Sign In

Dr. Dale Podolsky: Life-Like Simulators – An Important Tool For Mastering Surgical Procedures

This is the second in a five-part series in which we introduce Canadian Medical Association members to the recipients of the first round of Joule™ Innovation grants. Please watch for additional stories in the series.


Thanks to technological advancements over the past two decades, high-fidelity simulation is becoming an important part of medical training. The main purpose of surgical simulation is to provide a way for surgeons-in-training to practice procedures and master them prior to performing them on live patients. Makes sense right? However, most simulators fail to capture the complexity and subtleties that are necessary to master a surgical procedure. But it’s innovative physicians like Dr. Dale Podolsky who have been able to capture this by developing the most realistic simulators available.

Cleft palate simulator

The Simulare cleft palate simulator includes a base and
replaceable cartridges, which allow the trainee to
complete the crucial steps of the procedure and practice
multiple times by simply replacing the cartridge

Dr. Dale Podolsky, an engineer and resident in Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery at The University of Toronto and part of the surgeon-scientist training program, has focused his efforts on developing simulators that are highly realistic, anatomically accurate and can be used to perform end-to-end complex surgical procedures. By developing simulators for surgical training, Dale’s goal is to help shorten the learning curve and elevate a surgeon’s level of competency to enable performance of safer procedures on actual patients.

“The advantage of using simulation as part of physician training, is that it allows trainees to learn a complex procedure at their own pace in a low pressure environment. Making mistakes has no direct patient consequences and it enables repetition which in-turn leads to increased proficiency and ultimately better trained surgeons” claims Dr. Podolsky.

Recognizing the important role simulation has to play in the medical field, Dr. Podolsky founded Simulare Medical Corp. With the help of leading physicians and surgeons, the company’s mandate is to bring innovation and acceleration to the medical training process.

The first product introduced by Simulare is a cleft palate simulator, which is one of a number of simulators it intends to develop. The cleft palate simulator was developed and tested by Dr. Podolsky in collaboration with four leading pediatric surgeons (Dr. David Fisher, Dr. Karen Wong, Dr. James Drake, Dr. Christopher Forrest) at the Hospital for Sick Children.

Simulator use

   Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery resident
   performing a cleft palate repair on the
   cleft palate simulator.

Cleft palate repair is an excellent application for surgical simulation as it is difficult to learn and teach due to the small confined operating space and delicate tissues involved. The Simulare cleft palate simulator enables a trainee to operate on a precise replica of the mouth and to gain a deep understanding of cleft anatomy and the critical steps of the procedure.

Why this application? Cleft lip and/or palate is the most common congenital abnormality and is seen in 1/700 births which equates to 200,000 new cases worldwide every year. Beyond the need for the cleft palate simulator in the developed world, access to surgeons trained in this procedure in the developing world is often lacking. The cleft palate simulator is a vehicle for surgeons in low and middle income countries to more safely and effectively learn this procedure to provide care to those who desperately need it.

But Dr. Podolsky’s aspirations don’t end here. Outside of his role as Founder and Chief Technology Officer at Simulare Medical, he is also pursuing a PhD in Biomedical Engineering while completing his residency.

It is people like Dr. Dale Podolsky that inspire other practitioners to go beyond their practice, delve into developing healthcare solutions and bring them to market. It is this type of innovation and inspired thinking that Joule™ supports and encourages. Dr. Podolsky intends to apply Joule’s Innovation Grant to support development of additional simulators in other surgical areas.

Please visit: http://www.simularemedical.com

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Le Dr Dale Podolsky : Les simulateurs réalistes sont des outils importants pour maîtriser les techniques chirurgicales

Ceci est la deuxième d'une série de cinq vidéos qui présentent des membres de l'Association médicale canadienne aux bénéficiaires des subventions à l'innovation de JouleMC. Découvrez d'autres témoignages en visionnant le reste de la série.


Grâce aux progrès technologiques des deux dernières décennies, la simulation haute fidélité commence à jouer un rôle important dans la formation médicale. La simulation chirurgicale sert principalement à donner aux chirurgiens en formation l’occasion de s’exercer et de maîtriser les interventions avant de les réaliser sur de vrais patients. L’idée est excellente, mais la plupart des simulateurs sont malheureusement incapables d’intégrer les subtilités et les détails complexes nécessaires à la maîtrise d’une intervention chirurgicale. Néanmoins, des médecins à l’esprit novateur comme le Dr Dale Podolsky y arrivent et conçoivent les simulateurs les plus réalistes disponibles.

Cleft palate simulator

Le simulateur de fente palatine de Simulare comprend
une base et des cartouches amovibles, ce qui permet à
l’étudiant d’accomplir les étapes cruciales de
l’intervention et de faire plusieurs essais en
remplaçant tout simplement la cartouche.

Ingénieur, médecin résident en chirurgie plastique et reconstructive à l’Université de Toronto et membre du programme de formation des chirurgiens-scientifiques, le Dr Dale Podolsky s’est appliqué à mettre au point des simulateurs anatomiquement exacts et hautement réalistes pouvant être utilisés du début à la fin de chirurgies complexes. En créant des simulateurs pour la formation chirurgicale, il espère raccourcir la période d’apprentissage, améliorer la compétence des chirurgiens et permettre la réalisation d’interventions plus sécuritaires auprès des patients.

« L’avantage de la simulation pour la formation médicale est qu’elle permet aux étudiants en médecine d’apprendre à exécuter une technique complexe à leur propre rythme dans un environnement peu stressant. Il n’y a pas de conséquences directes sur le patient s’ils commettent une erreur. La simulation permet la répétition, ce qui favorise la maîtrise de la technique et une meilleure formation des chirurgiens », croit le Dr Podolsky.

Convaincu du rôle important que la simulation peut jouer dans le domaine médical, le Dr Podolsky a créé la société Simulare Medical Corp. En collaboration avec des médecins et chirurgiens de renom, la société travaille à intégrer l’accélération et l’innovation dans le processus de formation médicale.

Le simulateur de fente palatine est le premier parmi les nombreux simulateurs que la société entend créer. Le Dr Podolsky a développé et mis à l’essai le simulateur de fente palatine en collaboration avec quatre chirurgiens pédiatriques de renom (Dr David Fisher, Dre Karen Wong, Dr James Drake, Dr Christopher Forrest) à l’Hôpital pour enfants malades de Toronto.

Simulator use

   Médecin résidente en chirurgie plastique
   et reconstructive s’exerçant à une
   réparation de fente palatine au moyen du
   simulateur.

La réparation de la fente palatine est une excellente application pour la simulation chirurgicale, car les tissus délicats impliqués et l’étroitesse de l’espace chirurgical compliquent l’apprentissage et l’enseignement de la technique. Le simulateur de fente palatine de Simulare permet à l’étudiant de pratiquer l’intervention sur une reproduction précise de la bouche et d’acquérir une compréhension approfondie de l’anatomie de la fente et des étapes critiques de l’intervention.

Pourquoi cette application? La fissure labiale ou palatine est l’anomalie congénitale la plus courante. Environ un bébé sur 700 vient au monde avec l’anomalie, ce qui représente 200 000 nouveaux cas par année à l’échelle mondiale. Le simulateur de fente palatine a évidemment une utilité dans les pays développés, mais l’accès à des chirurgiens formés à cette technique est souvent difficile dans les pays en développement. Le simulateur de fente palatine permet aux chirurgiens des pays à faible revenu ou à revenu intermédiaire de s’exercer à l’intervention de façon plus efficace et sécuritaire et de la réaliser auprès de personnes qui en ont désespérément besoin.

Les aspirations du Dr Podolsky vont plus loin. En plus d’être fondateur et directeur de la technologie chez Simulare Medical, il fait des études de doctorat en génie biomédical tout en faisant sa résidence.

Les personnes comme le Dr Podolsky inspirent d’autres praticiens à aller au-delà de leur pratique, à explorer les solutions technologiques en santé et à les commercialiser. Joule appuie et encourage ce type d’innovation et de réflexion éclairée. Le Dr Podolsky prévoit utiliser la subvention pour l’innovation de Joule afin de développer des simulateurs dans d’autres domaines chirurgicaux.

Pour en savoir plus, veuillez consulter www.simularemedical.com

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.