Sign In

In Memoriam

As a unique service for CMA members and their families, the CMA regularly publishes notices of deceased members.

Please send notices to inmemoriam@cma.ca.

November, 2017

Abbott, Edith, Oro Station, Ont.; University of Toronto, 1945; psychiatry. Died April 9, 2017, aged 96.

Ahmad, Mohammad M., Didsbury, Alta.; Khyber Medical College (Pakistan), 1964. Died Sept. 28, 2017, aged 78. Survived by his wife Christine. A friend wrote: “A wonderful doctor, gifted surgeon, kind and generous human being.”

Asche, Gerd A., Hope, BC; Friedrich Wilhelm University (West Germany), 1951; family medicine. Died Sept. 18, 2017, aged 97. Survived by a daughter and 3 grandchildren. “Dr. Gerd was a long-time member of the Hope community who started practising medicine in the 1950s. He was very active and especially enjoyed flying his airplanes, and he also lent his skills to the aviation authorities as an aviation medical examiner. During his retirement years he was very involved as a writer, and published a number of books.”

Beeston, Chris M., Brandon, Man.; Ireland; family medicine; head, emergency medicine, Brandon Regional Health Centre (BRHC). Died of prostate cancer Oct. 1, 2017, aged 43. Survived by his wife Stacey and 3 children. “The family asks that those attending Chris’s service dress in casual attire or Beestonstrong shirts. Children, on-call doctors, pagers and radios are all welcome. Chris lived life to the fullest extent, cherished each moment, and would encourage everyone to do the same. He would ask that we lead with kindness in everything we do.” An ultrasound technician wrote: “I knew Dr. Beeston through the Diagnostic Imaging Department at the BRHC. He came over on numerous occasions and asked, ‘Are you able to fit in an ultrasound for this patient?’, and then he would launch into a very detailed clinical history. We usually replied, ‘Absolutely, Dr. Beeston, what is the patient’s name so we can be ready for the requisition?’ He would look down at his jeans that had several patient identification stickers on them, and pick them off one by one until he found the correct one and presented it to us! It was a small thing, but it made me chuckle every time.”

Burt, John C., Prince Albert, Sask.; University of London (England), 1954; family medicine. Died Sept. 14, 2017, aged 89. Survived by his wife Pamela, 4 children, 10 grandchildren and 8 great-grandchildren. “John was a family physician for 40 years. He served as chief of staff at the Victoria Hospital in Prince Albert and as president of the Saskatchewan College of Physicians and Surgeons. In 1993, he was named Physician of the Year.”

Calder, Thomas L., West Vancouver; McGill University, 1953. Died Sept. 15, 2017, aged 89, after complications from a stroke. Survived by 4 children and 3 grandchildren. “After medical school Tom moved to West Vancouver, where he practised medicine for 47 years. Dr. Tom’s busy practice was old-style, full-service medicine with house calls, deliveries, surgery, hospital rounds and care of all ages, including a tender focus on the elderly. Tom loved and lived medicine, and was a respected member of the medical staff at Lions Gate Hospital until his retirement in 2000. His other passion was music. He never walked anywhere without humming or whistling like a one-man marching band. His ‘Doctors’ Band,’ which comprised retired physicians, played for nursing home residents throughout the year, with some band members older than the audience.”

Cree, David, Caledonia, Ont.; University of Glasgow (Scotland), 1971; family medicine. Died July 21, 2017, aged 70. Survived by his partner Irene, ex-wife Elaine, 2 children and 2 granddaughters. “In 1981 he and his family arrived in Caledonia, Ont., where he practised family medicine until 1990. He earned a clinical behavioural sciences diploma in 1992, co-led male-survivor-of-sexual-abuse groups beginning in late 1990, and began treating survivors of sexual abuse in 1992. Later he developed a special interest in psychotherapy and began practising full-time GP psychotherapy in 2000. He continued to do so until November 2015, when he retired due to illness. He was also interested in the politics of health care, and was chair of the Ontario Medical Association for 10 years. David believed in equal rights for all people, regardless of class, race, religion, sexual orientation or gender.”

Emson, Harry E., Saskatoon; Oxford University (England), 1952; Royal Army Medical Corps; general pathology; past president, Canadian Association of Pathologists. Died Oct. 17, 2017, aged 89. Survived by 2 children and a grandson. “Harry came to Saskatoon in 1956, and was director of laboratories at St. Paul’s Hospital from 1960 to 1975. From 1975 to 1990 he was professor and head of the Department of Pathology in the College of Medicine of the University of Saskatchewan, and head of pathology at the University Hospital. He also taught in medical ethics and served as chair of the Committee on General Pathology for the Royal College.” A former neighbour recalled: “When we were kids and our parents were going away, my mother would take care to point to the list of contacts she’d recorded, in case of emergency. Then she’d turn to us and say, ‘But, if you’re in trouble, real trouble, call Harry.’ ”

Feore, Dermot R., St. John’s, Nfld.; University College of Cork (Ireland), 1955; diagnostic radiology. Died Oct. 7, 2017, aged 88. Survived by his wife Elaine, 7 children, 14 grandchildren, a great-grandchild, and his first wife, Sarah Dowling Feore. “Dermot practised medicine as a radiologist for 54 years and retired, reluctantly, at the age of 80. He loved and cherished his many friends, and nothing gave him greater pleasure than to spend hours with them around a piano or a table, glass in hand.”

Gilmour, George R., Prince Albert, Sask.; University of Glasgow (Scotland), 1963; ophthalmology. Died Sept. 27, 2017, aged 80. Survived by his wife Margaret, 3 children and 7 grandchildren. “George and his family came to Prince Albert in 1968, and he practised there and in many communities in the North until 2011. He was a past president of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Saskatchewan and former chief of staff at the Holy Family Hospital. He was also an avid and loyal fan of the Saskatchewan Roughriders.”

Heyworth, James R., Sechelt, BC; University of British Columbia (UBC), 1968. Died Sept. 1, 2017, aged 79. “Jim graduated from UBC in electrical engineering in 1961 and worked as a communications engineer in Montréal until entering UBC medical school in 1964. He completed his internship in 1969 and joined the medical staff at St. Paul’s Hospital in Vancouver in 1973. He remained there as head of biomedical engineering until his retirement in 1991. He was a member of both the College of Physicians and Surgeons of British Columbia and the Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of British Columbia.”

Hillier, Mark R., Vancouver; University of British Columbia, 1987. Died Sept. 17, 2017, aged 61.

Logan, Lawther (Pat), Calgary; Royal Navy, WW II; McGill University, 1950; internal medicine, cardiology. Died Sept. 21, 2017, aged 94. Survived by his wife Joan, 3 children and 4 grandchildren. “Pat arrived in Calgary in 1956 and established the first cardiology practice in the city. He continued this work for over 35 years, and was much loved by patients for his conscientious and compassionate care. Pat also established the Intensive Care Unit at the Calgary General Hospital, where he was also director of cardiology.” A colleague wrote: “The Heart & Stroke Foundation is so grateful to Dr. Logan for his leadership as a cardiologist in Calgary and as a founding director of the Heart Foundation in Alberta.”

Lombard, Bartholomeus, de Winton, Alta.; South Africa, 1989. Died Sept. 21, 2017, aged 51.

Longden, Douglas E., Arundel, UK; Cambridge University (England), 1954. Died Sept. 30, 2017, aged 91.

Manswell, Clyde B., Winnipeg; University of Ghent (Belgium), 1972; psychiatry. Died Oct. 14, 2017, aged 81. Survived by his wife Irene, 4 children and 6 grandchildren. “Clyde obtained his medical degree in Belgium in 1972 and completed his specialty training in psychiatry in Winnipeg in 1976. He was a dedicated psychiatrist in Winnipeg for over 30 years, providing his patients not only with sound advice but also with a part of his generous heart. He participated in clinical studies, taught psychiatry at the University of Manitoba, and authored 2 books.”

Millar, Leslie P., Winnipeg; University of Glasgow (Scotland), 1954. Died Sept. 16, 2017, aged 90. Survived by 4 daughters, 13 grandchildren and 6 great-grandchildren. “Leslie joined the air force as a young man and reached the rank of sergeant. He was a parachutist instructor who logged over 60 jumps. After his military service, Leslie became a physician and practised for over 20 years. He retired at age 52 to become an artist, graduating in fine arts from the University of Manitoba in 1985. His own and his daughters’ homes are filled with his colourful and wonderful larger-than-life paintings.”

Mitchell, James R., Winnipeg; University of Manitoba, 1943; obstetrics and gynecology. Died Sept. 14, 2017, aged 97. Survived by 4 daughters, 8 grandchildren and 5 great-grandchildren. “Jim graduated just in time to head off and serve at the tail end of WW II. Last November ‘Grandpa’ was the featured speaker at his great-granddaughter Rachel’s class show and tell, and he captivated the Grade 2 audience with stories of his time as a medical officer in England and Belgium. After the war, Jim and Catherine settled in Fort Garry in Winnipeg. It was the cusp of the baby boom, and Jim determined that following his father’s footsteps into obstetrics and gynecology was a worthy path. There are many in Winnipeg who credit him with bringing their babies into the world. In 2000, the Canadian Medical Association awarded Jim a lifetime achievement award to recognize his contributions to the medical profession, both as a practitioner and as associate professor in the University of Manitoba’s Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology.”

Murray, Eric J., Innisfil, Ont.; University of Toronto, 1949; family medicine. Died Oct. 8, 2017, aged 95. Survived by 4 children, 8 grandchildren and 7 great-grandchildren. “Eric was former director of the Professional Service Branch, Health Insurance Division, Ontario Ministry of Health.”

Rebbeck, Patricia M., Vancouver; University of Edinburgh (Scotland), 1959; general surgery. Died Sept. 22, 2017, aged 82. “After graduating in Scotland, Pat interned in Montréal before moving to Vancouver and accomplishing her goal of becoming a surgeon, gravitating towards breast cancer and melanoma surgery. Of note, Pat became the first female surgical resident in Vancouver and the fourth female to be certified in general surgery in Canada. Pat also taught medical students and surgical residents throughout her career, and served on the BC Medical Journal Editorial Board for 27 years. After arthritis in her hands forced Pat from active surgery, she became a deputy registrar at the College of Physicians and Surgeons of BC.”

Rhodes, John R., Waterloo, Ont.; University of Western Ontario, 1955; diagnostic radiology. Died Oct. 8, 2017, aged 88. Survived by his first wife, Muriel, 3 children, 2 stepchildren, 5 grandchildren and 9 step-grandchildren. “After graduating he spent a year in family practice in Oshawa, Ont., then returned to Victoria Hospital in London, Ont., to specialize in diagnostic radiology. He came to Kitchener-Waterloo and the KW Hospital in 1960, and in 1965 he opened his first of a series of private X-ray clinics in Kitchener and Waterloo.”

Richards, Robert T., Langley, BC; University of Western Ontario, 1962; obstetrics and gynecology. Died Sept. 15, 2017, aged 78.

Roth, Nathan. Waterloo, Ont.; Queen’s University, 2015; resident, emergency medicine. Died following a paddle-boarding accident Sept. 19, 2017, aged 29. Survived by his wife Kristy, his parents and a sister. The Queen’s University medical school commented: “You have lost a loving husband, son and brother, his classmates have lost a loyal and inspiring colleague, and the world has lost a caring and committed physician.”

Royle, Norman D. (Derek), Kelowna, BC; Victoria University of Manchester (England), 1955; obstetrics and gynecology. Died Sept. 19, 2017, aged 88. Survived by his wife Ilva, 4 children, 7 grandchildren and a great-granddaughter. “As a busy obstetrician Derek worked long hours looking after his patients, and he welcomed many a baby to Kelowna during his long career. During this time he trained as a colposcopist, and he continued to offer this important service after retiring from regular office practice in 1991. He enjoyed the final years of his medical career as a surgical assistant, and retired completely in 2002.”

So, Yan P., New Westminster, BC; University of British Columbia, 1958. Died Sept. 22, 2017, aged 85.

Taylor, Hugh, Winnipeg; University of Manitoba, 1957; pediatrics; past president, Canadian Paediatric Society. Died Sept. 30, 2017, aged 86. Survived by 2 children and 5 grandchildren. “After training Hugh returned to Winnipeg in 1964, where he joined the Department of Pediatrics at the Manitoba Clinic and became famous for his jellybean jar and bushy eyebrows and had the privilege of caring for countless infants and children over his 40-year career. Hugh was also active in teaching at the University of Manitoba and served as president of the Winnipeg Children’s Hospital.” A former patient recalled: “I still remember how he was able to make the first shots I had quick and painless by making me count backwards as fast as I could. During my countdown he stuck me with the needle, and I didn’t even notice. No one could ask for a better doctor.”

Trupp, Howard C., Brantford, Ont.; University of Toronto, 1953; psychiatry. Died Oct. 2, 2017, aged 88. Survived by 2 children and 2 grandchildren. “Howard received his training at the University of Toronto and practised in Brantford for many years.”

Vallely, John F., London, Ont.; University of Western Ontario, 1972; urology. Died Oct. 14, 2017, aged 70. Survived by his wife Susan and 2 children. “John retired in 2008 from a distinguished career as a urologist, both in surgery and in teaching in London.”

Wightman, Patricia A., Winnipeg; University of Manitoba, 1956; psychiatry. Died Sept. 18, 2017, aged 85. Survived by her husband Clive, 4 children, 11 grandchildren and 2 great-grandchildren. “After graduating, Pat practised anesthesia until 1978. She then made a significant career change and started studying psychiatry. She obtained her fellowship in 1982 and practised psychiatry at the Health Sciences Centre in Winnipeg until her retirement in June 2017. In the course of her career she received awards from the Schizophrenia Society and the Mood Disorder Association, and in 2014 she was made an honorary member of the Canadian Medical Association.”

Connexion

Avis de décès

L'AMC offre un service de publication d'avis de décès de ses membres. Prière d'envoyer les avis à l'adresse necrologie@cma.ca.

Novembre, 2017

Abbott, Edith, Oro Station (Ont.); Université de Toronto, 1945; psychiatrie. Décédée le 9 avril 2017 à l’âge de 96 ans.

Ahmad, Mohammad M., Didsbury (Alb.); Collège médical Khyber (Pakistan), 1964. Décédé le 28 septembre 2017 à l’âge de 78 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Christine. Un ami a écrit : « Un excellent docteur, un chirurgien talentueux, un être humain bon et généreux. »

Asche, Gerd A., Hope (C.-B.); Université Friedrich Wilhelms (Allemagne), 1951; médecine familiale. Décédé le 18 septembre 2017 à l’âge de 97 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil une fille et 3 petits-enfants. « Le Dr Gerd, membre de longue date de la communauté de Hope, a commencé à pratiquer la médecine dans les années 1950. Il était très actif et aimait particulièrement piloter ses avions; il a même mis à profit ses compétences dans ce domaine en devenant examinateur médical de l’aviation civile. Pendant ses années à la retraite, il a été très impliqué en tant qu’auteur et a publié plusieurs livres. »

Beeston, Chris M., Brandon (Man.); École de médecine (Irlande); médecine familiale; médecin-chef, Service des urgences, Centre régional de la santé de Brandon (BRHC). Décédé d’un cancer de la prostate le 1er octobre 2017 à l’âge de 43 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Stacey et 3 enfants. « La famille demande à ceux qui seront présents aux funérailles de porter une tenue décontractée ou un t-shirt “Beestonstrong”. Les enfants, les médecins de garde et les personnes qui portent des téléavertisseurs et des émetteurs-récepteurs sont tous les bienvenus. Chris a profité de la vie au maximum, appréciant chaque petit instant et encourageant tout le monde à en faire autant. Il demandait que nous mettions de la bonté dans tout ce que nous faisions. » Un technicien en ultrason a écrit : « J’ai connu le Dr Beeston au Service d’imagerie diagnostique du BRHC. Il venait souvent nous demander : “Seriez-vous capable de trouver une place pour faire une échographie pour ce patient?”, question qui était suivie d’une explication clinique détaillée. Nous répondions normalement : “Absolument, Dr Beeston, quel est le nom du patient pour que nous soyons prêts pour la requête?” Il regardait alors ses pantalons qui arboraient plusieurs collants d’identification de patients. Il les décollait un à un jusqu’à ce qu’il trouve le bon et nous tende ensuite le bout de papier. C’était un petit détail, mais ça me faisait rire chaque fois. »
 
Burt, John C., Prince Albert (Sask.); Université de Londres (Angleterre), 1954; médecine familiale. Décédé le 14 septembre 2017 à l’âge de 89 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Pamela, 4 enfants, 10 petits-enfants et 8 arrière-petits-enfants. « John a été médecin de famille pendant 40 ans. Il a été chef du personnel à l’Hôpital Victoria de Prince Albert et président du Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de la Saskatchewan. En 1993, il a reçu le titre de Médecin de l’année. »

Calder, Thomas L., West Vancouver (C.-B.); Université McGill, 1953. Décédé le 15 septembre 2017 à l’âge de 89 ans des suites d’un AVC. Il laisse dans le deuil 4 enfants et 3 petits-enfants. « Après la faculté de médecine, Tom s’est installé à West Vancouver où il a pratiqué la médecine pendant 47 ans. Le Dr Tom pratiquait la médecine à l’ancienne : tous les soins médicaux étaient offerts, en plus de consultations à domicile, accouchements, interventions chirurgicales, visites à l’hôpital et soins de patients de tous âges, avec une attention particulière aux personnes âgées. Tom aimait la médecine et vivait pour elle. Il était un membre respecté de l’équipe médicale de l’Hôpital Lions Gate jusqu’à sa retraite en 2000. La musique était son autre passion. Jamais il ne marchait sans fredonner ou siffler un air, c’est comme s’il était une fanfare à lui seul. Son “groupe de musique de docteurs”, composé de médecins retraités, jouait tout au long de l’année dans des résidences pour personnes âgées, et certains membres du groupe étaient plus âgés que leurs auditeurs. »

Cree, David, Caledonia (Ont.); Université de Glasgow (Écosse), 1971; médecine familiale. Décédé le 21 juillet 2017 à l’âge de 70 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil sa compagne Irene, son ex-épouse Elaine, 2 enfants et 2 petites-filles. « En 1981, il est arrivé avec sa famille à Caledonia (Ont.), où il a pratiqué la médecine familiale jusqu’en 1990. En 1992, il a obtenu un diplôme en sciences cliniques du comportement. La même année, il a commencé à soigner des survivants d’abus sexuels et, à la fin des années 1990, il a commencé à codiriger des groupes d’aide aux hommes survivants d’abus sexuels. Plus tard, il a développé un intérêt particulier pour la psychothérapie qu’il s’est mis à pratiquer à temps plein de 2000 à novembre 2015 avant de devoir prendre sa retraite pour cause de maladie. Il s’intéressait aussi aux politiques des soins de santé et a été président de l’Association médicale de l’Ontario pendant 10 ans. David croyait en l’égalité des droits pour tous, peu importe la classe sociale, l’ethnie, la religion, l’orientation sexuelle ou le genre. »

Emson, Harry E., Saskatoon (Sask.); Université d’Oxford (Angleterre), 1952; Corps médical de l’armée royale; pathologie générale; ancien président, Association canadienne des pathologistes. Décédé le 17 octobre 2017 à l’âge de 89 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil 2 enfants et un petit-fils. « Harry est arrivé à Saskatoon en 1956 et a été directeur des laboratoires de l’Hôpital St. Paul’s de 1960 à 1975. De 1975 à 1990, il a été professeur et directeur du Département de pathologie du Collège de médecine de l’Université de Saskatchewan et médecin-chef du Service de pathologie de l’Hôpital universitaire. Il a aussi enseigné l’éthique médicale et a été président du Comité de pathologie générale du Collège royal. » Un ancien voisin se souvient : « Lorsqu’on était enfants et que nos parents s’absentaient, ma mère prenait bien soin de nous montrer la liste de personnes à contacter en cas d’urgence. Elle se tournait ensuite vers nous et disait : “Mais, si vous avez un problème, un vrai problème, appelez Harry”. »

Feore, Dermot R., St. John’s (T.-N.-L.); Collège universitaire de Cork (Irlande), 1955; radiologie diagnostique. Décédé le 7 octobre 2017 à l’âge de 88 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Elaine, 7 enfants, 14 petits-enfants, un arrière-petit-enfant et sa première épouse, Sarah Dowling Feore. « Dermot a été radiologue pendant 54 ans et a ensuite pris sa retraite, à contrecœur, à l’âge de 80 ans. Il aimait et chérissait ses nombreux amis et rien ne lui faisait plus plaisir que de passer des heures avec eux autour d’un piano ou d’une table, un verre à la main. »

Gilmour, George R., Prince Albert (Sask.); Université de Glasgow (Écosse), 1963; ophtalmologie. Décédé le 27 septembre 2017 à l’âge de 80 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Margaret, 3 enfants et 7 petits-enfants. « En 1968, George et sa famille sont arrivés à Prince Albert, ville où il a pratiqué la médecine, en plus de le faire dans plusieurs communautés du Nord, jusqu’en 2011. Il a été président du Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de la Saskatchewan ainsi que chef du personnel de l’Hôpital Holy Family. Il était aussi un partisan passionné et loyal des Roughriders de la Saskatchewan. »

Heyworth, James R., Sechelt (C.-B.); Université de la Colombie-Britannique (UBC), 1968. Décédé le 1er septembre 2017 à l’âge de 79 ans. « Jim a reçu son diplôme en génie électrique de l’UBC en 1961 et a travaillé comme ingénieur des communications à Montréal avant d’entrer à la faculté de médecine de l’UBC en 1964. Il a complété sa résidence en 1969 et s’est joint à l’équipe médicale de l’Hôpital St. Paul’s de Vancouver en 1973. Il est devenu chef du Service de génie biomédical de l’hôpital et est demeuré en poste jusqu’à sa retraite en 1991. Il était membre du Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de la Colombie-Britannique et de l’Association des ingénieurs et géoscientifiques professionnels de la Colombie-Britannique. »

Hillier, Mark R., Vancouver (C.-B.); Université de la Colombie-Britannique, 1987. Décédé le 17 septembre 2017 à l’âge de 61 ans.

Logan, Lawther (Pat), Calgary (Alb.); Marine royale, Seconde Guerre mondiale; Université McGill, 1950; médecine interne, cardiologie. Décédé le 21 septembre 2017 à l’âge de 94 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Joan, 3 enfants et 4 petits-enfants. « Pat est arrivé à Calgary en 1956 et y a installé la première clinique de cardiologie. Il a fait ce travail pendant plus de 35 ans et était très aimé par ses patients pour ses soins diligents et compatissants. Pat a aussi créé l’unité de soins intensifs de l’Hôpital général de Calgary, où il était directeur du Service de cardiologie. » Un collègue a écrit : « La Fondation des maladies du cœur est reconnaissante pour le leadership du Dr Logan en tant que cardiologue à Calgary et en tant que directeur et fondateur de la Fondation des maladies du cœur et de l’AVC de l’Alberta. »

Lombard, Bartholomeus, De Winton (Alb.); Afrique du Sud, 1989. Décédé le 21 septembre 2017 à l’âge de 51 ans.

Longden, Douglas E., Arundel (R.-U.); Université de Cambridge (Angleterre), 1954. Décédé le 30 septembre 2017 à l’âge de 91 ans.

Manswell, Clyde B., Winnipeg (Man.); Université de Gand (Belgique), 1972; psychiatrie. Décédé le 14 octobre 2017 à l’âge de 81 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Irene, 4 enfants et 6 petits-enfants. « Clyde a obtenu son diplôme de médecine en Belgique en 1972 et a complété une spécialisation en psychiatrie à Winnipeg en 1976. Il a été un psychiatre dévoué à Winnipeg pendant plus de 30 ans, offrant à ses patients non seulement des conseils avisés, mais aussi une partie de son cœur si généreux. Il a participé à des études cliniques, a enseigné la psychiatrie à l’Université du Manitoba et a écrit 2 livres. »

Millar, Leslie P., Winnipeg (Man.); Université de Glasgow (Écosse), 1954. Décédé le 16 septembre 2017 à l’âge de 90 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil 4 filles, 13 petits-enfants et 6 arrière-petits-enfants. « Leslie s’est joint à l’armée de l’air lorsqu’il n’était encore qu’un jeune homme et a atteint le grade de sergent. Il était un instructeur de parachutisme et avait plus de 60 sauts à son actif. Après son service militaire, Leslie est devenu médecin, une carrière qu’il a pratiquée pendant plus de 20 ans. Il a pris sa retraite à 52 ans pour devenir un artiste; il a obtenu un diplôme en beaux-arts de l’Université du Manitoba en 1985. Sa maison et celles de ses filles sont remplies de ses magnifiques tableaux hauts en couleur, plus grands que nature. »

Mitchell, James R., Winnipeg (Man.); Université du Manitoba, 1943; obstétrique et gynécologie. Décédé le 14 septembre 2017 à l’âge de 97 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil 4 filles, 8 petits-enfants et 5 arrière-petits-enfants. « Jim a obtenu son diplôme juste à temps pour pouvoir s’engager dans l’armée et servir à la toute fin de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. En novembre dernier, ce “grand-papa” était le conférencier d’honneur de Rachel, son arrière-petite-fille, pour la journée de commentaires pratiques de sa classe de 2e année. Il a captivé l’auditoire en racontant ses histoires de médecin militaire en Angleterre et en Belgique. Après la guerre, Jim et Catherine se sont installés dans le quartier Fort Garry à Winnipeg. C’était à l’aube du “baby-boom” et Jim a réalisé que de suivre les traces de son père en obstétrique et gynécologie serait la bonne chose à faire. Plusieurs personnes de Winnipeg lui sont reconnaissantes de les avoir aidées à mettre au monde leurs enfants. En 2000, l’AMC a décerné à Jim un Prix de l’excellence pour l’ensemble de ses réalisations en reconnaissance de sa contribution à la profession médicale en tant que médecin et en tant que professeur agrégé du Département d’obstétrique et gynécologie de l’Université du Manitoba. »

Murray, Eric J., Innisfil (Ont.); Université de Toronto, 1949; médecine familiale. Décédé le 8 octobre 2017 à l’âge de 95 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil 4 enfants, 8 petits-enfants et 7 arrière-petits-enfants. « Eric a été directeur des Services professionnels, Division de l’assurance-santé, ministère de la Santé de l’Ontario. »

Rebbeck, Patricia M., Vancouver (C.-B.); Université d’Édimbourg (Écosse), 1959; chirurgie générale. Décédée le 22 septembre 2017 à l’âge de 82 ans. « Après avoir obtenu son diplôme en Écosse, Pat a fait un stage à Montréal avant de déménager à Vancouver et d’accomplir son rêve de devenir chirurgienne, s’orientant vers les chirurgies du cancer du sein et du mélanome. Il est important de noter que Pat est devenue la première femme médecin résidente en chirurgie de Vancouver et la quatrième à obtenir son certificat en chirurgie générale au Canada. Pat a aussi enseigné à des étudiants en médecine et à des médecins résidents en chirurgie tout au long de sa carrière et a siégé au comité éditorial du BC Medical Journal pendant 27 ans. Après que son arthrite l’ait forcée à arrêter de pratiquer des chirurgies, Pat est devenue registraire adjointe au Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de la Colombie-Britannique. »

Rhodes, John R., Waterloo (Ont.); Université Western Ontario, 1955; radiologie diagnostique. Décédé le 8 octobre 2017 à l’âge de 88 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil sa première épouse, Muriel, 3 enfants, 2 beaux-enfants, 5 petits-enfants et 9 beaux-petits-enfants. « Après avoir obtenu son diplôme, il a pratiqué la médecine familiale pendant un an à Oshawa (Ont.) avant de retourner à l’Hôpital Victoria de London (Ont.) et de se spécialiser en radiologie diagnostique. Il est arrivé à l’Hôpital de Kitchener-Waterloo en 1960 et, en 1965, il ouvrait la première d’un groupe de cliniques privées de radiographie à Kitchener et à Waterloo. »

Richards, Robert T., Langley (C.-B.); Université Western Ontario, 1962; obstétrique et gynécologie. Décédé le 15 septembre 2017 à l’âge de 78 ans.

Roth, Nathan. Waterloo (Ont.); Université Queen’s, 2015; médecin résident, médecine d’urgence. Décédé d’un accident de planche à pagaie le 19 septembre 2017 à l’âge de 29 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Kristy, ses parents et une sœur. La Faculté de médecine de l’Université Queen’s a dit : « Vous avez perdu un mari aimant, un fils et un frère; ses camarades de classe ont perdu un collègue loyal et inspirant; et le monde, un médecin dévoué et bienveillant. »

Royle, Norman D. (Derek), Kelowna (C.-B.); Université Victoria de Manchester (Angleterre), 1955; obstétrique et gynécologie. Décédé le 19 septembre 2017 à l’âge de 88 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Ilva, 4 enfants, 7 petits-enfants et une arrière-petite-fille. « Obstétricien occupé, Derek travaillait de longues heures pour s’occuper de ses patientes et il a aidé à mettre au monde plus d’un bébé à Kelowna au cours de sa longue carrière. Dans les mêmes années, il a suivi des formations pour faire des colposcopies et a continué d’offrir cet important service même après sa retraite de la pratique active en 1991. Il a savouré les dernières années de sa carrière médicale en étant assistant en chirurgie et a pris sa retraite complète en 2002. »

So, Yan P., New Westminster (C.-B.); Université de la Colombie-Britannique, 1958. Décédé le 22 septembre 2017 à l’âge de 85 ans.

Taylor, Hugh, Winnipeg (Man.); Université du Manitoba, 1957; pédiatrie; ancien président, Société canadienne de pédiatrie. Décédé le 30 septembre 2017 à l’âge de 86 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil 2 enfants et 5 petits-enfants. « Après sa formation, Hugh est retourné à Winnipeg en 1964 où il s’est joint au Service de pédiatrie de la Clinique du Manitoba. Il y est devenu très populaire grâce à son pot de bonbons haricots et à ses sourcils en broussaille et a eu le privilège de soigner un nombre incalculable de nourrissons et d’enfants au cours de ses 40 ans de carrière. Hugh a aussi enseigné à l’Université du Manitoba et a été président de l’Hôpital pour enfants de Winnipeg. » Un ancien patient se remémore : « Je me souviens encore qu’il avait été capable de me faire mes premières piqures rapidement et sans douleur en me faisant compter à rebours le plus vite possible. Alors que je comptais, il m’a piqué sans que je m’en aperçoive. Personne ne pouvait demander meilleur docteur ».

Trupp, Howard C., Brantford (Ont.); Université de Toronto, 1953; psychiatrie. Décédé le 2 octobre 2017 à l’âge de 88 ans. Il laisse dans le seuil 2 enfants et 2 petits-enfants. « Howard a suivi sa formation à l’Université de Toronto et a travaillé pendant plusieurs années à Brantford. »

Vallely, John F., London (Ont.); Université Western Ontario, 1972; urologie. Décédé le 14 octobre 2017 à l’âge de 70 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Susan et 2 enfants. « En 2008, John a pris sa retraite d’une brillante carrière d’urologue, à la fois en chirurgie et en enseignement à London. »

Wightman, Patricia A., Winnipeg (Man.); Université du Manitoba, 1956; psychiatrie. Décédée le 18 septembre 2017 à l’âge de 85 ans. Elle laisse dans le deuil son époux Clive, 4 enfants, 11 petits-enfants et 2 arrière-petits-enfants. « Après avoir obtenu sa bourse postdoctorale, Pat a pratiqué des anesthésies jusqu’en 1978. Elle a ensuite fait une transition de carrière importante et a commencé des études en psychiatrie. Elle a obtenu son diplôme en 1982 et a pratiqué la psychiatrie au Centre des sciences de la santé de Winnipeg jusqu’à sa retraite en juin 2017. Au cours de sa carrière, elle a reçu des prix de la Société de la schizophrénie et de l’Association pour les troubles de l’humeur. En 2014, elle a reçu le titre de membre honoraire de l’AMC. »