Sign In

National Palliative Medicine Survey Highlights Areas for Action to Improve Access to Care

Calgary, AB (May 28, 2015) – The first-ever national survey of physicians who deliver palliative care in Canada has provided critical direction for improving access to palliative care services for all Canadians.

The survey gathered responses from 1,114 physicians from across Canada who provide palliative medicine. The survey was conducted by the Canadian Society of Palliative Care Physicians (CSPCP), the Canadian Medical Association (CMA), Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada (Royal College), and the College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) and the Technology Evaluation in the Elderly Network (TVN).

Quick facts:

  • For the vast majority (84%) of physicians who provide palliative medicine services, it is not their primary field of practice;
  • Family physicians with a focused practice in palliative medicine and palliative medicine specialists (16% of all respondents) reported working an average of 36 hours per week in palliative care. Physicians who provide palliative care as part of their other clinical duties (84% of respondents) reported working an average of seven hours providing palliative care services;
  • 78% of palliative care physicians reported that they do not see children and only 50% of respondents reported having access to specialized pediatric palliative care services;
  • Just 35% of palliative medicine physicians in rural and remote areas reported having specialized palliative care teams to provide care in their area, compared to 79% of physicians in urban areas. Formal home health care for patients wishing to die at home was reported to be available by 49% of urban palliative medicine physicians versus 30% of rural physicians.

Key findings:

  • Canada needs an adequate palliative medicine workforce. Physicians providing palliative care services must be properly trained and assessed to ensure they are capable of providing the highest standard of care. They must have resources to do the work, including the support of allied health professionals in interdisciplinary teams, access to in-hospital beds and services, after-hours schedules and supports, and community supports and services.
  • Primary care providers need more support for palliative care education and training. Primary care has been the focus of palliative care programs in the hope that many family physicians will provide the basic day-to-day symptom management required. This group needs to be adequately supported, with both resources and compensation, so that it can continue to grow to meet patients’ health care needs.
  • Palliative medicine as a distinct discipline must be further developed to better meet the complex needs of patients. There must be emphasis on growing the discipline of Palliative Medicine, which needs to be valued by universities and medical schools with protected time and other requirements to foster academic growth and to improve how we take care of patients living with and dying from advanced and incurable conditions.
  • Canada must ensure minimum palliative medicine standards are met. National standards for practice, including guidance for interdisciplinary care, hours of coverage etc., need to be developed. Different strategies are needed for rural and urban settings to meet the needs of the population in a realistic yet appropriate way. It is important that the palliative care workforce, including physicians and the other health care professionals who play a role in palliative care, be considered in workforce planning in all jurisdictions.

Quotes

“This survey was not designed to count the number of palliative care physicians, but to determine the types of physicians who deliver palliative care, how they do it and just what training and how each physician prepared themselves to reach their practice level,” said Dr. Susan MacDonald, CSPCP President. “We want to use this data to support improvements in quality and — most importantly – access, which is a serious issue across Canada.”

“All Canadians in need deserve timely access to quality palliative medicine,” said Royal College President Kevin Imrie, MD, FRCPC. “Demand for this care will only rise in the years ahead, and we need to ensure that doctors caring for patients at the end of life are properly trained, supported and available.”

“The College of Family Physician of Canada welcomes this valuable new data that supports enhanced attention to palliative care as part of the comprehensive training that family physicians receive,” said CFPC President, Garey Mazowita, MD, CCFP, FCFP. “The new Certificates of Added Competence are available to recognize this important area of expertise achieved by family physicians to meet the increasing needs of their patients, colleagues and communities.”

“This is the first comprehensive national survey for palliative medicine in Canada but we do not want it to be the last,” said Dr. Chris Simpson, President, CMA. “We need to take what we have learned and move to ensure access to high-quality palliative care is available to every Canadian who needs it, regardless of where they live.”

“We now have baseline data to conduct deeper analyses, to develop research questions, and to inform policy, practice and workforce planning that will lead to improved access to palliative care for all Canadians. The real work is just beginning,” said Dr. John Muscedere, Scientific Director, Technology Evaluation in the Elderly Network.

For more information, or to arrange interviews please contact:

Kim Taylor, Executive Director, Canadian Society of Palliative Care Physicians
Email: ed@cspcp.ca
Cell: 778-230-2741

Jayne Johnston, Director, Communications, College of Family Physicians of Canada
905-629-0900 ext 303
Email: jjohnston@cfpc.ca

Dominique Jolicoeur, CMA Communications
Email: Dominique.jolicoeur@cma.ca
tel: 613.731.8610 x2038
Cell: 613.809.5669

Tom McMillan Senior Communications Specialist,
Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada
tel: 613-730-8177 x 474

Denis Abbott, APR
TVN – Canada’s Network for Improving Care of the Frail Elderly
Email: denis@tvn-nce.ca
tel: 613 549 6666 x 6209

The Canadian Society of Palliative Care Physicians (CSPCP) is a membership organization representing over 350 physicians. Clinicians, academics, and researchers, we are dedicated to promoting access to high quality palliative care for all Canadians through advocacy, partnerships, and physician education.

The Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada is the home of specialty care in Canada, setting the standards for postgraduate medical education, supporting the continuing professional development of 47,000 doctors, and supporting health system innovations nationwide. To find out more, please visit royalcollege.ca.

The College of Family Physicians of Canada (CFPC) represents more than 34,000 members across the country. It is the professional organization responsible for establishing standards for the training and certification of family physicians. The CFPC reviews and accredits continuing professional development programs and materials that enable family physicians to meet certification and licencing requirements and lifelong learning interests. It also accredits postgraduate family medicine training in Canada’s 17 medical schools. The College provides quality services, supports family medicine teaching and research, and advocates on behalf of family physicians and the specialty of family medicine.

The Canadian Medical Association (CMA) is the national voice of Canadian physicians. Founded in 1867, the CMA is a voluntary professional organization representing more than 80,000 of Canada’s physicians and comprising 12 provincial and territorial medical associations and 60 national medical organizations. CMA’s mission is helping physicians care for patients. The CMA will be the leader in engaging and serving physicians and be the national voice for the highest standards for health and health care.

TVN is Canada’s network for frail elderly care solutions. Funded in part by the Government of Canada through the Networks of Centres of Excellence, we partner with health care providers, universities, the private sector and community agencies to support research, study medical technologies, share knowledge and train care professionals to improve frail elderly care practices and outcomes across all settings of care.

Connexion

Un sondage national sur la médecine palliative fait ressortir des priorités pour améliorer l’accès aux soins

Calgary (Alb.), le 28 mai 2015 – Le tout premier sondage national réalisé auprès des médecins qui prodiguent des soins palliatifs au Canada fournit des orientations fondamentales visant à améliorer l’accès aux services de soins palliatifs pour tous les Canadiens.

Les réponses de 1114 médecins de partout au Canada qui prodiguent des soins palliatifs ont été recueillies. Le sondage a été mené par la Société canadienne des médecins de soins palliatifs (SCMSP), l’Association médicale canadienne (AMC), le Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada (Collège royal), le Collège des médecins de famille du Canada (CMFC) et le Technology Evaluation in the Elderly Network (TVN).

Faits saillants

  • Pour la grande majorité (84 %) des médecins qui offrent des services de soins palliatifs, il ne s’agit pas de leur domaine de pratique principal.
  • Les médecins de famille avec pratique ciblée en médecine palliative et les spécialistes du domaine (16 % des répondants) ont dit prodiguer des soins palliatifs en moyenne 36 heures par semaine. Pour leur part, les médecins qui prodiguent ces soins dans le cadre d’autres responsabilités cliniques (84 % des répondants) ont dit le faire en moyenne 7 heures par semaine.
  • Parmi les médecins en soins palliatifs, 78 % ont dit ne pas soigner d’enfants; par ailleurs, seulement 50 % des répondants ont indiqué avoir accès à des services spécialisés en soins palliatifs pédiatriques.
  • À peine 35 % des médecins en soins palliatifs de régions rurales et éloignées ont dit avoir accès à des équipes spécialisées, comparativement à 79 % des médecins en milieu urbain. En outre, 49 % des médecins en soins palliatifs des régions urbaines ont indiqué que des soins de santé à domicile sont offerts par des voies officielles aux patients qui souhaitent mourir à la maison, comparativement à 30 % des médecins des régions rurales.

Principales conclusions :

  • Le Canada a besoin d’une main-d’œuvre adéquate en médecine palliative. Les médecins qui offrent des services de soins palliatifs doivent être formés et évalués de façon appropriée afin qu’ils respectent les normes de soins les plus élevées. Ils doivent disposer de ressources pour faire le travail, y compris de l'appui des membres des professions paramédicales dans des équipes interdisciplinaires, l’accès à des lits et des services hospitaliers, des horaires en dehors des heures normales et des moyens de soutien, des appuis et des services communautaires.
  • Les fournisseurs de soins primaires ont besoin de plus de soutien en matière d’éducation et de formation sur les soins palliatifs. Les programmes de soins palliatifs ont visé avant tout les soins primaires en espérant que beaucoup de médecins de famille se chargeront de la gestion nécessaire des symptômes au jour-le-jour. Il faut accorder à ce groupe un appui adéquat, sous forme tant de ressources que de rémunération, afin qu’il puisse continuer de croître pour répondre aux besoins des patients sur le plan de la santé.
  • Il est essentiel de faire de la médecine palliative une discipline réellement distincte pour mieux répondre aux besoins complexes des patients. En effet, il faut faire progresser cette discipline : les universités et les facultés de médecine doivent y accorder de l’importance, y réserver du temps et imposer d’autres exigences afin d’encourager son expansion dans le monde universitaire et d’améliorer notre façon de prendre soin des patients atteints de maladies au stade avancé ou incurables dont le décès est inévitable.
  • Le Canada doit veiller au respect de normes minimales en médecine palliative. Il faut créer des normes nationales de pratique comportant des orientations sur les soins interdisciplinaires, les heures de présence, etc. Il faut suivre des stratégies différentes pour les milieux ruraux et urbains afin de répondre aux besoins de la population d’une façon réaliste, mais appropriée. Il importe que la planification des effectifs dans toutes les administrations tienne compte de l’effectif des soins palliatifs, y compris des médecins et des autres professionnels de la santé qui jouent un rôle dans cette discipline.

Citations

« Ce sondage n’a pas été conçu dans le but de dénombrer les médecins en soins palliatifs : il visait plutôt à caractériser les types de médecins qui prodiguent ces soins et à déterminer leurs façons de faire ainsi que la formation et le cheminement qui ont permis à chacun d’acquérir les compétences dont il dispose dans ce domaine, explique la Dre Susan MacDonald, présidente de la SCMSP. Nous voulons nous servir de ces données en vue d’améliorer la qualité des soins et, plus important encore, leur accès, qui constitue un problème de taille partout au Canada. »

« Tous les Canadiens qui en ont besoin méritent d’avoir accès à des soins palliatifs de qualité dans des délais raisonnables, confie Kevin Imrie, MD, FRCPC, président du Collège royal. La demande de soins palliatifs ne fera qu’augmenter au cours des années à venir; nous devons faire en sorte que des médecins soient disponibles pour prendre soin des patients en fin de vie et qu’ils soient formés adéquatement et disposent des ressources nécessaires pour le faire. »

« Le Collège des médecins de famille du Canada se réjouit de l’arrivée de ces précieuses données, qui étayent l’idée selon laquelle il faut accorder une attention accrue aux soins palliatifs dans la formation complète des médecins de famille, dit Garey Mazowita, MD, CCFP, FCFP, président du CMFC. Les nouveaux certificats de compétence supplémentaire permettront de reconnaître cet important domaine de compétence acquis par les médecins de famille pour répondre aux besoins croissants de leurs patients, de leurs collègues et de leur communauté. »

« Il s’agit du premier sondage national détaillé sur la médecine palliative au Canada, et nous ne voulons pas qu’il s’agisse du dernier, indique le Dr Chris Simpson, président de l’AMC. Nous devons utiliser ces nouvelles connaissances pour agir et garantir l’accès à des soins palliatifs de grande qualité pour tous les Canadiens qui en ont besoin, peu importe la région où ils habitent. »

« Nous disposons maintenant de données de référence qui nous permettront d’effectuer des analyses approfondies, d’élaborer des questions de recherche et d’orienter les politiques, la pratique et la planification de la main-d’œuvre. Le tout se traduira par une amélioration de l’accès aux soins palliatifs pour l’ensemble des Canadiens. Le vrai travail ne fait que commencer », dit le Dr John Muscedere, directeur scientifique du Technology Evaluation in the Elderly Network.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements ou pour organiser une entrevue, veuillez communiquer avec les personnes suivantes :

Kim Taylor, directrice générale, Société canadienne des médecins de soins palliatifs
Courriel :ed@cspcp.ca
Cellulaire : 778 230-2741

Jayne Johnston, responsable des communications, Collège des médecins de famille du Canada
Téléphone : 905 629-0900, poste 303
Courriel : jjohnston@cfpc.ca

Dominique Jolicoeur, Service des communications de l’AMC
Courriel : Dominique.jolicoeur@cma.ca
Téléphone : 613 731-8610, poste 2038
Cellulaire : 613 809-5669

Tom McMillan, spécialiste principal en communications,
Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada
Téléphone : 613 730-8177, poste 474

Denis Abbott, APR
TVN – Réseau canadien pour l’amélioration des soins aux aînés fragiles
Courriel : denis@tvn-nce.ca
Téléphone : 613 549-6666, poste 6209

La Société canadienne des médecins de soins palliatifs (SCMSP) est une association qui représente plus de 350 médecins membres. Cliniciens, universitaires et chercheurs, nous sommes voués à la promotion de l’accès à des soins palliatifs de qualité pour tous les Canadiens par la représentation, les partenariats et l’éducation des médecins.

Le Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada est le point d'ancrage de la médecine spécialisée au Canada. Il définit les normes en matière de formation médicale postdoctorale, appuie le développement professionnel continu de 47 000 médecins et favorise l’innovation dans le système de santé à la grandeur du pays. Pour en savoir davantage, rendez-vous à collegeroyal.ca.

Le Collège des médecins de famille du Canada (CMFC) représente plus de 34 000 membres d’un bout à l’autre du pays. Il s’agit de l’organisme professionnel responsable d’établir les normes de formation et de certification des médecins de famille. Le CMFC se charge de l’examen et de l’agrément des programmes et documents de développement professionnel continu qui permettent aux médecins de famille de satisfaire aux exigences de la certification et de l’obtention du permis d’exercice, et à leur apprentissage continu. Il se charge également de l’agrément des programmes de formation postdoctorale en médecine familiale offerts dans les 17 facultés de médecine du Canada. De plus, le Collège offre des services de qualité, appuie l’enseignement et la recherche en médecine familiale et défend les intérêts des médecins de famille et de la spécialité de médecine familiale.

L’Association médicale canadienne (AMC) est le porte-parole national des médecins du Canada. Fondée en 1867, l’AMC est un organisme professionnel sans but lucratif qui représente plus de 80 000 médecins du Canada et réunit 12 associations médicales provinciales et territoriales et 60 organisations médicales nationales. L’AMC a pour mission d’aider les médecins à prendre soin des patients. L’AMC exercera son leadership pour mobiliser et servir les médecins, et elle agira en qualité de porte-parole national pour défendre les normes les plus élevées en matière de santé et de soins de santé.

TVN est le réseau canadien qui se consacre à la recherche de solutions pour les aînés fragiles. Financé en partie par le gouvernement du Canada par l’entremise des Réseaux de centres d’excellence, le TVN s’associe à des fournisseurs de soins de santé, à des universités, au secteur privé et à des organismes communautaires pour appuyer la recherche, étudier les technologies médicales, transmettre des connaissances et former des professionnels de la santé afin d’améliorer les pratiques de soins aux aînés fragiles ainsi que les résultats pour ces derniers dans l’ensemble des milieux de soins.