Sign In

In Memoriam

As a unique service for CMA members and their families, the CMA regularly publishes notices of deceased members.

Please send notices to inmemoriam@cma.ca.

July, 2018

Achar, Ramachandra (Ram), North York, Ont.; Stanley Medical College (India), 1956; orthopedic surgery. Died June 6, 2018, aged 85. Survived by his wife Malathi, 3 children and 5 grandchildren. “Ram worked as an orthopedic surgeon in Cornwall, Ont., for 25 years. In 1998 he retired from surgery and began working as a consultant with the Workplace Safety Insurance Board in Ottawa.”

Alison, Ruth E. (Aunt Ruth), Toronto; University of Toronto, 1951; internal medicine. Died May 26, 2018, aged 91. “She worked in Bella Bella, BC, before practising oncology at Princess Margaret Hospital in Toronto for 30 years. A strong believer in treating body, mind and spirit, she connected with her patients first as a human being and second as a doctor. During the Terry Fox years, Dr. Alison became the first female president of the Canadian Cancer Society. In retirement she became a chaplain, serving at Ontario’s Peel Memorial Hospital.”

Beaton, Anita C., Barrie, Ont.; University of Toronto, 1951; anesthesiology. Died May 17, 2018, aged 91. Survived by 3 children and 3 grandchildren. “Anita married Dr. Edward James Beaton in 1952, and moved to Barrie in 1959 to work at the Royal Victoria Hospital.”

Beauchesne, Claude, Sherbrooke, Que.; Université de Montréal, 1959; anatomic pathology. Died May 14, 2018, aged 83. Survived by his wife, Michelle Gaudreau, 2 children, and the mother of his children, Francine Larocque.

Bergeron, Pierre, Alma, Que.; Université Laval, 1982. Died June 9, 2018, aged 58. Survived by 3 children and 2 grandchildren.

Bojanowski, Teodor (Ted), Belcarra, BC; McMaster University, 1981; otolaryngology; past president, BC Otolaryngology Society and BC Society of Specialist Physicians and Surgeons. Died April 25, 2018, aged 64. Survived by his wife Belle and 2 children. “Ted was active in numerous professional and community projects, and also served on the Emergency Services Committee in the Village of Belcarra, which was his home for 29 years. He also worked as a visiting ENT specialist in Whitehorse, Yukon.”

Breault, Jacques, St-Lambert, Que.; Université de Montréal, 1965; psychiatry. Died April 19, 2018, aged 77. Survived by his wife, Aline Bernier, 2 children and 4 grandchildren.

Bruce, Ian F., Edinburgh, Scotland; University of Edinburgh, 1947. Died May 16, 2018, aged 94. Survived by his wife Margaret, 2 children and 3 grandchildren. “He was a respected doctor and surgeon who practised in Scotland, Newfoundland and Nova Scotia.”

Cowan, Larry H., Hamilton; University of Western Ontario, 1951. Died May 6, 2018, aged 91. Survived by his wife Barbara Jane, 3 children and 7 grandchildren. “After medical school Larry moved to the Hamilton ‘mountain,’ where he set up his very successful family practice and cared for his large number of patients for 51 years.”

Eddy, Robert G., Brantford, Ont.; University of Western Ontario, 1955; family medicine; former chief of staff, St. Joseph’s Hospital. Died Feb. 27, 2018, aged 88. Survived by his wife Sandra, 2 children, 2 stepchildren, 4 grandchildren and 2 great-grandchildren. “Dr. Eddy was dedicated to his patients and profession, and was loved and respected by many. In addition to having his own practice for 55 years, he served on many boards and as head of the United Way.”

Epstein, Menu, North York, Ont.; Carol Davila University (Romania); 1951. Died May 5, 2018, aged 94.

Haw, Beverley G., Scarborough, Ont.; University of Toronto, 1953. Died May 15, 2018, aged 91. Survived by 3 children, 8 grandchildren and 1 great-grandchild. “Bev served in the Canadian military for 2 years before graduating from medical school. He was in private practice until he retired in 1992. Having fought cancer since 1998, Bev was briefly in palliative care at the Scarborough General Hospital, where he had been an emergency physician for almost 40 years. His was a full life that touched many.”

Hazzi, Nabil Y., Québec; Alexandria University (Egypt), 1954; general surgery. Died May 22, 2018, aged 92. Survived by his wife, Théodora Chrissanthou, 3 children and 3 grandchildren.

Heydenrych, Siegfriedt L., Cold Lake, Alta.; University of Stellenbosch (South Africa), 1989; family medicine. Died May 27, 2018, aged 52. “He had a passion and unstoppable determination from a very young age to become a doctor, to help people and to make a difference.” A parent wrote: “We were fortunate to have him as the anesthesiologist when one of our children needed dental surgery. Afterwards he even gave the stuffed animal she took with her some stitches that she could remove when she felt better.”

Hunt, John A., West Vancouver; University of London (England), 1950; internal medicine. Died June 6, 2018, aged 91.

Inglis, John E. (Jack), St. Catharines, Ont.; University of Toronto, 1962. Died June 3, 2018, aged 81. Survived by 2 daughters, 3 grandsons, his wife, Irene Edgar, and 4 stepdaughters. “Jack attended a 1-room schoolhouse near Rockwood, Ont., and then went on to graduate from medical school. He was a highly respected and devoted family physician in Brampton, Ont., for 40 years. He delivered more than 600 babies, made hundreds of house calls and performed countless rounds at Peel Memorial Hospital during his rewarding career.”

Johns, David R., Springwater, Ont.; University of Western Ontario, 1965; obstetrics and gynecology. Died May 28, 2018, aged 78. Survived by his wife Joyce, 2 children, 2 stepchildren and 5 grandchildren. “David was a long-standing obstetrician and gynecologist in the Barrie, Ont., area who delivered thousands of children over the years.”

Johnston, Lalia A., Halifax; Dalhousie University, 1962. Died June 11, 2018, aged 82. Survived by 3 children, 4 grandchildren and a step-granddaughter. “In 1956 she became 1 of 4 women in a medical class with over 80 men. Upon her graduation from Dalhousie she received the Dr. R.O. Jones Award for Distinction in Psychiatry. She was a true trailblazer, completing medical school and going on to practise at the Nova Scotia Hospital for her entire career. Another major accomplishment was being a wonderful mother to her 3 children while working full time, a rarity in her day.”

Joseph, Paul K. (PK), Halifax; University of Ibadan (Nigeria), 1974; radiation oncology; former clinical director, Nova Scotia Cancer Centre; former head, radiation oncology, Dalhousie University; former head, cancer program, QE II Hospital; first president of the medical staff, QE II Hospital. Died June 3, 2018, aged 66. Survived by 3 children and a grandson. “After earning his medical degree he completed his training in radiation oncology at the University of Alberta’s Cross Cancer Institute, followed by a fellowship at the University of Saskatchewan. He was an associate professor at Dalhousie University and was a well-respected leader in medicine and an instrumental voice in the shaping of cancer treatment in Nova Scotia during his many years of practice. Countless patients and their families have expressed their gratitude for his kindness and expert care. He was a tireless advocate for patients and believed in equity and access for all.”

Khullar, Renu, Ottawa; University of Alberta, 1986; family medicine. Died May 16, 2018, aged 59, “after an un-choreographed dance with breast cancer.” Survived by a son and her son’s father, Bert Buettner. “After leaving medical school her goal to become bilingual by moving to Quebec temporarily, and then to return to small-town Alberta to serve the French community, never materialized. She did become fluent in French, but settled into life in Montréal, then Gatineau, Que. In Québec she had success as an assistant professor in the Department of Family Medicine at McGill, where she taught residents and students about low-risk obstetrics and old-fashioned cradle-to-grave family practice. Former trainees still remember the wisdom and common sense she shared. She had 30 years of caring for families, sometimes 4 generations at a time, and treasured every day as one in which she could help somebody. She was much loved by patients, colleagues and staff, and was gratified to have served in French.”

Kingston, Robert, Coaldale, Alta.; University of Sheffield (England), 1966. Died June 6, 2018, aged 75.

Little, John M., Dorval, Que.; McGill University, 1961; ophthalmology. Died June 10, 2018, aged 79. Survived by his wife, Maureen Quelch, 5 children and 12 grandchildren. “John was director of ophthalmology at the Montreal Children’s Hospital for 22 years and also served as a retinal surgeon at the Montreal General Hospital for many years. He was involved with many medical organizations and worked on many committees. John was also founding president of the Canadian Association of Pediatric Ophthalmologists, and it was his privilege to serve as ophthalmologic consultant to the Montreal Canadiens for 43 years.”

Loach, Lynn F., Toronto; University of Toronto (U of T), 1959; internal medicine. Died May 26, 2018, aged 84. Survived by his wife Mary Ann, 4 children and 6 grandchildren. “Lynn had a long career as an internist at the Toronto General Hospital, where he was instrumental in establishing the hospital’s first intensive care unit. He was a dedicated clinician who cared deeply for the well-being of his patients, and he passed on his love of medicine to many generations of medical students as an associate professor of medicine at the U of T.”

Michaud, Richard, Outremont, Que.; Université de Montréal, 1960; psychiatry. Died May 20, 2018, aged 85.

Pelletier, Urgel, Sept-Îles, Que.; Université Laval, 1960. Died June 2, 2018, aged 89. Survived by his wife, Jeannine Gagnon Pelletier, 3 children and 9 grandchildren.

Prout, Gwen, Crescent Beach, BC; University of British Columbia, 1969. Died May 23, 2018, aged 86. Survived by her husband, Frank Stewart. A colleague wrote: “Our class medical historian has become a beloved part of the history of medicine.”

Rastogi, Hirsch, Hamilton; King George’s Medical College (India), 1960; internal medicine, gastroenterology. Died May 27, 2018, aged 80. Survived by his wife Indra, 2 children and 4 grandsons. “Hirsch completed his gastroenterology fellowship at the Cleveland Clinic. In 1967 he moved to Hamilton to establish his practice in that field — a practice that would span 4 decades and serve the greater Hamilton community and beyond.”

Rother, Irving, Toronto; University of Toronto, 1943; internal medicine. Died May 29, 2018, aged 98. Survived by 4 children, 8 grandchildren and 4 great-grandchildren. “Irving touched the lives of many in his extended family and community.”

Rounthwaite, Harry L., Corunna, Ont.; McGill University, 1949; general surgery. Died May 3, 2018, aged 94. Survived by his wife Jeanne, 2 sons, 2 grandchildren and 3 great-grandchildren. “During WW II he served with the Royal Canadian Navy and participated in the D-Day landings aboard the minesweeper HMCS Thunder. During his medical career he was chief of surgery at the Sarnia General and St. Joseph’s hospitals, and was on the Board of Directors of the Victorian Order of Nurses.”

Speakman, John S., Toronto; University of Toronto, 1952; ophthalmology; Member, Order of Canada. Died May 13, 2018, aged 90. Survived by his wife Betty, 5 children and 5 grandchildren. “John was a caring and dedicated physician and the source of inspiration for generations of ophthalmologists. He was instrumental in making the eye department at the Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre one of the major teaching units at the University of Toronto. For more than 4 decades, John was also at the forefront of providing eye-care services in the High Arctic. This exposure to Canada’s North had a profound and life-long effect on him. Outside of medicine, his concern for the natural environment led to his lifetime support of the Nature Conservancy of Canada. In particular, he supported its effort to protect and preserve the Carden Alvar, a unique natural landscape east of Orillia, Ont.”

Templeton, John, Barlaston, England; Queen’s University Belfast (Northern Ireland), 1961; orthopedic surgery. Died April 30, 2018, aged 80.

Thibault, H. Jacques, Québec; Université Laval, 1960; anatomic pathology, neuropathology. Died March 21, 2018, aged 85. Survived by his wife, Raymonde Lévesque, 4 children and 7 grandchildren. “Originally a general practitioner in Grand-Mère, he later specialized in anatomic pathology in Quebec City and then in neuropathology at Yale University. He was a former head of laboratories at Centre Hospitalier Robert Giffard, a consultant for various hospitals in Quebec and a lecturer at Université Laval. He wrote numerous scientific articles about neuropathology, and organized 2 congresses in Quebec City for the Canadian Association of Neuropathology.”

Tu, Jack V., North York, Ont.; University of Western Ontario, 1988; internal medicine, cardiology; PhD. Died May 30, 2018 aged 53. Survived by his wife Jane and a son. “Jack was a leading international cardiovascular epidemiologic researcher, who received numerous awards and much recognition for his work. The cardiovascular health services research world will greatly miss one of its superstars. He was a mentor, supervisor, friend and colleague to many, and his passing will also be deeply felt at his work home, the Institute for Clinical Evaluative Sciences and Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre. He has been described as an ‘absolute giant in the field of cardiovascular medicine,’ ‘an amazing researcher,’ ‘an outstanding leader’ and ‘a legend that contributed so much to Canadian Science.’ More importantly, friends and colleagues described him as an outstanding individual, and ‘the most generous, kind man.’ Jack was taken from us way too soon, but not without leaving his mark.” A colleague wrote: “He was truly a Canadian superstar, and he had big dreams for the future. His students will now carry the torch.”

Waterman, Fern K., North York, Ont.; University of Toronto, 1971. Died May 10, 2018, aged 75.

Williamson, Edythe E. (Evelyn), Belleville, Ont.; Queen’s University, 1950. Died May 16, 2018, aged 92. Survived by 3 children, 7 grandchildren and 5 great-grandchildren. “Although she was 1 of only 4 women in her class and among the first dozen women to graduate from Queen’s in medicine, Evelyn considered herself more of an advocate for change than a pioneer. She loved her work and dedicated 52-plus years to the Department of Psychiatry and the Mental Health Clinic at Belleville General Hospital (BGH). She was blessed with genuine optimism, an incredible sense of humour and an abundance of common sense that she used in every facet of her life. These qualities, combined with her professionalism and sheer tenacity, made her a favourite among her colleagues. In 1996 she became BGH’s first female chief of staff, and she helped steer the hospital through its Quinte Health Care amalgamation process. During her tenure at BGH, she also served as chief of psychiatry. In a field dominated by men, she challenged the norm and rose to the top, commanding respect for her accomplishments and loving every second of the demanding work. She continued to practise medicine well after her eligibility for retirement because of her love and commitment to her profession. In fact, the only obstacle she had difficulty mastering was retirement, having to take 3 tries at it before finally stepping away from medicine at age 82. ‘As long as I am qualified and needed then I want to contribute as much as I can,’ she stated.”

Yoon, Shu H., Dartmouth, NS; Seoul National University (South Korea), 1956; urology. Died May 30, 2018, aged 89. Survived by 2 sons and 5 grandchildren. “Dr. Yoon was a urologist at the Halifax Infirmary, Camp Hill and Dartmouth General hospitals, and was in private practice for many years. He was also a published author engaged in the constant pursuit of knowledge.”

Connexion

Avis de décès

L'AMC offre un service de publication d'avis de décès de ses membres. Prière d'envoyer les avis à l'adresse necrologie@cma.ca.

Juillet, 2018

Achar, Ramachandra (Ram), North York (Ont.); Stanley Medical College (Inde), 1956; chirurgie orthopédique. Décédé le 6 juin 2018 à l’âge de 85 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Malathi, 3 enfants et 5 petits-enfants. « Ram a exercé en tant que chirurgien orthopédique à Cornwall, en Ontario, pendant 25 ans. En 1998, il a quitté son travail de chirurgien pour devenir consultant au sein de la Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l’assurance contre les accidents du travail à Ottawa. »

Alison, Ruth E. (Tante Ruth), Toronto (Ont.); Université de Toronto, 1951; médecine interne. Décédée le 26 mai 2018 à l’âge de 91 ans. « Elle a travaillé à Bella, en Colombie-Britannique, avant d’exercer en oncologie à l’Hôpital Princess Margaret de Toronto pendant 30 ans. Croyant fermement à l’importance de traiter autant l’âme et l’esprit que le corps, elle considérait ses patients d’abord et avant tout comme des êtres humains. À l’époque de Terry Fox, la Dre Alison est devenue la première femme présidente de la Société canadienne du cancer. Durant sa retraite, elle s’est faite aumônière à l’Hôpital Peel Memorial, en Ontario. »

Beaton, Anita C., Barrie (Ont.); Université de Toronto, 1951; anesthésiologie. Décédée le 17 mai 2018 à l’âge de 91 ans. Elle laisse dans le deuil 3 enfants et 3 petits-enfants. « Anita a épousé le Dr Edward James Beaton en 1952 et s’est installée à Barrie en 1959 afin de travailler à l’Hôpital Royal Victoria. »

Beauchesne, Claude, Sherbrooke (Qc); Université de Montréal, 1959; anatomopathologie. Décédé le 14 mai 2018 à l’âge de 83 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Michelle Gaudreau, 2 enfants et la mère de ses enfants, Francine Larocque.

Bergeron, Pierre, Alma (Qc); Université Laval, 1982. Décédé le 9 juin 2018 à l’âge de 58 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil 3 enfants et 2 petits-enfants.

Bojanowski, Teodor (Ted), Belcarra (C.-B.); Université McMaster, 1981; otorhinolaryngologie; ancien président, Société d’otorhinolaryngologie de la Colombie-Britannique et Société des médecins spécialistes et des chirurgiens de la Colombie-Britannique. Décédé le 25 avril 2018 à l’âge de 64 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Belle et 2 enfants. « Ted participait activement à de nombreux projets professionnels et communautaires; il a également travaillé au sein du comité des services d’urgence du village de Belcarra, où il a vécu pendant 29 ans. Il a aussi travaillé comme otorhinolaryngologue externe à Whitehorse, au Yukon. »

Breault, Jacques, Saint-Lambert (Qc); Université de Montréal, 1965; psychiatrie. Décédé le 19 avril 2018 à l’âge de 77 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Aline Bernier, 2 enfants et 4 petits-enfants.

Bruce, Ian F., Édimbourg, Écosse; Université d’Édimbourg (Écosse), 1947. Décédé le 16 mai 2018 à l’âge de 94 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Margaret, 2 enfants et 3 petits-enfants. « Médecin et chirurgien respecté, Ian a exercé en Écosse, à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador et en Nouvelle-Écosse. »

Cowan, Larry H., Hamilton (Ont.); Université Western Ontario, 1951. Décédé le 6 mai 2018 à l’âge de 91 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Barbara Jane, 3 enfants et 7 petits-enfants. « Après ses études en médecine, Larry s’est installé dans la circonscription de Hamilton Mountain, où il a établi une clinique de médecine familiale très florissante et où il a pris soin d’un grand nombre de patients pendant 51 ans. »

Eddy, Robert G., Brantford (Ont.); Université Western Ontario, 1955; médecine familiale; ancien médecin-chef, Hôpital St. Joseph. Décédé le 27 février 2018 à l’âge de 88 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Sandra, 2 enfants, 2 beaux-enfants, 4 petits-enfants et 2 arrière-petits-enfants. « Le Dr Eddy était dévoué envers ses patients et sa profession; il était très aimé et respecté. En plus d’avoir mis sur pied son propre cabinet où il a exercé pendant 55 ans, il a siégé à de nombreux conseils et dirigé l’organisme Centraide. »

Epstein, Menu, North York (Ont.); Université Carol Davila (Roumanie); 1951. Décédé le 5 mai 2018 à l’âge de 94 ans.

Haw, Beverley G., Scarborough (Ont.); Université de Toronto, 1953. Décédé le 15 mai 2018 à l’âge de 91 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil 3 enfants, 8 petits-enfants et un arrière-petit-enfant. « Bev a servi dans l’armée canadienne pendant 2 ans avant d’obtenir son diplôme en médecine. Il a exercé en pratique privée jusqu’à sa retraite en 1992. Bev luttait contre le cancer depuis 1998 et a séjourné brièvement en soins palliatifs à l’Hôpital général de Scarborough, où il a travaillé comme urgentologue pendant près de 40 ans. Il a vécu une vie bien remplie et a touché de nombreuses personnes. »

Hazzi, Nabil Y., Québec (Qc); Université d’Alexandrie (Égypte), 1954; chirurgie générale. Décédé le 22 mai 2018 à l’âge de 92 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Théodora Chrissanthou, 3 enfants et 3 petits-enfants.

Heydenrych, Siegfriedt L., Cold Lake (Alb.); Université de Stellenbosch (Afrique du Sud), 1989; médecine familiale. Décédé le 27 mai 2018 à l’âge de 52 ans. « À partir d’un très jeune âge, il a chéri le rêve de devenir médecin, d’aider les gens et d’apporter sa contribution pour son entourage. Il a travaillé sans relâche pour y parvenir. » Le parent d’une jeune patiente a écrit : « Nous avons eu la chance de l’avoir comme anesthésiologiste lorsque notre fille a dû subir une chirurgie dentaire. Après, il a même fait des points de suture à l’animal en peluche qu’elle avait apporté en lui disant qu’elle pourrait les enlever quand elle se sentirait mieux. »

Hunt, John A., Vancouver Ouest (C.-B.); Université de Londres (Angleterre), 1950; médecine interne. Décédé le 6 juin 2018 à l’âge de 91 ans.

Inglis, John E. (Jack), St. Catharines (Ont.); Université de Toronto, 1962. Décédé le 3 juin 2018 à l’âge de 81 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil 2 filles, 3 petits-fils, son épouse Irene Edgar et 4 belles-filles. « Enfant, Jack a fréquenté une petite école de rang près de Rockwood, en Ontario, pour ensuite poursuivre ses études et obtenir son diplôme en médecine. Il a exercé pendant 40 ans à Brampton, en Ontario, où il était un médecin de famille extrêmement respecté et dévoué. Il a aidé à mettre au monde plus de 600 bébés et a effectué des centaines de visites à domicile ainsi qu’un nombre incalculable de visites aux patients à l’Hôpital Peel Memorial au cours de sa carrière enrichissante. »

Johns, David R., Springwater (Ont.); Université Western Ontario, 1965; obstétrique et gynécologie. Décédé le 28 mai 2018 à l’âge de 78 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Joyce, 2 enfants, 2 beaux-enfants et 5 petits-enfants. « David a exercé pendant très longtemps comme obstétricien et gynécologue dans la région de Barrie, en Ontario, où il a aidé à mettre au monde des milliers de bébés au fil des ans. »

Johnston, Lalia A., Halifax (N.-É.); Université Dalhousie, 1962. Décédée le 11 juin 2018 à l’âge de 82 ans. Elle laisse dans le deuil 3 enfants, 4 petits-enfants et une belle-petite-fille. « En 1956, elle est devenue l’une des 4 femmes d’un cours de médecine auquel assistaient plus de 80 hommes. Après avoir obtenu son diplôme à l’Université Dalhousie, elle a reçu le prix de distinction R.O.-Jones en psychiatrie. Elle a été une véritable pionnière, terminant ses études en médecine et exerçant à l’Hôpital psychiatrique de la Nouvelle-Écosse pendant toute sa vie professionnelle. Autre réalisation majeure : elle a été une merveilleuse mère pour ses 3 enfants tout en travaillant à temps plein, chose très rare à son époque. »

Joseph, Paul K. (PK), Halifax (N.-É.); Université d’Ibadan (Nigéria), 1974; radio-oncologie, ancien directeur clinique, Centre d’oncologie de la Nouvelle-Écosse; ancien chef, radio-oncologie, Université Dalhousie; ancien chef, programme de lutte contre le cancer, Hôpital Queen Elizabeth II; premier président du personnel médical, Hôpital Queen Elizabeth II. Décédé le 3 juin 2018 à l’âge de 66 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil 3 enfants et un petit-fils. « Après l’obtention de son diplôme en médecine, il a effectué une formation en radio-oncologie à l’Institut d’oncologie Cross de l’Université de l’Alberta, puis un stage postdoctoral à l’Université de la Saskatchewan. Professeur agrégé à l’Université Dalhousie, il était un chef de file respecté en médecine et a joué un rôle déterminant dans l’élaboration de traitements contre le cancer pendant ses nombreuses années de pratique en Nouvelle-Écosse. D’innombrables patients et leur famille lui ont exprimé leur gratitude pour sa gentillesse et son expertise. Il était un ardent défenseur des droits des patients et croyait en l’équité et en l’accès aux soins pour tous. »

Khullar, Renu, Ottawa (Ont.); Université de l’Alberta, 1986; médecine familiale. Décédée le 16 mai 2018 à l’âge de 59 ans, « après une danse improvisée avec le cancer du sein. » Elle laisse dans le deuil un fils et le père de son fils, Bert Buettner. « Après avoir terminé ses études en médecine, elle espérait habiter temporairement au Québec pour apprendre le français avant de retourner dans son petit village en Alberta afin de travailler au sein de la communauté francophone, mais ce projet ne s’est jamais réalisé. Elle a bel et bien appris à parler couramment le français, mais elle s’est installée à Montréal, puis à Gatineau, au Québec. Elle y a travaillé comme chargée de cours au Département de médecine familiale de l’Université McGill, où elle a enseigné aux médecins résidents et aux étudiants en médecine l’obstétrique à faible risque et la médecine familiale à l’ancienne mode, où le médecin suit son patient du berceau à la tombe. D’anciens stagiaires se rappellent encore la sagesse et le bon sens dont elle faisait preuve. Elle a soigné des familles entières pendant 30 ans, parfois 4 générations à la fois, et voyait chaque journée comme une occasion d’aider son prochain. Elle était très aimée de ses patients, de ses collègues et du personnel, et a été heureuse d’avoir pu travailler en français. »

Kingston, Robert, Coaldale (Alb.); Université de Sheffield (Angleterre), 1966. Décédé le 6 juin 2018 à l’âge de 75 ans.

Little, John M., Dorval (Qc); Université McGill, 1961; ophtalmologie. Décédé le 10 juin 2018 à l’âge de 79 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Maureen Quelch, 5 enfants et 12 petits-enfants. « John a occupé les fonctions de directeur du service d’ophtalmologie de l’Hôpital de Montréal pour enfants pendant 22 ans et a également exercé comme chirurgien de la rétine à l’Hôpital général de Montréal pendant de nombreuses années. Il s’est impliqué auprès de nombreuses organisations médicales et a siégé à de nombreux comités. John était également le président fondateur de l’Association canadienne des ophtalmologistes pédiatriques, et il a eu le privilège de travailler comme consultant en ophtalmologie auprès des Canadiens de Montréal pendant 43 ans. »

Loach, Lynn F., Toronto (Ont.); Université de Toronto, 1959; médecine interne. Décédé le 26 mai 2018 à l’âge de 84 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Mary Ann, 4 enfants et 6 petits-enfants. « Lynn a mené une longue carrière comme interniste à l’Hôpital général de Toronto, où il a joué un rôle déterminant dans l’établissement du premier service de soins intensifs de l’hôpital. Clinicien dévoué, il se souciait profondément du bien-être de ses patients et a transmis son amour de la médecine à de nombreuses générations d’étudiants à titre de professeur agrégé de médecine à l’Université de Toronto ».

Michaud, Richard, Outremont (Qc); Université de Montréal, 1960; psychiatrie. Décédé le 20 mai 2018 à l’âge de 85 ans.

Pelletier, Urgel, Sept-Îles (Qc); Université Laval, 1960. Décédé le 2 juin 2018 à l’âge de 89 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Jeannine Gagnon Pelletier, 3 enfants et 9 petits-enfants.

Prout, Gwen, Crescent Beach (C.-B.); Université de la Colombie-Britannique, 1969. Décédée le 23 mai 2018 à l’âge de 86 ans. Elle laisse dans le deuil son époux Frank Stewart. Un collègue a écrit : « Notre historienne médicale tant aimée fait maintenant partie de l’histoire de la médecine. »

Rastogi, Hirsch, Hamilton (Ont.); Université médicale du roi George (Inde), 1960; médecine interne, gastroentérologie. Décédé le 27 mai 2018 à l’âge de 80 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Indra, 2 enfants et 4 petits-fils. « Hirsch a effectué son stage postdoctoral en gastroentérologie à la Clinique de Cleveland. En 1967, il s’est installé à Hamilton pour y établir son cabinet dans ce domaine, servant la population de la grande région d’Hamilton et des environs pendant 40 ans. »

Rother, Irving, Toronto (Ont.); Université de Toronto, 1943; médecine interne. Décédé le 29 mai 2018 à l’âge de 98 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil 4 enfants, 8 petits-enfants et 4 arrière-petits-enfants. « Irving a touché bien des gens au sein de sa famille élargie et de sa communauté. »

Rounthwaite, Harry L., Corunna (Ont.); Université McGill, 1949; chirurgie générale. Décédé le 3 mai 2018 à l’âge de 94 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Jeanne, 2 fils, 2 petits-enfants et 3 arrière-petits-enfants. « Pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, il a servi dans la Marine royale canadienne et a participé au débarquement du jour J en Normandie à bord du dragueur de mines NCSM Thunder. Durant sa carrière médicale, il a exercé comme chirurgien en chef à l’Hôpital général de Sarnia et à l’Hôpital St. Joseph, en plus de siéger au conseil d’administration de l’organisme de santé communautaire Les Infirmières de l’Ordre de Victoria du Canada. »

Speakman, John S., Toronto (Ont.); Université de Toronto, 1952; ophtalmologie; membre de l’Ordre du Canada. Décédé le 13 mai 2018 à l’âge de 90 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Betty, 5 enfants et 5 petits-enfants. « Médecin attentionné et dévoué, John a été une source d’inspiration pour de nombreuses générations d’ophtalmologistes. Il a largement contribué à faire en sorte que le service d’ophtalmologie du Centre des sciences de la santé Sunnybrook devienne l’une des principales unités d’enseignement à l’Université de Toronto. Pendant plus de 40 ans, John a joué un rôle de premier plan dans l’offre de services de soins ophtalmologiques dans le Grand Nord. Cette exposition aux régions nordiques du Canada l’a profondément marqué pour la vie. En dehors de la médecine, son souci de préservation de l’environnement l’a mené à soutenir la société Conservation de la nature Canada toute sa vie durant. Plus particulièrement, il a soutenu les efforts de l’organisme en vue de protéger et de préserver le parc provincial Carden Alvar, un lieu naturel unique à l’est d’Orillia, en Ontario. »

Templeton, John, Barlaston (Angleterre); Université Queen’s de Belfast (Irlande du Nord), 1961; chirurgie orthopédique. Décédé le 30 avril 2018 à l’âge de 80 ans.

Thibault, H. Jacques, Québec (Qc); Université Laval, 1960; anatomopathologie, neuropathologie. Décédé le 21 mars 2018 à l’âge de 85 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Raymonde Lévesque, 4 enfants et 7 petits-enfants. « D’abord omnipraticien à Grand-Mère, il s’est spécialisé plus tard en anatomopathologie à Québec, puis en neuropathologie à l’Université de Yale. Il était chef des laboratoires au Centre hospitalier Robert Giffard, consultant pour divers hôpitaux du Québec et chargé de cours à l’Université Laval. Il a écrit de nombreux articles scientifiques sur la neuropathologie et a organisé deux congrès dans la ville de Québec pour le compte de l’Association canadienne des neuropathologistes. »

Tu, Jack V., North York (Ont.); Université Western Ontario, 1988; médecine interne, cardiologie; Ph. D. Décédé le 30 mai 2018 à l’âge de 53 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Jane et un fils. « Éminent chercheur en épidémiologie cardiovasculaire, Jack a reçu de nombreux prix et était reconnu sur la scène internationale pour son travail. Très connu dans le monde de la recherche sur les services de santé cardiovasculaire, il sera extrêmement regretté. Il était un mentor, un superviseur, un collègue et un ami pour beaucoup d’entre nous, et son départ laissera un grand vide dans ses milieux de travail, l’Institut de recherche en services de santé et le Centre des sciences de la santé Sunnybrook. Il a été décrit comme un “très grand homme dans le domaine de la médecine cardiovasculaire”, “un chercheur exceptionnel”, “un chef de file remarquable” et “une légende qui a grandement contribué à la science au Canada.” Mais plus important encore, ses amis et collègues l’ont décrit comme une personne exceptionnelle et comme “l’homme le plus généreux et le plus aimable” qu’ils aient rencontré. Jack nous a quittés beaucoup trop vite, mais non sans avoir laissé sa marque. » Un collègue a écrit : « Il était une véritable vedette au Canada, et il avait de grands rêves pour l’avenir. Ses étudiants porteront maintenant le flambeau. »

Waterman, Fern K., North York (Ont.); Université de Toronto, 1971. Décédée le 10 mai 2018 à l’âge de 75 ans.

Williamson, Edythe E., (Evelyn), Belleville (Ont.); Université Queen’s, 1950. Décédée le 16 mai 2018 à l’âge de 92 ans. Elle laisse dans le deuil 3 enfants, 7 petits-enfants et 5 arrière-petits-enfants. « Bien qu’elle ait été l’une des quatre seules femmes de sa classe et parmi les douze premières femmes à obtenir un diplôme de médecine à l’Université Queen’s, Evelyn se considérait plus comme une militante pour le changement que comme une pionnière. Elle adorait son travail et a consacré plus de 52 années de sa vie au service de psychiatrie et à la clinique de santé mentale de l’Hôpital général de Belleville. Elle était mue par un véritable optimisme et était dotée d’un incroyable sens de l’humour et d’un grand bon sens qu’elle appliquait dans tous les aspects de sa vie. Ces qualités, jumelées à son professionnalisme et à sa grande persévérance, faisaient en sorte qu’elle était très appréciée de ses collègues. En 1996, elle est devenue la première femme à occuper les fonctions de médecin-chef à l’Hôpital général de Belleville, et elle a contribué à l’orientation du processus de fusion de l’Hôpital et du Centre de soins de santé Quinte. Durant son mandat à l’Hôpital général de Belleville, elle a également occupé le poste de chef du service de psychiatrie. Dans un domaine majoritairement masculin, elle a contesté la norme et s’est hissée au sommet, imposant le respect pour ses réalisations et pour la passion avec laquelle elle accomplissait ce travail exigeant. Elle a continué d’exercer la médecine bien après son admissibilité à la retraite en raison de sa passion et de son engagement envers sa profession. En fait, la retraite est la seule chose avec laquelle elle a eu du mal à composer : elle a dû se ressayer par trois fois avant de finalement se retirer du monde de la médecine à 82 ans. “Tant que je suis qualifiée et qu’on a besoin de moi, je veux aider autant que je peux”, a-t-elle déclaré un jour. »

Yoon, Shu H., Dartmouth (N.-É.); Université nationale de Séoul (Corée du Sud), 1956; urologie. Décédé le 30 mai 2018 à l’âge de 89 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil 2 fils et 5 petits-enfants. « Le Dr Yoon était urologue à l’Hôpital Halifax Infirmary, à l’Hôpital Camp Hill et à l’Hôpital Dartmouth General, en plus d’exercer en pratique privée pendant de nombreuses années. Auteur de diverses publications, il accordait une grande importance à la recherche constante du savoir.