Sign In

Momentum grows for Choosing Wisely Canada campaign

Twelve more medical specialty societies and six community partners have joined Choosing Wisely Canada as momentum grows to change the approach to using diagnostic tests, treatments and/or procedures and encouraging better doctor-patient communications.

The announcement of this new campaign phase brings the number of medical specialty societies participating in Choosing Wisely Canada to 21.

“Our aim is to encourage a culture change in which patients and physicians no longer assume that more is automatically better in high-quality care,” said to Dr. Wendy Levinson, chair of the Canadian campaign.

“This is a physician-led exercise that is based on the latest and best evidence for the right care.’’

The most recent specialty societies to join the campaign have released 61 new recommendations about tests, treatments and/or procedures that may be overused. The goal is to encourage physicians and patients to question whether these interventions are necessary.

Launched in April, Choosing Wisely Canada has received enthusiastic endorsement from several organizations, including all provincial and territorial medical associations and these associations have established mechanisms to support adoption of the lists of tests and procedures needing assessment. The campaign has been favourably portrayed in the media and on social media.

“It (Choosing Wisely Canada) is the right thing to do and as a profession we have a responsibility to deliver the best possible care that is based on evidence,” said Dr. Cindy Forbes, president-elect of the Canadian Medical Association (CMA)

Canada is now one of 10 countries with a Choosing Wisely campaign, said Forbes. She described the campaign as still being in the early stages and predicted “with time it will grow and flourish.”

Levinson noted the campaign is gaining phenomenal support from medical trainees and is starting to impact the culture of how medicine is practised.

Medical societies that have most recently joined the campaign:

  • Canadian Association of Gastroenterology
  • Canadian Association of Medical Oncologists
  • Canadian Association of Pathologists
  • Canadian Association of Radiation Oncology
  • Canadian Hematology Society
  • Canadian Society of Surgical Oncology
  • Canadian Society for Transfusion Medicine
  • Canadian Society of Endocrinology and Metabolism
  • Canadian Society of Nephrology
  • Canadian Society of Palliative Care Physicians
  • Canadian Urological Association
  • Occupational Medicine Specialists of Canada

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

La campagne Choisir avec soin en plein essor

Douze sociétés de spécialité médicale et six partenaires communautaires se sont joints à la campagne Choisir avec soin alors que le mouvement visant à changer la façon d’utiliser les examens, les traitements et les interventions, et à encourager une meilleure communication entre médecins et patients, prend de l’ampleur.

Cette nouvelle campagne porte à 21 le nombre sociétés de spécialité médicale participant à Choisir avec soin.

« Notre but est d’encourager un changement de culture, afin que les patients et les médecins cessent de penser que plus signifie automatiquement mieux en matière de soins de qualité », a dit la Dre Wendy Levinson, présidente de la campagne canadienne.

« L’initiative, dirigée par les médecins, est fondée sur les données les plus récentes et les plus fiables sur la prestation optimale des soins. »

Les dernières sociétés de spécialité médicale qui se sont jointes à la campagne ont présenté 61 nouvelles recommandations sur les examens, les traitements et les interventions qui sont peut-être surutilisés. Il s’agit d’encourager les médecins et les patients à se demander si ces interventions sont nécessaires.

Lancée en avril, la campagne Choisir avec soin a reçu l’appui enthousiaste de plusieurs organisations, notamment toutes les associations médicales provinciales et territoriales, qui ont établi des mécanismes afin de promouvoir l’adoption de la liste des examens et des interventions devant être évalués. La campagne fait l’objet d’une couverture favorable dans la presse et dans les médias sociaux.

« C’est la bonne chose à faire [Choisir avec soin] et notre profession a la responsabilité de fournir les meilleurs soins possible, en se fondant sur des preuves », a dit la Dre Cindy Forbes, présidente désignée de l’Association médicale canadienne (AMC).

Le Canada est aujourd'hui l’un des dix pays qui mènent une campagne Choisir avec soin, précise la Dre Forbes. Elle a ajouté que la campagne fait ses premiers pas et prédit qu’elle va « croître et s’intensifier avec le temps ».

La Dre Levinson a souligné que la campagne bénéficie d’un soutien phénoménal chez les stagiaires en médecine et qu’elle commence à changer la culture de la pratique de la médecine.

Sociétés médicales qui se sont récemment jointes à la campagne :

  • L'Association canadienne de gastroentérologie
  • L'Association canadienne des oncologues médicaux du Canada
  • L'Association canadienne des pathologistes
  • L'Association canadienne de radio-oncologie
  • La Société canadienne d'hématologie
  • La Société canadienne d'oncologie chirurgicale
  • La Société canadienne de médecine transfusionnelle
  • La Société canadienne d'endocrinologie et de métabolisme
  • La Société canadienne de néphrologie
  • La Société canadienne des médecins de soins palliatifs
  • L'Association des urologues du Canada
  • Les Spécialistes de la médecine du travail du Canada

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.