Sign In

Myth-busting key to physicians' tax fairness battle with government

The Canadian Medical Association (CMA) continues to battle against the mistaken belief within the federal government that proposed changes affecting group medical structures will simply close a tax loophole for doctors, rather than significantly undermine patient care, training and research opportunities in medicine.

The CMA and Dr. Richard Davies, professor in the Division of Cardiology at the University of Ottawa Heart Institute and managing partner of a group medical structure, recently appeared before the House of Commons Standing Committee on Finance to highlight the significant risks to health delivery posed by proposed changes in Bill C-29, the federal budget implementation bill.

"Since the release of this proposal in the 2016 budget, it has become increasingly clear to the CMA that Finance Canada is vastly underestimating the risks to group medical structures," Mr. John Feeley, Vice-president of Member Relevance at the CMA, told committee members. "I'm here today to clarify that the risks are real and if this proposal applies to group medical structures, there will be a negative impact to medical research, physician training and the delivery of specialty care."

Group medical structures are prevalent within academic health science centres and among certain specialties, notably oncology, anaesthesiology, radiology, and cardiology. CMA estimates show that about 10,000 to 15,000 physicians are incorporated in these structures across the Canada.

Physicians have been encouraged by the provinces and territories to form these team-based models to help fund the education and training of medical students and residents in teaching hospitals, and for conducting medical research. Since the federal budget was tabled last spring, the CMA has worked to educate the government about these structure which, unlike in other professions, have not been formed for taxation or commercial purposes.

"Group medical structures were formed to deliver on provincial and territorial health priorities, primarily in the academic health setting, such as teaching and medical research, as well as for optimizing the delivery of patient care," said Mr. Feeley. "Maintaining the current framework for the small business deduction is critical to the continued viability of these structures."

Since the release of the budget last spring, the CMA has been copied on nearly 2,000 submissions, letters and emails from members to Finance Canada and the finance minister expressing concern over the proposed changes.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

La démystification : la clé de la lutte pour l'équité fiscale que les médecins livrent au gouvernement

L'Association médicale canadienne (AMC) poursuit sa lutte contre le gouvernement fédéral qui croit à tort que les changements proposés touchant les structures de médecine de groupe refermeront simplement une échappatoire fiscale pour les médecins au lieu de miner sérieusement les soins aux patients et les possibilités de formation et de recherche en médecine.

L'AMC et le Dr Richard Davies, professeur à la Division de cardiologie de l'Institut de cardiologie de l'Université d'Ottawa et associé directeur de la structure de groupe « Associates in Cardiology » (Cardiologues associés), a témoigné récemment devant le Comité permanent des finances de la Chambre des communes pour souligner les risques importants que posent pour la prestation des soins de santé des changements proposés dans le projet de loi C‑29 d'exécution du budget fédéral.

« Depuis le dévoilement de cette proposition dans le budget de 2016, il est devenu de plus en plus clair pour l'AMC que le ministère des Finances sous-estime énormément les risques pour les structures de médecine de groupe », a déclaré M. John Feeley, VP à la Pertinence pour les membres de l'AMC, devant le Comité. « Je suis venu préciser aujourd'hui que les risques sont réels et que si cette proposition s'applique aux structures de médecine de groupe, elle aura un effet négatif sur la recherche en médecine, la formation des médecins et la prestation des soins spécialisés. »

Les structures de groupe sont prévalentes dans les centres universitaires des sciences de la santé et dans certaines spécialités, comme l'oncologie, l'anesthésiologie, la radiologie et la cardiologie. Selon les calculs de l'AMC, de 10 000 à 15 000 médecins ont une pratique constituée en société représentée par ces structures d'un bout à l'autre du Canada.

Les provinces ont encouragé les médecins à créer ces modèles d'équipe pour aider à financer l'éducation et la formation des étudiants en médecine et des médecins résidents dans les hôpitaux universitaires et pour effectuer des recherches en médecine. Depuis le dépôt du budget fédéral le printemps dernier, l'AMC cherche à informer le gouvernement au sujet de ces structures qui, contrairement à ce qui se passe dans d'autres professions, n'ont pas été mises sur pied pour des raisons fiscales ou commerciales.

« Les structures de médecine de groupe ont été mises sur pied pour réaliser les priorités des provinces et des territoires en matière de santé, principalement dans le contexte universitaire de la santé, notamment en enseignement, en recherche médicale et pour l'optimisation de la prestation des soins aux patients, a déclaré M. Feeley. Pour assurer la viabilité de ces structures, il est essentiel de maintenir le cadre en vigueur dans le cas de la déduction accordée aux petites entreprises. »

Depuis le dévoilement du budget le printemps dernier, l'AMC a reçu copie de presque 2000 mémoires, lettres et courriels que ses membres ont envoyés au ministère des Finances et à son ministre pour exprimer leur préoccupation au sujet des changements proposés.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.