Sign In

With med school enrolment growing, MDs' teaching time jumps by 31%

In the last 15 years, enrolment in Canada's medical schools has risen by close to 80%. However, grateful patients aren't the only ones feeling the impact.

Newly analyzed data indicate that Canadian physicians are now involved in teaching to an unprecedented degree, and that this trend is likely to continue.

"Much more of the training new physicians receive is being offered in community settings and away from traditional academic health science centres," says Lynda Buske, manager of the CMA's Canadian Collaborative Centre for Physician Resources (C3PR). "We are seeing new satellite campuses across the country and literally hundreds of clinical teaching sites, and all of them need teachers. The result is that community-based physicians in all parts of the country are now involved in teaching to an unprecedented degree."

Buske says the proof can be found in data from the 2004, 2007 and 2010 National Physician Survey (NPS), which reveal a 31% jump - from 5.1 hours to 6.7 hours - in the amount of time physicians spend providing direct patient care that had a teaching component. During the same period, teaching without a direct patient-care component, such as lectures and direct contact with medical students and residents, increased by 36%.

"With the trend toward distributed learning and the sheer magnitude of the increase in the number of students and residents needing clinical teachers, no one should be surprised that the NPS shows more physicians spending more time teaching. However, these data are particularly interesting because they show the extent to which medical teaching has evolved in a relatively short time."

The C3PR analysis found that medical and surgical specialists and family physicians are all doing more teaching than ever before. FPs have seen their hours spent providing direct patient care with a teaching component increase by 45%, from 3.1 hours/week in 2004 to 4.5 hours in 2010. The story is similar for other specialists, who have seen an increase of 25%, to 9.1 hours/week, between 2004 and 2010.

The CMA's recent blueprint for health care transformation acknowledged that physicians' teaching duties are expanding and called on governments "to ensure that there is adequate funding of community-based teaching programs for medical students and residents."

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Hausse des inscriptions en médecine : les médecins consacrent 31 % de temps de plus à l'enseignement

Au cours des 15 dernières années, le nombre d'inscriptions dans les facultés de médecine du Canada a augmenté de près de 80 %. Les patients reconnaissants ne sont toutefois pas les seuls à ressentir les effets de cette hausse.

Des données analysées récemment révèlent que les médecins du Canada consacrent maintenant un nombre d'heures sans précédent à l'enseignement et que cette tendance devrait se poursuivre.

« Une part beaucoup plus importante de la formation des nouveaux médecins se déroule en milieu communautaire, à l'extérieur du cadre d'enseignement traditionnel des centres universitaires de sciences de la santé », explique Lynda Buske, responsable du Centre canadien de collaboration sur les effectifs médicaux (C3EM).

« Partout au pays, nous voyons l'établissement de nouveaux campus satellites et de centaines de sites d'enseignement clinique, et ils ont tous besoin d'enseignants. Les médecins exerçant en milieu communautaire consacrent maintenant un nombre d'heures sans précédent à l'enseignement. »

Mme Buske en veut pour preuve les données du Sondage national des médecins de 2004, 2007 et 2010 qui montrent un bond de 31 % - soit de 5,1 heures à 6,7 heures - du temps que les médecins consacrent aux soins directs aux patients avec une composante d'enseignement. Au cours de la même période, l'enseignement sans composante de soins directs aux patients, comme les conférences et le contact direct avec les étudiants en médecine et les résidents, a augmenté de 36 %.

« Compte tenu de la tendance à la formation distribuée et de l'ampleur de la hausse du nombre d'étudiants et de résidents qui ont besoin d'enseignants cliniciens, personne ne devrait s'étonner du fait que le SNM montre qu'un plus grand nombre de médecins consacrent davantage de temps à l'enseignement. Cependant, ces données sont particulièrement intéressantes parce qu'elles montrent à quel point l'enseignement de la médecine a évolué au cours d'une une période relativement courte. »

L'analyse menée par le C3EM révèle que les spécialistes en médecine et en chirurgie enseignent plus que jamais. Les médecins de famille ont vu le nombre d'heures qu'ils consacrent aux soins directs aux patients avec une composante d'enseignement augmenter de 45 % : de 3,1 heures/semaine en 2004, elles sont passées à 4,5 heures/semaine en 2010. La situation est semblable pour les autres spécialistes qui ont connu une augmentation de 25 % entre 2004 et 2010, pour atteindre 9,1 heures/semaine.

Dans son document récent Vers un cadre de transformation des soins de santé : canevas d'intervention, l'AMC reconnaît que les tâches d'enseignement des médecins prennent de l'ampleur et fait appel aux gouvernements « pour assurer un financement adéquat des programmes d'enseignement en milieu communautaire destinés aux étudiants en médecine et aux médecins résidents ».

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.