering practical benefits to physicians

Joule delivers practical advantages to physicians every day through innovation grants and labs, health-hacking events, and trusted products and services. Joule aims to be at the heart of physician-led innovation by fostering connections and driving health changes that have beneficial effects. Joule believes that when ideas are collaborative, great things happen. Joule’s innovation and product development philosophies are underpinned by a commitment to work closely with physicians throughout all stages of their careers.

A compelling benefit of CMA membership

The trusted clinical resources, leadership courses, and information and knowledge services provided through CMA membership are now brought to physicians by Joule. Here are some of the products and services Joule provides to CMA members:

Innovation

Joule Innovation is a unique program dedicated to facilitating physician-led innovation.

  • $150,000 physician innovation grants to invest in your vision.
  • Access to incubator labs to develop and test potential new products.
  • Joule H2 TM — hackathons for health connect physician-innovators and great ideas.

Digital connections

  • Joule app: Access trusted clinical and leadership resources and qualify for innovation grants.
  • Coming soon — Online innovation dialogue: Connect with your peers about new ideas and experiences.

Products and services

  • Online clinical resources: Access faster, better answers for patients and save $2,000 a year.
  • DynaMed Plus®: The next-generation clinical resource designed to decrease time to answer.
  • Quantum Clinical SearchTM: Your gateway to search clinical resources on cma.ca.
  • ClinicalKey®, RxTx Mobile app and other leading products.
  • CMAJ: Canada's leading general medical journal.

Professional development

There is growing evidence to support the CMA’s vision that leadership is crucial to the future of our healthcare system. That’s why helping physicians develop and enhance their leadership skills, and prepare them to be leaders within their practice, organization and the healthcare system as a whole, is one of Joule’s core values. The introduction of Joule gave the CMA the opportunity to give the Physician Management Institute (PMI) a new name — the Physician Leadership Institute (PLI) — to better reflect course focus on leadership rather than management. The Physician Leadership Institute will deliver the same leading physician leadership courses that have been successfully delivered by the CMA for more than 30 years while building its portfolio of online courses for easier, more convenient access. All courses will continue to be taught by the same best-in-class, expert physician and non-physician faculty team. With a 98% participant satisfaction rate*, the Physician Leadership Institute remains physicians’ number one choice for physician leadership courses in Canada.

Find out more

*based on 2014-15 physician participant survey results

Connexion

Découvrez le pouvoir de l'innovation avec Joule

Joule

« En tant que spécialiste du rythme cardiaque qui pose des stimulateurs et des défibrillateurs et utilise l'énergie – mesurée en joules! – à des fins thérapeutiques, notre nouvelle marque m'a immédiatement enthousiasmé ! »

Dr Chris Simpson
Président sortant de l’AMC

Depuis 1867, l'Association médicale canadienne (AMC) et ses membres ont été à l'origine d'innombrables innovations majeures qui ont transformé la médecine et amélioré la santé des patients. Inspirée par cette longue tradition d'innovation et par sa vision du futur, l'AMC a créé JouleMC, une nouvelle société dont l'objectif est de fournir des produits et des services qui aident les médecins à donner le meilleur d'eux-mêmes et répondent à leurs besoins cliniques.

Des avantages concrets pour les médecins

Joule offre des avantages concrets aux médecins, avec des subventions et des laboratoires d'innovation, des marathons d'innovation pour la santé et des produits et services fiables et éprouvés. Joule entend être au cœur de l'innovation dirigée par des médecins en facilitant les contacts et les échanges et en favorisant des changements bénéfiques dans le secteur de la santé. Joule croit que lorsque nous formulons des idées ensemble, nous pouvons accomplir de grandes choses. La philosophie de Joule en matière d'innovation et de développement de produits repose sur son engagement à travailler en étroite collaboration avec les médecins et cela, à chaque étape de leur carrière.

Un atout de taille pour les membres de l'AMC

Les ressources cliniques fiables, les cours de leadership et les services d'information et de diffusion du savoir auparavant offerts aux médecins dans le cadre de leur adhésion à l'AMC sont maintenant fournis par Joule. Voici certains des produits et services proposés par Joule aux membres de l'AMC :

Innovation

Le programme d'innovation de Joule est une initiative unique en son genre visant à faciliter l'innovation dirigée par des médecins.

  • Des subventions annuelles d'une valeur totale de 150 000 $ pour appuyer votre vision.
  • L'accès à des laboratoires d'incubation visant à développer et tester le potentiel de nouveaux produits.
  • Les marathons d'innovation pour la santé Joule H2 MC qui favorisent les contacts et l'échange d'idées entre médecins innovateurs.

Connexions numériques

  • L'application Joule : votre accès à des ressources cliniques et de leadership fiables et aux demandes de subventions à l'innovation.
  • Bientôt – le dialogue sur l'innovation en ligne : discutez avec vos collègues médecins de vos idées et de vos expériences.

Produits et services

  • Ressources cliniques en ligne : obtenez de meilleures réponses pour vos patients plus rapidement et économisez 2 000 $ par an.
  • DynaMed PlusMD — une ressource clinique de nouvelle génération conçue pour accélérer votre temps de réponse.
  • Recherche clinique QuantumMC : votre portail de recherche de ressources cliniques sur amc.ca.
  • ClinicalKeyMD, l'application mobile RxTx et d'autres produits de pointe.
  • Le JAMC : la revue médicale de référence au Canada.

Développement professionnel

De plus en plus de preuves viennent soutenir la vision de l'AMC voulant que le leadership joue un rôle crucial dans l'avenir de notre système de santé. C'est pourquoi aider les médecins à acquérir et à perfectionner leurs aptitudes au leadership et les préparer à devenir des leaders dans leur pratique, leur milieu de travail et le système de santé dans son ensemble est l'une des valeurs fondamentales de Joule. Le lancement de Joule a permis à l'AMC de renommer le Physician Management Institute (PMI), qui devient l'Institut de leadership des médecins (ILM). Ce changement d'appellation illustre mieux l'objectif des cours, qui visent à former les médecins au leadership plutôt qu'à la gestion. L'ILM proposera les mêmes cours de leadership que l'AMC a offerts avec succès au cours des 30 dernières années, tout en enrichissant son catalogue de cours en ligne pour plus de commodité et d'accessibilité. Tous les cours continueront d'être animés par la même équipe chevronnée de médecins et non-médecins experts. Avec un taux de satisfaction de 98 pour cent*, l'ILM demeure le premier choix pour les cours de leadership destinés aux médecins au Canada.

Cliquez pour en savoir plus!

* Selon les résultats du sondage 2014-2015 réalisé auprès des médecins participants.