Sign In

New CMA course helps FPs assess children with learning difficulties

The Canadian Medical Association is offering an online course to help family physicians assess and manage children with learning difficulties.

The two-hour accredited course (available only to CMA members) is presented by a team of clinical experts from the University of Alberta and the Glenrose Rehabilitation Hospital, Edmonton, and McMaster University, Hamilton, Ont.

About 10% of children are estimated to be experiencing difficulty in school at any one time, and the prevalence of attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) and other clinical disorders is around 10% or higher in some regions.

Family physicians need to have the knowledge and skills to support these children, particularly as the number of cases requiring secondary and tertiary care is growing. This can lead to long wait times and negatively affect children who are struggling academically and socially.

Using a case-based format, the course is designed to support the family physician in the development of skills for the initial assessment and management of children who present in a primary care setting.

This involves taking a focused history, identifying physical factors that may be contributing to the child’s problems and efficiently measuring behaviour and academic skills.

The course provides a step-by-step path, using two common clinical presentations of children whose chief complaint is “trouble in school.”

The main learning objectives are: to help family physicians recognize the role of the physician in the continuum of care, when a child presents with difficulty in school; to explore differing levels of involvement in the management of such a child’s care and development.

On course completion, a learner will be able to identify the differential diagnosis for learning and attention problems in a school-aged child, describe evidence-based interventions for uncomplicated ADHD and outline an initial plan for intervention — including writing a basic case formulation that can be given to parents and/or school and collaborating with school personnel.

Completion of the course is eligible for two MainPro–M1 credits from the College of Family Physicians of Canada and two Maintenance of Certification credits (Section 1) from the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Un nouveau cours de l’AMC aide les MF à évaluer les enfants qui éprouvent des difficultés d’apprentissage

L’Association médicale canadienne offre un cours en ligne afin d’aider les médecins de famille à évaluer et à prendre en charge les enfants qui éprouvent des difficultés d’apprentissage.

Ce cours agréé de deux heures (réservé aux membres de l’AMC) est offert par une équipe d’experts cliniciens de l’Université de l’Alberta et de l’hôpital de réadaptation Glenrose, à Edmonton, ainsi que de l’Université McMaster, à Hamilton, en Ontario.

On estime qu’environ 10 % des enfants éprouvent des difficultés à l’école à un moment ou un autre. La prévalence du trouble d’hyperactivité avec déficit de l’attention (THADA) et d’autres troubles cliniques est d’environ 10 % ou plus dans certaines régions.

Les médecins de famille doivent avoir les connaissances et les compétences requises pour aider ces enfants, surtout à la lumière du fait que le nombre de cas nécessitant des soins secondaires et tertiaires augmente. Cela peut entraîner de longs temps d’attente et avoir des répercussions négatives sur les enfants qui éprouvent des difficultés sur les plans scolaire et social.

Ce cours, fondé sur des études de cas, vise à aider les médecins de famille à acquérir les compétences nécessaires pour l’évaluation initiale et la prise en charge des enfants envoyés en consultation en soins primaires.

Les médecins doivent notamment pouvoir faire un historique ciblé, repérer les dimensions physiques qui peuvent contribuer aux problèmes de l’enfant et évaluer efficacement le comportement et les aptitudes scolaires.

Le cours propose une démarche par étapes, abordant deux tableaux cliniques courants des enfants qui présentent « des difficultés à l’école ».

Les principaux objectifs d’apprentissage consistent à aider les médecins de famille à reconnaître leur rôle dans le continuum des soins quand ils examinent un enfant qui rencontre des difficultés à l’école, et à envisager les divers degrés d’intervention pour la prise en charge et le développement de l’enfant.

Après avoir suivi le cours, les médecins pourront poser les diagnostics différentiels des problèmes d’apprentissage et d’attention chez les enfants d’âge scolaire, décrire les interventions factuelles pour les cas de THADA non compliqués, et élaborer un plan d’intervention initial, ce qui comprend la rédaction d’une description sommaire de cas destinée aux parents ou à l’école, et la collaboration avec le personnel scolaire.

Le cours donne droit à deux crédits MainPro–M1 du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada et à deux crédits de Maintien du certificat (Section 1) du Collège royal des médecins et chirurgiens du Canada.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.