Sign In

Medical Education and the CMA

The Canadian Medical Association (CMA) has been involved in medical education for over forty years. The CMA is both a collaborator on the accreditation of Canada’s medical schools, and a funding partner in the Future of Medical Education in Canada — Continuing Professional Development (FMEC CPD) project.

Canadian Undergraduate Medical Education Accreditation

For over 30 years, the CMA and the Association of Faculties of Medicine of Canada (AFMC) have collaborated in the accreditation of Canada's medical schools. The work of accreditation is carried out by the Committee on Accreditation of Canadian Medical Schools (CACMS).

This accreditation assures:

  1. educational programs that award an M.D. degree meet reasonable, generally-accepted, and appropriate national standards for educational quality, and
  2. graduates of M.D. programs have a complete and valid educational experience to prepare them for the next stage of their training.

Canada and United States Medical Education Accreditation

The US Liaison Committee on Medial Education (LCME) and the Committee on Accreditation of Canadian Medical Schools (CACMS) work closely to ensure that medical school graduates in both the US and Canada meet their respective countries’ standards, and are prepared for the next phase of training.

In 2013, a memorandum of understanding was signed by several accrediting bodies, as well as the CMA and AFMC, to allow Canadian medical education programs the flexibility to meet unique Canadian demands while maintaining the benefit of reciprocity to practicing physicians.

Future of Medical Education in Canada — Continuing Professional Development (FMEC CPD)

The CMA participates in and helps fund the FMEC CPD project. The goal of the project is to develop a pan-Canadian professional development system that sustains innovation, and ongoing quality improvement, for the health of Canadians.

Policies

The CMA has a number of policies on medical education such as the Policy Statement on Flexibility in Medical Training, the Statement on Rural and Remote Practice Issues and the Policy Statement on Physician Resource Planning, among others.

Connexion

L’AMC et l’éducation médicale

L’Association médicale canadienne (AMC) participe à la promotion de l’éducation médicale depuis plus de 40 ans. L’AMC collabore à l’agrément des facultés de médecine du Canada et est en même temps un partenaire de financement du projet L’avenir de l’éducation médicale au Canada — Développement professionnel continu (AEMC-DPC).

Politiques

L’AMC a adopté un certain nombre de politiques sur l’éducation médicale, notamment La flexibilité de la formation en médecine, Les enjeux de l’exercice de la profession en milieu rural et éloigné et La planification des effectifs médicaux. Pour savoir si l’AMC a une politique sur un enjeu particulier, veuillez consulter la Banque des politiques de l’AMC.

L’agrément de l’éducation médicale de premier cycle

Depuis plus de 30 ans, l’AMC et l’Association des facultés de médecine du Canada (AFMC) collaborent à l’agrément des facultés de médecine du Canada. Le travail d’agrément proprement dit est effectué par le Comité d’agrément des facultés de médecine du Canada (CAFMC).

L’agrément procure l’assurance que :

  1. les programmes éducatifs menant à l’obtention du diplôme de MD satisfont à des normes nationales raisonnables, généralement reconnues et appropriées sur le plan de la qualité de l’enseignement;
  2. les diplômés de ces programmes ont une expérience éducative complète et valide suffisante pour les préparer à la prochaine étape de leur formation.

Agrément de l’éducation médicale au Canada et aux États-Unis

Le comité de liaison sur l’éducation médicale (LCME) des États-Unis et le Comité d’agrément des facultés de médecine du Canada (CAFMC) travaillent en étroite collaboration afin de veiller à ce que les diplômés en médecine des deux pays aient reçu une formation respectant les normes de chacun et soient préparés à la prochaine étape de leur formation.

En 2013, un protocole d’entente a été signé par plusieurs organismes d’agrément, de même que par l’AMC et l’AFMC, dans le but de donner aux programmes canadiens d’éducation médicale la flexibilité voulue pour répondre aux exigences canadiennes particulières, tout en préservant pour les médecins en exercice les avantages de la réciprocité.

L’avenir de l’éducation médicale au Canada — développement professionnel continu

L’AMC participe au projet AEMC-DPC, qu’elle contribue aussi à financer. Le projet vise à élaborer un système de DPC pancanadien favorisant l’innovation et l’amélioration continue de la qualité afin de répondre aux besoins en santé des Canadiens.