Sign In

New chair in military mental health named after former CMA president

A new Chair in Military Mental Health has been created by the Canadian Armed Forces and named after a former Canadian Medical Association (CMA) president and founding president of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada.

Both the “CF Brigadier Jonathan C. Meakins … Chair in Military Mental Health” and creation of a national Canadian Military and Veterans Mental Health Centre of Excellence at the Royal Ottawa Mental Health Centre (The Royal) were announced recently in Ottawa.

These initiatives followed word in November that the federal government will provide $200 million to address mental health issues among members of the Canadian Forces, veterans and their families.

“More must be done to combat mental illness in support of the Canadian Forces,” Defence Minister Rob Nicholson said during a news conference announcing that funding.

“We are pleased to see this commitment by the federal government to making more mental health resources available to members of the armed forces,” said CMA President Chris Simpson.

“We are also honoured that the work of former CMA president Jonathan Meakins, who was a pioneer in researching post-traumatic stress disorder during the First World War, is being acknowledged in this way.”

Colonel Rakesh Jetly, a senior Forces psychiatrist and mental health advisor to the Surgeon General, has been appointed the first occupant of Chair in Military Mental Health, for a period of three years.

The Canadian Military and Veterans Mental Health Centre of Excellence, established within the Canadian Forces Health Services Group in collaboration with Veterans Affairs Canada, will conduct research on unique aspects of military and veterans mental health as well as education and clinical care.

“Mental health is an issue that affects us all. Members who are battling mental illness have greater access to specialized care than ever before and these initiatives demonstrate that our government is committed to providing the best care available to our men and women in uniform,” Nicholson said in a release at the time of the announcement.

“Through this new collaboration, we believe we will be able to help more soldiers recover from debilitating psychological injuries and get their lives back. As one of the country’s foremost academic mental health care and science centres, we look forward to improving care by advancing new research in post-traumatic stress disorder and building better understanding of military and veteran mental health issues,” stated George Weber, president & CEO of The Royal, in the same release.

The Department of National Defence and the Canadian Armed Forces also announced an additional $16.7 million in ongoing funds to support members of the Forces, veterans and their families.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Une nouvelle chaire en santé mentale chez les militaires nommée en l’honneur d’un ancien président de l’AMC

Les Forces armées canadiennes ont créé une nouvelle chaire en santé mentale chez les militaires et l’ont nommée en l’honneur de Jonathan Meakins, un ancien président de l’Association médicale canadienne et président fondateur du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada.

L’annonce de la création de la « Chaire des FC Brigadier Jonathan C. Meakins en santé mentale chez les militaires » a été faite simultanément à l’annonce de la création du Centre d’excellence national en matière de santé mentale chez les militaires et les vétérans, en partenariat avec l’hôpital Royal Ottawa.

Ces initiatives suivent l’annonce faite par le gouvernement fédéral en novembre, selon laquelle il allouera 200 millions de dollars sur six ans afin de donner suite aux problèmes de santé mentale chez les membres des Forces armées.

« Il faut faire plus pour lutter contre la maladie mentale chez les membres des Forces armées canadiennes », a dit le ministre de la Défense Rob Nicholson lors de la conférence de presse annonçant ce financement.

« Nous sommes ravis que le gouvernement fédéral alloue plus de ressources en santé mentale aux membres des Forces armées canadiennes », a dit le président de l’AMC Chris Simpson.

« Nous sommes également honorés que le travail de l’ancien président de l’AMC Jonathan Meakins, qui fut un pionnier de la recherche sur le trouble de stress post-traumatique pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, soit ainsi reconnu. »

Le colonel Rakesh Jetly, psychiatre principal des Forces armées et conseiller en santé mentale auprès du Médecin général, a été nommé premier président de la chaire en santé mentale chez les militaires pour une période de trois ans.

Le Centre d’excellence national en matière de santé mentale chez les militaires et les vétérans, qui sera chapeauté par le Groupe des Services de santé des Forces canadiennes en collaboration avec Anciens Combattants Canada, fera de la recherche sur les aspects particuliers de la santé mentale des militaires et des vétérans et offrira des services éducatifs et de soins cliniques.

« La santé mentale est un enjeu qui nous préoccupe tous. Les militaires qui combattent une maladie mentale ont un meilleur accès aux soins spécialisés que jamais auparavant et ces initiatives démontrent que notre gouvernement a la volonté de fournir les meilleurs soins possible aux hommes et aux femmes en uniforme », a dit le ministre Nicholson dans un communiqué diffusé lors de l’annonce.

« Dans le cadre de cette nouvelle collaboration, nous croyons que nous serons en mesure d’aider plus de soldats à se rétablir de blessures psychologiques débilitantes et à reprendre leur vie comme avant. À titre de l’un des meilleurs centres de sciences et de santé universitaires en matière de santé mentale, nous sommes enthousiastes à l’idée d’améliorer les soins en poursuivant la recherche sur le trouble de stress post-traumatique et d’acquérir une meilleure compréhension des problèmes de santé mentale chez les militaires et les vétérans », a souligné George Weber, le président-directeur général du Royal, dans le même communiqué.

Le ministère de la Défense nationale et les Forces armées canadiennes ont annoncé un financement additionnel de 16,7 millions de dollars afin de soutenir les membres des Forces armées, les vétérans et leur famille.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.