Sign In

Medical aid must not lead to fragmented care

How Canada can better deliver humanitarian medical aid to other countries was the topic of a major workshop recently hosted by the Canadian Medical Association (CMA).

With representation from more than 25 Canadian medical organizations, universities, non-governmental organizations and charities, the meeting ended with a clear call to document current Canadian activities and programs prior to developing any national framework for providing care.

The workshop was prompted by a report prepared by the CMA that noted there are Canadian health care professionals who travel abroad to help in poor communities for strictly humanitarian reasons. Canada is one of the top four countries from which physicians provide voluntary short-term medical services.

However, the report added “this trend has raised a serious number of professional and ethical concerns, especially the fragmented, uncoordinated and ad hoc manner in which some choose to participate.”

The workshop focused on addressing these concerns, and more fully discussing issues of training, education, professionalism and ethics involved with delivery of humanitarian medicine.

Dr. Jeff Blackmer, CMA executive director of ethics, professionalism and international affairs – who helped organize the meeting – said it represents a watershed moment in helping the Canadian medical profession more effectively meet its humanitarian commitments to developing nations.

“We have a wealth of eager and committed medical students, residents and physicians who want to help, but we need to provide better tools and training for them to do so,” he said.

The British Medical Association (BMA) is an acknowledged expert in this field, and Vivienne Nathanson, BMA director of professional activities, provided opening and closing remarks.

She said the BMA’s role in supporting its membership to volunteer overseas has been critical in facilitating the successful work of British doctors in low-to-middle income countries. Part of this support has involved developing an ethics toolkit for medical students.

Another speaker, Dr. Shafik Dharmasi, associate professor at the University of British Columbia, highlighted what can happen if Canadian volunteers are not culturally sensitive and don’t respect human dignity.

Lisa Schwartz, associate professor, McMaster University, Hamilton, ON, followed this by noting many volunteer physicians and students may suffer moral distress when serving as volunteers. She said the attrition rate among returning Médecins Sans Frontières volunteers reaches as high as 50%.

Other speakers discussed the importance of proper training for medical volunteers, and the need to maximize the outcomes of short-term medical volunteerism through advocacy, research and innovation.

Nathanson closed by identifying the need for a Canadian organization to assist in coordinating humanitarian activities, and also for more outcomes research to identify where humanitarian medicine could make the most impact.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

L’aide médicale ne doit pas causer une fragmentation des soins

La façon dont le Canada peut offrir une aide médicale humanitaire plus efficace à d’autres pays a fait l’objet d’un important atelier organisé récemment par l’Association médicale canadienne (AMC).

Les représentants de plus de 25 organisations médicales, universités, organismes non gouvernementaux et œuvres de bienfaisance participant à la rencontre ont conclu qu’il faut documenter les activités et les programmes canadiens existants avant d’élaborer un cadre national pour l’aide médicale.

Cet atelier a été organisé à la suite de la production d’un rapport pour l’AMC indiquant que des professionnels de la santé canadiens se rendent à l’étranger pour offrir de l’aide à des communautés pauvres à des fins strictement humanitaires. Le Canada est l’un des quatre principaux pays dont des médecins offrent bénévolement des services médicaux à court terme.

Le rapport souligne que « cette tendance soulève de nombreuses préoccupations professionnelles et éthiques, surtout à cause à la façon fragmentée, non coordonnée et ponctuelle dont cette aide est offerte par certains ».

L’atelier visait à donner suite à ces préoccupations et à discuter de façon plus approfondie de questions de formation, d’éducation, de professionnalisme et d’éthique liées à la prestation de l’aide médicale humanitaire.

Le Dr Jeff Blackmer, directeur exécutif de l’éthique, du professionnalisme et des affaires internationales de l’AMC – qui a aidé à organiser la rencontre – a dit que cet atelier était un point tournant pour aider la profession médicale canadienne à tenir plus efficacement ses engagements humanitaires envers les pays en développement.

« Nous avons beaucoup d’étudiants en médecine, de résidents et de médecins motivés et empressés d’aider, mais nous devons leur offrir de meilleurs outils et une meilleure formation », a-t-il dit.

La British Medical Association (BMA) est une spécialiste reconnue de la question, et Vivienne Nathanson, directrice des activités professionnelles de cette association, a prononcé les discours d’ouverture et de clôture de la rencontre.

Selon elle, le soutien offert par la BMA à ses membres qui font du bénévolat à l’étranger joue un rôle clé dans le succès des activités réalisées par les médecins britanniques dans des pays où la population gagne un revenu moyen ou faible. La BMA a notamment conçu une « boîte à outils » sur l’éthique à l’intention des étudiants en médecine.

Un autre intervenant, le Dr Shafik Dharmasi, professeur agrégé à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique, a expliqué ce qui peut arriver si les bénévoles ne tiennent pas compte des valeurs culturelles et du respect de la dignité humaine.

Lisa Schwartz, professeure adjointe à l’Université McMaster, à Hamilton, en Ontario, a quant à elle souligné que de nombreux médecins et étudiants qui choisissent de faire du bénévolat à l’étranger peuvent ressentir une détresse morale. Elle a précisé que le taux d’attrition chez les bénévoles de Médecins Sans Frontières est d’au moins 50 %.

D’autres présentateurs ont parlé de l’importance de fournir une formation appropriée aux bénévoles et de la nécessité de maximiser les résultats du bénévolat de courte durée par la représentation, la recherche et l’innovation.

Mme Nathanson a conclu en disant qu’il faudrait créer une organisation canadienne chargée d’aider à coordonner les activités humanitaires et faire une recherche plus approfondie afin de déterminer où la médecine humanitaire pourrait avoir un effet optimal.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.