Sign In

New Medical Assistance in Dying educational offering for physicians

A new educational offering focused on medical aid in dying is now available for physicians. Designed to assist physicians as they build skills and competencies related to medical assistance in dying, the course is a collaboration between CMA and its new subsidiary, Joule, and represents the culmination of years of work and consultation with physicians.

The program is built in two components to help Canadian physicians understand and respond appropriately to the end-of-life care wishes of their patients, and prepare them for evaluating whether medical assistance in dying is right for their medical practice.

The first component is a 90-minute online foundational module focused on what is involved in a medical assistance in dying request. Participants can also interact through a moderated discussion board and consult an expert through the Ask the Expert function within the course. The online module is free for CMA members and priced at $299 for non-members.

A pilot advanced face to face course will be offered this fall in Vancouver and Toronto and will feature training from a variety of experts in the fields of ethics, palliative care, psychiatry and the CMPA and includes a session with a Dutch physician who will share his experiences with medical assistance in dying (assisted dying has been regulated in the Netherlands since 2002). The online module is a prerequisite for the advanced face-to-face course.

The online course, exclusive to the CMA/Joule, is accredited by the CFPC and RCPSC. For more information, please contact education@cma.ca or consult our FAQs.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Nouvelle formation sur l’aide médicale à mourir offerte aux médecins

Un nouveau programme de formation sur l’aide médicale à mourir est maintenant offert aux médecins. Le programme, qui vise à appuyer les médecins dans leur acquisition du savoir et des compétences nécessaires en matière d’aide médicale à mourir, est une collaboration de l’AMC et de sa nouvelle filiale, Joule, et représente le point culminant de nombreuses années de travail et de consultation des médecins.

Le programme est conçu en deux volets pour aider les médecins du Canada à comprendre les désirs de leurs patients en fin de vie et à y répondre de façon appropriée. Il permet également aux médecins de mieux se préparer pour évaluer l’opportunité d’intégrer l’aide à mourir dans leur pratique médicale.

Le premier volet consiste en un module de base offert en ligne, d’une durée de 90 minutes, où l’on expose aux médecins les éléments d’une demande d’aide à mourir. Les participants ont aussi la possibilité d’interagir par le biais d’un babillard où les discussions sont animées et de consulter des spécialistes au moyen de la fonction « Demandez à un expert » intégrée au cours. Le module en ligne est gratuit pour les membres de l’AMC, tandis que les non-membres doivent débourser 299 $.

Un cours magistral approfondi sera offert cet automne à Vancouver et à Toronto. La formation, qui sera donnée par une brochette d’experts en éthique et déontologie, en soins palliatifs et en psychiatrie, ainsi que par des membres de l’ACPM, comporte une séance donnée par un médecin néerlandais qui parlera de son expérience de l’aide médicale à mourir (autorisée par la loi aux Pays-Bas depuis 2002). Le module en ligne est un préalable au cours magistral approfondi.

Le cours en ligne, une exclusivité AMC–Joule, a reçu l’agrément du CMFC et du CRMCC. Pour obtenir des renseignements complémentaires, veuillez nous écrire à education@cma.ca ou consulter les FAQ (en anglais).

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.