Sign In

Joule Innovation Challenge #1
“3D Printing to Improve Quality of Life”

Official Challenge Rules

This 3D Printing to Improve Quality of Life Challenge (“CHALLENGE”) is presented by Joule Inc., a Canadian Medical Association Company (“JOULE”). The Challenge begins on MAY 29, 2017 and ends on JUNE 19, 2017 AT 11:59pm EST (“CHALLENGE PERIOD”). Winners will be announced by Joule at the end of July, 2017.

Please read these Official Challenge Rules (“RULES”) in their entirety. This Challenge is a CMA Member service by Joule intended to foster collaborative innovative thinking. By participating in the Challenge, you are an Entrant and agree to be bound by these Rules and the decisions of the Joule, which are binding and final without right of appeal, on all matters relating to the Challenge.

1. THE CHALLENGE QUESTION

“Leveraging 3D printing, describe a product innovation that could improve patient quality of life.”

2. ELIGIBILITY

Every Member of the Canadian Medical Association (“MEMBER”) is eligible to participate in this Challenge. Participation is only possible on the Joule Innovation Challenge Platform, which is accessible to Members by their online account for the cma.ca website. If you are a CMA Member and need assistance with your cma.ca account, please contact CMA Member Services [https://www.cma.ca/En/Pages/contactus.aspx].

Entrants with the CMA Member status of Student or Resident are eligible for the payment awards under this Challenge (“ELIGIBLE ENTRANT”). Non-Student and Non-Resident Entrants are still eligible to submit Contributions and comment on Contributions to make Improvements.

3. PARTICIPATION

The Joule Innovation Challenge platform is an online interactive forum that allows Entrants to share and develop innovative ideas. In this Challenge, Entrants may (a) submit an innovative idea of their own (“CONTRIBUTION”) in answer to the Challenge Question and/or (b) make comments on the innovative ideas contributed by other Entrants for the purpose of improving on contributed ideas (“IMPROVEMENTS”). The Contribution, together with any suggested Improvements submitted by others is considered an innovation (“INNOVATION”). Contributions and Improvements may only be submitted during the Challenge Period.

Entrants may participate in either English or French, however, no translations of Contributions or Improvements by Entrants will be provided by the Innovation Platform or Joule.

Contributions should be the result of innovative thinking by the Entrant. Contributions may be based on existing ideas already known but Improvements on Contributions should be made by commenting on the initial Contribution submitted as part of the Challenge, in the spirit of collaborative thinking.

Participation by Entrants is subject to the Terms and Conditions of this website [https://www.cma.ca/En/Pages/terms-conditions.aspx] including the Terms for Online Dialogue Participation [https://www.cma.ca/En/Pages/terms-conditions.aspx#ODP].

Joule reserves the right to monitor, as well as to modify (including edits or deletions) any Contribution or Improvement to bring it into compliance with the website Terms and Conditions and Terms for Online Dialogue Participation.

4. USER CONTENT

The Innovation Challenge platform is intended ignite idea generation through collaboration. Confidential information and trade secrets should not be submitted to this Challenge.

In the event that the Contributions or Improvement (collectively as “USER CONTENT”) submitted by an Entrant contain any intellectual property rights (“IP RIGHTS”), the Entrant retains ownership of her/his User Content IP Rights, subject to the relevant laws and the license for use by Joule and others granted under these Rules.

Joule Use of User Content

Joule does not acquire any ownership rights to your User Content. To operate, market and promote the Challenge, Joule requires the right to make such use of User Content (and any IP Rights thereof) in accordance with and subject to this Agreement. Therefore, by contributing User Content to the Challenge, or creating it on the Challenge Platform website, Entrant automatically grants to Joule an irrevocable and perpetual, non-exclusive, transferrable, fully paid, royalty free, worldwide license, for Joule to use, copy, reformat, distribute, publicly perform, publicly display, print, publish, republish, translate in whole or in part, the User Content in any form of media or expression for the purpose of administering this Challenge or marketing or promoting any Innovation Challenge by Joule.

Other Use of User Content with Attribution for Non-Commercial Purposes

To foster innovative dialogue, by contributing User Content to the Challenge Entrant automatically provides an irrevocable perpetual license for other uses of the User Content (and any IP Rights thereof) pursuant to the standard terms of the creative commons license Attribution-NonCommercial 2.5 Canada. [Link: https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/2.5/ca/]. For more about Creative Commons licenses see [Link: https://creativecommons.org/licenses].

Computer drawing files (CAD files) of the Innovations for use in 3D printing may be generated by Joule or others and deposited in open source repositories under on the same creative commons license Attribution-NonCommercial 2.5 Canada as granted above.

5. INNOVATION REVIEW

The Innovations will be reviewed by an Innovation Challenge Council (“COUNCIL”) established by Joule. Only Student and Resident Member Entrants are eligible for Awards.

The assessment of an Innovation includes consideration of any Improvements (comments) to the Innovation submitted by another Entrant.

The merits of each Innovation will be assessed by the Council with reference to:

  • Relevance to population: does the idea have the potential to improve quality of life?
  • Simplicity of implementation: is the idea easy to implement by the end-user in daily life?
  • Scalability: Does the idea have potential to impact a large number of people?

Each of the three criteria above will be weighted equally.

6. TOP CONTRIBUTIONS

After Challenge Period has closed, the Council will identify the 100 top ranked Contributions, using the Review Criteria (“TOP 100 CONTRIBUTION”). Each Eligible Entrant with a Top 100 Contribution will receive a payment of $100.00. The Top 100 Contributions will be announced and identified on the Innovation Challenge Platform.

The Council will further review the Top 100 Contributions with reference to the Review Criteria to identify the top 3 Innovations (“TOP INNOVATIONS”).

Each Eligible Entrant that submitted a Contribution selected as a Top Innovation shall receive payment of $1000.00.

Also, for each Top Innovation, a sum $1000.00 will be divided in equal shares among each Eligible Entrant that submitted an Improvement (“TOP IMPROVEMENT”) for that Top Innovation. To qualify for a share of a Top Improvement payment, the Improvement should be material to the Innovations character, quality or performance. For example, comments like “Nice!”, “or Great submission!” would not be considered Top Improvements. The assessment of any Improvement for eligibility as a Top Improvement is at the sole discretion of the Council.

Subject to any technical limitations, the Top Innovations (and any other Innovations at the discretion of Joule) will be converted into Computer Aided Design (CAD) drawings, and 3D printed prototypes will be exhibited at the 150th Canadian Medical Association Annual Meeting and General Council in Quebec City, Quebec to be held August 20 to 23, 2017.

Award payments will be made by electronic email transfer. All dollar amounts are in Canadian currency. Payments must be accepted as awarded, are not transferrable and cannot be exchanged. Joule reserves the right to substitute an award of equal or greater monetary value, in its sole discretion. Joule is not liable for any tax implications arising from any payment.

7. AWARD CONFIRMATION AND ACCEPTANCE

Each Entrant that submitted a Top Innovation or Top Improvement will be notified by email with the Award announced on joule.cma.ca, with promotion through Joule social media channels.

Prior to the award of a Top Innovation or Top Improvement, the Entrant may be required to sign a standard release and indemnity form confirming compliance with the Challenge Rules and releasing Joule and its directors, affiliates, representatives, advertising and promotional agencies from any and all liability arising from their participation in the Challenge or out of, pursuant to, or as a result of the carrying out of the Challenge, including liability arising from the acceptance Awards. Failure to comply with the Official Challenge Rules or to sign and return the release and indemnity form within three (3) days of the date on the documents will result in disqualification and forfeiture of the Award (“CONFIRMATION PAPERWORK”)

If the Confirmation Paperwork is not completed by the Entrant on a timely basis, the Innovation is deemed not to be a Top Innovation and the Selection Council may award the Top Innovation award to an alternate Innovation.

8. COMMUNICATIONS AND PUBLICITY

By entering this Challenge, you agree that Joule may send you email communications about the Challenge. You also agree that Joule may use your name, Province or city, photograph (such as your profile photo or another photo that you supply), voice and/or other likeness for news, trade and promotional purposes in any media now known or hereafter discovered, worldwide, in perpetuity, without compensation, notification or permission. Entrant consents to the collection, use and disclosure of his/her personal information for the purposes of this Challenge and grants permission for Joule to disclose personal information to its related and affiliated companies, contractors and agents to assist in the Challenge.

Joule reserves the right to use any information related to the Challenge, including submissions provided by Entrants, for editorial, marketing and any other purpose, unless prohibited by law.

Please see our Privacy Policy located at [https://www.cma.ca/En/Pages/privacy-policy.aspx] for details regarding the use of personal information collected in connection with this Challenge.

9. LIMITATION OF LIABILITY

By participating in the Challenge, you agree, to the maximum extent permitted by applicable laws to release, indemnify and hold Joule and its affiliates, subsidiaries, officers, directors, agents, representatives and employees (collectively, “Released Parties”), harmless from any and all liability whatsoever for any injuries, losses or damages of any kind arising from participation in or in connection with the Challenge, including, without limitation: (i) awarding, acceptance, receipt, possession, use and/or misuse of the Award herein; or (ii) participation in any Challenge related activities and travel of any kind. The above limitation of liability shall not apply to death or bodily injury caused as a result of Joule’s negligence.

Released Parties assume no responsibility for delayed or misdirected entries or for any failure of any website, for any problems or technical malfunction of any computer online systems, servers, access providers, computer equipment, software, failure of any e–mail or online entry (including Contributions or Improvements) to be received by Joule on account of technical problems or traffic congestion on the Internet or at any website, or any combination thereof, including any injury or damage to an entrant’s or any other person’s computer, mobile device or other electronic device related to or resulting from this Challenge.

10. GENERAL CONDITIONS

You agree, by participating, to be bound by the terms of these Official Challenge Rules and the decisions of Joule, which are final and binding, without right of appeal, on all matters relating to this Challenge.

Joule, in its sole discretion, reserves the right to disqualify any person it finds to be in violation of these Official Challenge Rules or tampering with or otherwise abusing any aspect of the Challenge.

Joule reserves the right to reschedule, cancel or modify this on-line challenge for any reason, including in the event of technical corruption due to virus or other technical problems.

In the event the Challenge is compromised by a virus, non–authorized human intervention, tampering or other causes beyond the reasonable control of Joule which corrupts or impairs the administration, security, fairness or proper operation of the Challenge, Joule reserves the right in its sole discretion to suspend, modify or terminate the Challenge or modify these Rules. In the event of any modification, Joule may post a notice on the Joule Innovation Challenge website.

Any provision in these Official Challenge Rules which is held to be invalid or unenforceable for any reason by any court, governmental department, body or tribunal, or in any applicable jurisdiction shall be ineffective to the extent of such invalidity or unenforceability and will not invalidate or render unenforceable the remaining provisions hereof and should any provision be held invalid or unenforceable in an applicable jurisdiction such provision shall not be invalidated or rendered unenforceable in any other jurisdiction.

This Challenge is subject to all applicable federal, provincial and local laws and regulations. These Rules shall be governed by and construed under the laws of the Province of Ontario without regard to conflict of laws principles.

Entrant hereby agrees that any and all disputes, claims, causes of action, or controversies (“CLAIMS”) arising out of or in connection with this Challenge shall be first addressed through settlement discussions and in the absence of resolution finally resolved by arbitration under the Simplified Arbitration Rules of the ADR Institute of Canada, Inc. [Link: http://adric.ca/arbrules/]. The Seat of Arbitration will be Ottawa. The language of the arbitration will the language used by the Entrant in the Challenge. Notwithstanding the foregoing, any party has the right to seek an interlocutory decision from a Court of competent jurisdiction on Claim related to intellectual property rights. Any Claims against an Entrant from a third party, including a Claim from another CMA Member, shall be addressed directly between the Entrant the third party(ies).

Connexion

1er Défi d’innovation de Joule
« L’impression 3D pour améliorer la qualité de vie des gens »

Règlement officiel

Ce défi L’impression 3D pour améliorer la qualité de vie des gens (ci-après le « défi ») est présenté par Joule inc. (« Joule »), une société de l’Association médicale canadienne. Le défi sera lancé le 29 mai 2017 et prendra fin le 19 juin 2017 à 23 h 59, heure normale de l’Est (ci-après la « période du défi »). Les gagnants seront annoncés par Joule à la fin du mois de juillet 2017.

Veuillez lire le présent règlement officiel du défi (ci-après le « règlement ») dans son intégralité. Ce défi est un service offert aux membres de l’AMC par Joule et vise à favoriser une réflexion novatrice collaborative. En prenant part au défi, vous devenez un participant et acceptez d’être lié par le présent règlement et par les décisions de Joule, qui seront exécutoires, définitives et sans appel, pour toutes les questions liées au défi.

1. LA QUESTION DU DÉFI

« Décrivez un produit d’innovation mettant à profit l’impression 3D qui pourrait améliorer la qualité de vie des patients. »

2. ADMISSIBILITÉ

Tous les membres de l’Association médicale canadienne (ci-après les « membres ») peuvent participer à ce défi. Il est impossible de participer au défi autrement que sur la plateforme du défi d’innovation de Joule, à laquelle les membres ont accès par leur compte en ligne sur le site Web amc.ca. Si vous êtes membre de l’AMC et avez besoin d’aide avec votre compte amc.ca, veuillez contacter le Centre des services aux membres de l’AMC [https://www.cma.ca/En/Pages/contactus.aspx].

Les étudiants en médecine et médecins résidents membres de l’AMC qui participent au défi sont admissibles aux récompenses en argent remises dans le cadre de ce défi (ci-après les « participants admissibles »). Les participants qui ne sont ni étudiants en médecine ni médecins résidents peuvent tout de même soumettre leurs contributions et leurs commentaires sur les contributions en vue d’y apporter des améliorations.

3. PARTICIPATION

La plateforme du défi d’innovation de Joule est un forum interactif en ligne qui permet aux participants de partager et d’améliorer des idées novatrices. Dans le cadre de ce défi, les participants peuvent (a) soumettre une idée novatrice de leur cru (les « contributions ») en réponse à la question du défi ou (b) formuler des commentaires sur les idées novatrices proposées par d’autres participants dans le but d’améliorer les idées proposées (ci-après les « améliorations »). Les contributions, de même que toute amélioration proposée soumise par d’autres participants, sont considérées comme des innovations. Les contributions et les améliorations ne peuvent être soumises que durant la période du défi.

Les participants peuvent soumettre des contributions ou des améliorations en français ou en anglais, mais celles-ci ne seront pas traduites par la plateforme d’innovation ou par Joule.

Les contributions doivent être le résultat d’une réflexion novatrice personnelle du participant. Les contributions peuvent se baser sur des idées existantes déjà connues, mais les améliorations aux contributions doivent prendre la forme d’un commentaire sur la contribution initiale soumise dans le cadre du défi, dans l’esprit d’une réflexion collaborative.

La participation au défi est assujettie aux Clauses et conditions légales du site Web de l’AMC [https://www.cma.ca/Fr/Pages/terms-conditions.aspx], ce qui comprend les conditions de participation à un dialogue en ligne [https://www.cma.ca/Fr/Pages/terms-conditions.aspx].

Joule se réserve le droit de surveiller ou de modifier (ce qui comprend les corrections et les suppressions) toute contribution ou amélioration afin de la rendre conforme aux Clauses et conditions légales du site Web et aux conditions de participation à un dialogue en ligne.

4. CONTENU UTILISATEUR

La plateforme du défi d’innovation vise à stimuler la génération d’idées par la collaboration. Les renseignements confidentiels et les secrets commerciaux ne devraient pas être soumis dans le cadre de ce défi.

Si une contribution ou une amélioration (ci-après désignées collectivement sous le terme « contenu utilisateur ») soumise par un participant est assujettie à des droits de propriété intellectuelle (ci-après les « droits de PI »), le participant conserve la propriété de ses droits de PI sur le contenu utilisateur, sous réserve des lois applicables et de la licence permettant à Joule et aux autres d’utiliser le contenu en vertu du présent règlement.

Utilisation du contenu utilisateur par Joule

Joule n’acquiert aucun droit de propriété sur le contenu utilisateur. Pour gérer, lancer et promouvoir le défi, Joule exige le droit de se servir du contenu utilisateur (et des droits de PI afférents), conformément au présent règlement et sous réserve de ce règlement. Par conséquent, en soumettant un contenu utilisateur dans le cadre du défi ou en le créant sur le site Web de la plateforme du défi, le participant accorde automatiquement à Joule une licence irrévocable, perpétuelle, non exclusive, transférable, entièrement payée, libre de droits et mondiale qui permet à Joule d’utiliser, de copier, de reformater, de distribuer, de présenter ou d’afficher en public, d’imprimer, de publier, de republier ou de traduire, en tout ou en partie, le contenu utilisateur dans tout média ou toute forme d’expression afin d’administrer ce défi ou à des fins de marketing ou de promotion de tout défi d’innovation de Joule.

Autres utilisations du contenu utilisateur avec attribution à des fins non commerciales

Afin de favoriser un dialogue sur l’innovation, en soumettant un contenu utilisateur dans le cadre du défi, le participant accorde automatiquement une licence irrévocable et perpétuelle pour d’autres utilisations du contenu utilisateur (et des droits de PI afférents), conformément aux conditions générales de la licence Creative Commons Attribution – Pas d’utilisation commerciale 2.5 Canada. [Link : https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/2.5/ca/deed.fr]. Pour en savoir plus sur les licences de Creative Commons, consulter le lien suivant [Link: https://creativecommons.org/licenses].

Des fichiers de dessins assistés par ordinateur (DAO) des innovations aux fins d’utilisation en impression 3D pourraient être générés par Joule ou par d’autres et déposés dans des référentiels libres d’accès en vertu de la même licence Creative Commons Attribution – Pas d’utilisation commerciale 2.5 Canada mentionnée ci-dessus.

5. ÉVALUATION DES INNOVATIONS PROPOSÉES

Les innovations seront évaluées par un conseil responsable du défi d’innovation (le « conseil ») établi par Joule. Seuls les membres étudiants en médecine ou médecins résidents sont admissibles aux récompenses en argent.

L’évaluation d’une innovation tiendra compte de toute amélioration à l’innovation proposée par un autre participant sous forme de commentaire.

Les mérites de chacune des innovations seront évalués par le conseil en fonction des critères suivants :

  • Pertinence pour la population : l’innovation a-t-elle le potentiel d’améliorer la qualité de vie des gens?
  • Simplicité de mise en œuvre : l’innovation sera-t-elle facile à mettre en œuvre par l’utilisateur final dans la vie quotidienne?
  • Adaptabilité : l’innovation pourrait-elle influer sur la vie de nombreuses personnes?

Les trois critères susmentionnés seront pondérés en parts égales.

6. MEILLEURES CONTRIBUTIONS

À la fin de la période du défi, le conseil sélectionnera les 100 contributions les mieux notées en se basant sur les critères d’évaluation (ci-après les « 100 contributions finalistes »). Chaque participant admissible ayant soumis une contribution qui se classe parmi les 100 contributions finalistes recevra un montant de 100,00 $. Les 100 contributions finalistes seront annoncées et répertoriées sur la plateforme du défi d’innovation.

Le conseil évaluera les 100 contributions finalistes de manière plus approfondie en se basant sur les critères d’évaluation afin de sélectionner les trois innovations qui se démarquent le plus (les « meilleures innovations »).

Chaque participant admissible ayant proposé une contribution qui se classe parmi les meilleures innovations recevra un montant de 1 000,00 $.

De plus, pour chacune des meilleures innovations, un montant de 1 000,00 $ sera divisé en parts égales parmi chaque participant admissible ayant proposé une amélioration (ci-après les « améliorations substantielles ») pour cette innovation. Pour se qualifier pour une part du montant accordé aux améliorations substantielles, l’amélioration proposée doit contribuer de manière significative au caractère, à la qualité ou au rendement de l’innovation. Par exemple, des commentaires comme « Super! » ou « Excellente proposition! » ne seront pas considérés comme des améliorations substantielles. L’évaluation de toute amélioration afin d’en déterminer l’admissibilité comme amélioration substantielle demeure à l’entière discrétion du conseil.

Sous réserve de toute contrainte technique, les meilleures innovations (et toute autre innovation, à la discrétion de Joule) seront converties en dessins assistés par ordinateur (DAO) et des prototypes d’objets en impression 3D seront présentés à l’occasion de la 150e Assemblée annuelle et du Conseil général de l’Association médicale canadienne, qui se tiendront du 20 au 23 août 2017 à Québec.

Le paiement des récompenses en argent se fera sous forme de transfert par courrier électronique. Tous les montants sont en dollars canadiens. Les paiements doivent être acceptés tels quels et ne sont ni transférables ni échangeables. Joule se réserve le droit, à son entière discrétion, de substituer une récompense d’une valeur pécuniaire égale ou supérieure. Joule n’est pas responsable des conséquences fiscales découlant de tout paiement.

7. CONFIRMATION ET ACCEPTATION DE LA RÉCOMPENSE

Les participants ayant soumis l’une des meilleures innovations ou une amélioration substantielle seront avisés par courriel et la remise des récompenses sera annoncée sur joule.amc.ca, ainsi que sur les médias sociaux de Joule.

Avant la remise des récompenses aux meilleures innovations et aux améliorations substantielles, les participants pourraient devoir signer un formulaire de décharge et de garantie standard confirmant le respect du règlement du défi et dégageant Joule et ses administrateurs, sociétés affiliées, représentants et agences de publicité et de promotion de toute responsabilité découlant de leur participation directe ou indirecte au défi ou de l’acceptation des récompenses. Le non-respect du règlement officiel du défi ou le fait de ne pas signer et renvoyer le formulaire de décharge et de garantie dans les trois (3) jours suivant la date inscrite sur les documents de confirmation entraînera la disqualification de l’innovation et le renoncement à la récompense.

Si les documents de confirmation ne sont pas remplis par le participant dans les délais impartis, l’innovation ne sera plus considérée comme l’une des meilleures innovations et le conseil de sélection pourrait remettre la récompense à une autre innovation.

8. COMMUNICATIONS ET PUBLICITÉ

En participant à ce défi, vous acceptez que Joule vous envoie par courriel des communications concernant le défi. Vous acceptez aussi que Joule utilise vos renseignements personnels (nom, province ou ville), votre photographie (photo de profil ou toute autre photo que vous fournissez), votre voix ou tout autre élément similaire à des fins d’information, de commerce ou de promotion dans tout média actuellement connu ou découvert par la suite, dans le monde entier, à perpétuité et sans rémunération, préavis ou autorisation. Les participants consentent à la collecte, à l’utilisation et à la divulgation de leurs renseignements personnels pour les besoins de ce défi et donnent à Joule l’autorisation de transmettre leurs renseignements personnels à ses sociétés affiliées, entrepreneurs et mandataires en appui au défi.

Joule se réserve le droit d’utiliser tout renseignement lié au défi, y compris les soumissions fournies par les participants à des fins rédactionnelles ou publicitaires ou à toute autre fin, sauf si la loi l’interdit.

Veuillez consulter notre Politique sur la protection des renseignements personnels à la page [https://www.cma.ca/Fr/Pages/privacy-policy.aspx] pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l’utilisation des renseignements personnels recueillis dans le cadre de ce défi.

9. LIMITATION DE RESPONSABILITÉ

En participant au défi, vous acceptez, dans les limites autorisées par les lois applicables, de décharger, d’indemniser et de dégager Joule et ses sociétés affiliées, filiales, dirigeants, administrateurs, mandataires, représentants et employés (ci-après désignés collectivement sous le nom de « parties exonérées ») de toute responsabilité concernant tout préjudice, toute perte ou tout dommage de quelque sorte que ce soit découlant de votre participation directe ou indirecte au défi, y compris, sans s’y limiter : (i) la remise, l’acceptation, la réception, la possession, l’utilisation ou le mauvais usage de la récompense mentionnée dans les présentes; (ii) la participation à toute activité ou à toute forme de déplacement relié au défi. La limitation de responsabilité susmentionnée ne s’applique pas aux décès ou aux blessures physiques causées par la négligence de Joule.

Les parties exonérées n’assument aucune responsabilité pour les soumissions en retard ou mal acheminées ou pour les défaillances de tout site Web, les problèmes ou défaillances techniques de tout système informatique en ligne, serveur, fournisseur d’accès, équipement informatique ou logiciel, l’échec de réception des courriels ou des soumissions en ligne (y compris les contributions ou les améliorations) par Joule en raison de problèmes techniques ou d’un engorgement du réseau Internet ou de tout site Web, ou une combinaison de ce qui précède, y compris tout préjudice ou dommage à l’ordinateur, à l’appareil mobile, ou à un autre appareil électronique appartenant au participant ou à toute autre personne reliée à ce défi ou en raison de ce défi.

10. CONDITIONS GÉNÉRALES

En participant à ce défi, vous acceptez d’être lié par le présent règlement officiel du défi et par les décisions de Joule, qui sont définitives, exécutoires et sans appel pour toutes les questions liées à ce défi.

Joule, à son entière discrétion, se réserve le droit de disqualifier toute personne qui contrevient au présent règlement officiel du défi ou qui falsifie tout aspect du défi ou en fait une utilisation abusive quelconque.

Joule se réserve le droit de reprogrammer, d’annuler ou de modifier ce défi en ligne pour toute raison, y compris en cas de corruption technique attribuable à un virus ou de tout autre problème technique.

Si le défi est compromis par un virus informatique, une intervention humaine non autorisée, une falsification ou d’autres causes indépendantes de la volonté de Joule qui corrompent ou altèrent l’administration, la sécurité, l’impartialité ou le déroulement approprié du défi, Joule se réserve le droit, à son entière discrétion, de suspendre, de modifier ou d’interrompre le défi, ou encore de modifier le présent règlement. En cas de modification, Joule pourrait publier un préavis sur le site Web du défi d’innovation de Joule.

Toute disposition du présent règlement officiel du défi qui s’avère non valide ou inexécutable pour toute raison décrétée par une cour, un ministère, un organisme ou un tribunal gouvernemental ou dans toute juridiction applicable sera sans effet dans les limites de cette non-validité ou de cette inapplicabilité, mais n’invalidera pas ou ne rendra pas inexécutable les autres dispositions des présentes; si toute disposition s’avère non valide ou inexécutable dans une juridiction applicable, cette disposition ne devrait pas être invalidée ou rendue inexécutable dans les autres juridictions.

Ce défi est assujetti à l’ensemble des lois et des règlements fédéraux, provinciaux et locaux applicables. Le présent règlement est régi par les lois de la province de l’Ontario et doit être interprété selon ces lois, sans égard aux principes relatifs aux conflits de lois.

Le participant accepte par les présentes que tout litige, toute réclamation, toute cause d’action ou toute controverse (ci-après les « revendications ») découlant directement ou indirectement de ce défi soient d’abord abordés dans le cadre de discussions en vue d’un règlement et qu’elles soient finalement réglées, en l’absence d’un règlement, par arbitration en vertu des Règles d’arbitrage de l’Institut d’arbitrage et de médiation du Canada inc. [Link : http://adric.ca/fr/arbrules/]. L’arbitrage aura lieu à Ottawa et se fera dans la langue utilisée par le participant dans le cadre du défi. Nonobstant ce qui précède, toute partie a le droit de faire appel à un tribunal compétent pour solliciter une décision interlocutoire relativement à une revendication liée aux droits de propriété intellectuelle. Toute revendication d’une tierce partie contre un participant, y compris les revendications d’autres membres de l’AMC, doit être traitée directement entre le participant et la ou les tierces parties.