Sign In

In Memoriam

As a unique service for CMA members and their families, the CMA regularly publishes notices of deceased members.

Please send notices to inmemoriam@cma.ca.

October, 2017

Arnold, William J., Qualicum Beach, BC; University of British Columbia (UBC), 1955; pediatrics. Died July 20, 2017, aged 88. Survived by his wife Myrtle, his children and stepchildren, 12 grandchildren and 7 great-grandchildren. "As a graduate of the second UBC medical class, his career took him from rural practice in Prince Rupert, BC, to pediatric training in New York. Dr. Bill then returned to BC Children's Hospital (BCCH), where he had a busy pediatric practice. He taught many of the next generation and inspired others to pursue careers in medicine, including many family members. His special interest in children with spinal cord defects led him to establish the Spina Bifida Clinic at BCCH. He was known to have always cared for the child more than the disease."

Beattie, Craig, Qualicum Beach, BC; University of Manitoba, 1971; ophthalmology. Died Aug. 2, 2017, aged 70. Survived by his wife, Amyra. "Craig was known to friends as 'Dr. Cee Better.' He was in turn clinical assistant professor and clinical associate professor at the University of British Columbia (UBC). His special interest was colour vision. More than once, he was named Teacher of the Year in the UBC Department of Ophthalmology. He also had a busy ophthalmology practice and continued to direct diagnostic services at the Vancouver General Hospital/ UBC Eye Care Centre."

Carruthers, John S., Toronto; University of Western Ontario, 1955; general pathology. Survived by 3 children and 1 grandchild. "After graduating, Dad spent most of his career practising at the Princess Margaret Hospital in Toronto."

Carter, Gordon W., Whitby, Ont.; University of Toronto, 1953; family medicine. Died Aug. 25, 2017, aged 87. Survived by 4 children, 10 grandchildren and 2 great-grandchildren. "Gordon was committed to church work and spent over 15 years providing medical care as a missionary in Africa. He made significant and extraordinary contributions to the field of medicine and to his communities in Africa and Canada."

Curtis, John E., London, Ont.; Dalhousie University, 1963; internal medicine. Died Aug. 19, 2017, aged 80. Survived by 2 sons and 2 grandchildren. "After post-graduate training he took a position at Princess Margaret Hospital in Toronto, where he practised oncology until 1998, specializing in bone marrow transplants. He then moved to Windsor, Ont., to participate in establishing the Windsor Regional Cancer Centre. He subsequently moved to University Hospital, London, and accepted a position in the oncology service at the University of Western Ontario. After retiring from practice he remained active in public service."

De Lima, Leslie J., Edmonton; University of Bombay (India), 1954. Died Sept. 7, 2017, aged 92.

Egier Brian P., Ancaster, Ont.; McMaster University, 1980; anesthesiology. Died Sept. 2, 2017, aged 63. Survived by his wife Ro and 2 children. "Brian was a brilliant and dedicated physician for 30 years in anesthesiology, critical care medicine and hyperbaric medicine."

Enns, George, Chilliwack, BC; University of Alberta, 1966; family medicine; former chief of staff, Chilliwack General Hospital; life member, CMA. Died Sept. 12, 2017, aged 86. Survived by his wife Helen, 3 children and 8 grandchildren. "After graduating in dentistry, George decided to pursue a career in medicine, which he practised until 1994. Many of his dental patients followed him into medical practice, and some still proudly point out dental work that he performed on them decades ago. His attachment to his patients was of paramount importance to him, and his family remembers many Christmas gatherings, family vacations or similar events that were delayed because of an unexpected medical crisis in one of his patients. As well, he frequently chose to forgo vacations in order to work in the most unstable, war-torn and poverty-stricken areas on Earth. There were stints, which varied from 2 weeks up to a year, spent in Rwanda, Sudan, Cambodia, Nicaragua, Belize, Ukraine, Siberia, Zambia, Mexico and elsewhere."

Fitzpatrick, Peter J., Alliston, Ont.; University of London (England), 1955; radiation oncology; professor, University of Toronto. Died Aug. 24, 2017, aged 87. Survived by his wife Vivienne, 3 children and 7 grandchildren. "He was raised in war-torn London and proudly survived the Blitz during World War II, events that were very influential in shaping his appreciation and outlook on life. After service in the Royal Signals, he trained in medicine and elected to specialize in radiotherapy, at that time the only non-surgical treatment of cancer. He was recruited to join the newly opened Princess Margaret Hospital in Toronto, where he remained for 26 years. Together with Dr. Rider and colleagues at the Ontario Cancer Institute, Peter assisted with developing half-body irradiation, a technique that is now used worldwide to treat cancer. In 1964, he started a monthly clinic in Sudbury, the first organized cancer clinic in Northern Ontario. A lover of animals, Peter devoted his Saturday mornings to treating cats and dogs with radiotherapy at Princess Margaret. His interest in veterinary medicine led to a cross-appointment at the Ontario Veterinary College in Guelph, Ont., where he pioneered the treatment of animals with cancer. In 1989, Peter was recruited to Halifax to act as physician-in-chief at the Nova Scotia Cancer Clinic and to serve as chair of radiation oncology at Dalhousie University. In this role, Peter was responsible for the delivery of cancer treatment and care for Atlantic Canada. Peter, whose medical practice was embraced both as an art and science, retired in 1995."

Freeman, Michael R., Toronto; Queen's University, 1974; internal medicine, cardiology; associate professor, University of Toronto. Died Sept. 3, 2017, aged 68. Survived by his wife Sharon, 3 children and 3 grandchildren. "Michael had been a cardiologist at St. Michael's Hospital in Toronto since 1980, and at the time of his death had been serving as the hospital's medical director for the Heart and Vascular Program, as well as director of medical informatics and director of nuclear cardiology. He established one of the first nuclear cardiology labs in Canada and expanded the knowledge of this technique to the clinical and research communities across the country. Michael published more than 50 peer-reviewed papers and spoke nationally and internationally concerning the application of nuclear cardiology techniques in clinical practice. He was also a founding member of both the Canadian Association of Nuclear Medicine and the American Society of Nuclear Cardiology."

Glinski, Robert G. (Dr. Bob), Ottawa; University of Ottawa, 1976; family medicine. Died Sept. 9, 2017, aged 71. Survived by his wife Joanne, 3 children and 6 grandchildren. "Robert practised as a family doctor and emergency room physician in Ottawa for 40 years." A former patient wrote: "He was a wonderful man and helped me through some very tough times in life."

Gougeon, François W., High River, Alta.; McGill University, 1970; general surgery. Died July 17, 2017, aged 71. Survived by his wife, Lucie Dusablon, 3 children and 4 grandchildren. "François was an accomplished medical practitioner and surgeon."

Grant, Douglas J., Essex, Ont.; University of Western Ontario, 1955; dermatology; past president, Kitchener-Waterloo (Ont.) Academy of Medicine and College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario. Died Aug. 27, 2017, aged 91. Survived by his wife Gail, 3 children, 4 grandchildren and 1 great-grandchild. "Doug was finally released from the bleak cage of dementia on Aug. 27. During his career he practised dermatology in Kitchener, while also maintaining an interest in his community and broader medical issues. After closing his practice in 1985, he and Gail moved to Bayfield, Ont., where he worked as a consulting dermatologist for a number of hospitals and continued his interest in community work by serving on the Architectural Conservancy Board and acting as councillor, then reeve, of the village of Bayfield before fully retiring."

Guanzon, Alfredo Z. (Fred), West Vancouver; University of Santo Tomas (Philippines), 1956; anesthesiology. Died Aug. 22, 2017, aged 86. Survived by his wife Socorro, 5 children and 10 grandchildren. "Fred worked as an anesthesiologist at the University Hospital (Saskatoon) and then both Royal Columbian Hospital (New Westminster, BC) and Eagle Ridge Hospital (Coquitlam, BC) for 37 years before retiring. In 2001 he was nominated as a CMA Honorary Member. Such members are humanitarians who have put into practice the aims and ideals of their profession. They exemplify the words on the CMA coat of arms, Integrity and Compassion."

Isbister, Earl G., Burlington, Ont.; McGill University, 1958; urology. Died Sept. 12, 2017, aged 86. Survived by his wife Pat, 2 children and 4 grandchildren. "Earl practised general urology but specialized in prostatic surgery. In 1981 he joined McMaster Health Sciences as an associate professor and was appointed chief of surgery at the Henderson General Hospital. In addition to his busy urologic clinical practice, he rationalized urologic services and was appointed director of urology, a position he held until his retirement in 2000. He looked back with great fondness on his contributions to the growth of academic urology in Hamilton, and at McMaster University in particular."

Kelly, Francis P. (Frank), Brantford, Ont.; McGill University, 1948; general surgery. Died Aug. 30, 2017, aged 94. Survived by his wife Frances, 2 children, 6 grandchildren and 6 great-grandchildren. "Frank practised medicine for many years in Leamington, Ont. He was a staunch Canadian who throughout his life lived in New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Quebec, Saskatchewan and Ontario."

McKee, Wesley H. (Hugh), Saskatoon; University of Saskatchewan, 1971; family medicine; clinical associate professor, University of Saskatchewan; Saskatchewan Family Physician of the Year, 1992. Died Sept. 13, 2017, aged 70. Survived by his wife Sheryl, 1 child and 4 grandchildren. "Hugh practised medicine in Saskatoon (Associated Family Physicians) from 1972 to 2017, and received his certification from the College of Family Physicians of Canada in 1983. He served as clinical instructor for the College of Medicine, Department of Medicine, University of Saskatchewan, from 1975 to 1985." A former patient wrote: "He was my favourite doctor from the time my tonsils were removed at 6 years old."

Pankarican, Josif G., Waterloo, Ont.; University of Belgrade (Yugoslavia), 1966. Died Aug. 20, 2017, aged 76. Survived by his wife Lenuca, 2 sons and 5 grandchildren.

Richardson, Evelyn H., Wiarton, Ont.; University of St. Andrews (Scotland), 1944; Royal Army Medical Corps, WW II. Died Sept. 9, 2017, aged 97. Survived by 3 children, 4 grandchildren and 2 great-grandchildren. "After the war she returned to Canada as a war bride and took postgraduate psychiatric training at the University of Western Ontario, where she also worked as a lecturer in neuroanatomy. She and her husband Bill moved to Galt, Ont., where both worked in the medical field — he in general practice and she as a psychiatrist with Correctional Services at the Girls Training School in Galt and Hillcrest School for Boys in Guelph, Ont. In respect of Evelyn's wishes, her body was donated to the medical school at Western University."

Roper, Peter D., Montréal; Royal Air Force (RAF), WW II; University of Glasgow (Scotland), 1951; psychiatry. Died Aug. 11, 2017, aged 95. Survived by his wife Virginie and his second wife, Beverlea Tallant, 6 children, 1 stepchild and 17 grandchildren. "On his 18th birthday, Peter enlisted in the RAF. On D+1 (June 7, 1944), he was shot down in a Typhoon aircraft over Monts-en-Bessin, Normandy, where the family of Clément d'Huart and French locals rescued him before he became a prisoner of war. Peter built strong bonds with the many citizens who risked their lives to ensure his safety, and credited his good fortune to them. After the war he studied medicine in Glasgow and rowed in their colours at Henley. After training in London, he moved to Montréal to study and practise. During his lengthy career, Peter worked at the Royal Victoria Hospital, the Allan Memorial Institute and the Douglas Hospital. He was passionate about his medical research with airline pilots and the use of biofeedback. Very focused on his patients, he retired from private practice at the age of 93." An acquaintance wrote: "An amazing man who lived an amazing life."

Song, Wan, Burnaby, BC; University of the Witwatersrand (South Africa), 1956. Died Aug. 17, 2017, aged 89.

Stewart, Iain O., Ancaster, Ont.; University of Glasgow (Scotland), 1949; medical microbiology. Died Sept. 1, 2017, aged 92. Survived by his wife Barbara, 3 children and 5 grandchildren. "An accomplished academic, clinician and medical administrator, Iain was emeritus professor at McMaster University and former head of laboratories and chief of staff at the Hamilton General Hospital. He was also chair of the board at Hamilton Civic Hospitals, where he facilitated the merger with Chedoke-McMaster Hospitals and the establishment of Hamilton Health Sciences. Perhaps most of all, Iain was a passionate Scotsman. His love for Scotland and pride for his heritage never waned."

Sweeney, Vincent P., Vancouver; University of Glasgow (Scotland), 1953; Royal Army Medical Corps, Korean War; neurology; former professor and director of biomedical ethics, University of British Columbia (UBC). Died Sept. 10, 2017, aged 87. Survived by his wife Mary, 5 children and 9 grandchildren. "Vincent was a distinguished neurologist and much-loved teacher at UBC's Faculty of Medicine from 1973 to 1995, While his professional accolades and credentials are too numerous to mention, he was most proud of his Excellence in Teaching Award from UBC in 1993 and of being recipient of the Dr. William Marsden Award in Medical Ethics from the Canadian Medical Association, which recognized his work as a founding director of the Biomedical Ethics Program at UBC."

Trites, Kimberly L., Saint John, NB; Dalhousie University, 2003; obstetrics and gynecology. Died Aug. 20, 2017, aged 41.

Walker, Ronald T., Nanaimo, BC; University of British Columbia, 1970; Canadian Forces (Navy); general practice. Died July 18, 2017, aged 80. Survived by his wife, Carol Stewart Walker, 2 children and 6 grandchildren. "While he was based in Ottawa with the navy, Ron and 3 other navy doctors started the first walk-in clinic in Canada. He was then transferred to Canadian Forces Base Chilliwack, BC, to serve as base surgeon. Two years later he resigned from the navy and opened an office in North Vancouver, where he spent 22 years as a solo practitioner. He then joined the Caledonia Medical Clinic in Nanaimo, and stayed there for 3 years before retiring at age 62."

Waters, William R. (Reid), Winnipeg; McGill University, 1955; plastic surgery; former associate professor and chief of plastic surgery, University of Manitoba; former head of surgery, Misericordia Hospital; past president, Canadian Society of Plastic Surgeons. Died Aug. 4, 2017, aged 86. Survived by 4 children and 12 grandchildren. "A groundbreaker throughout most of his life, Reid entered the world almost 3 months early, and was one of the first babies of that era to survive at such an early age. After becoming a physician he was a strong advocate for the best medical care, pioneering many groundbreaking surgeries and profoundly changing the lives of numerous patients. In 1976, he was 1 of 3 Canadian plastic surgeons invited by the Chinese government to share the latest in burn-care management and microsurgery. In 2007, Reid was awarded a lifetime achievement award by the Canadian Society of Plastic Surgeons."

Wilson, William M. (Bill), Ancaster, Ont.; University of Toronto, 1955; pediatrics. Died Sept. 16, 2017, aged 86. Survived by his wife Marilyn, 3 children, 8 grandchildren and 3 great-grandchildren. "Bill loved medicine and clinical teaching. He was a consultant pediatrician in Hamilton, initially at Chedoke Hospital and St. Joseph's Hospital, and then at McMaster Children's Hospital until his retirement. He mentored many of today's pediatricians with a kind, gentle and steady manner, and attained the position of professor emeritus in pediatrics at McMaster University. He also founded the Cystic Fibrosis Clinic at McMaster, and children with CF always held a special place in his heart. His love of children was a guiding light in his life."

Connexion

Avis de décès

L'AMC offre un service de publication d'avis de décès de ses membres. Prière d'envoyer les avis à l'adresse necrologie@cma.ca.

Octobre, 2017

Arnold, William J., Qualicum Beach (C.-B.); Université de la Colombie-Britannique (UBC), 1955; pédiatrie. Décédé le 20 juillet 2017 à l'âge de 88 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Myrtle, ses enfants et ses beaux-enfants, 12 petits-enfants et 7 arrière-petits-enfants. « En tant que diplômé de la seconde cohorte médicale de l'UBC, sa carrière l'a mené de Prince Rupert (C.‑B.), communauté rurale où il a pratiqué la médecine, à New York, où il a donné de la formation en pédiatrie. Le DBill est ensuite retourné à l'Hôpital pour enfants de la Colombie-Britannique (BCCH) pour y pratiquer la pédiatrie. Il a enseigné à la génération suivante et a inspiré d'autres personnes, dont plusieurs membres de sa famille, à poursuivre une carrière en médecine. Son intérêt particulier pour les lésions de la moelle épinière chez les enfants l'a mené à ouvrir la clinique sur le spina-bifida au BCCH. Il était connu pour avoir toujours soigné les enfants avant et la maladie ensuite. »

Beattie, Craig, Qualicum Beach (C.-B.); Université du Manitoba, 1971; ophtalmologie. Décédé le 2 août 2017 à l'âge de 70 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Amyra. « Craig était connu de ses amis comme le "DCee Better" ("Dr Voir Mieux", jeu de mots avec son nom et sa profession). Il a été professeur adjoint d'enseignement clinique puis professeur agrégé clinique de l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique (UBC). Il s'intéressait spécialement à la vision des couleurs. Il a été nommé plus d'une fois Professeur de l'année au Département d'ophtalmologie de l'UBC. Il a aussi eu un cabinet d'ophtalmologie et a continué à diriger les services diagnostiques à l'Hôpital général de Vancouver et au Centre des soins oculaires de l'UBC. »

Beaudry, René, Sherbrooke (Qc); Université de Montréal, 1961; gastro-entérologie. Décédé le 17 juillet 2017 à l'âge de 80 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse, Ghislaine Landreville, 3 enfants et 8 petits-enfants.

Carruthers, John S., Toronto (Ont.); Université Western Ontario, 1955; pathologie générale. Il laisse dans le deuil 3 enfants et un petit-enfant. « Après avoir obtenu son diplôme, il a passé la plus grande partie de sa carrière à l'Hôpital Princess Margaret de Toronto. »

Carter, Gordon W., Whitby (Ont.); Université de Toronto, 1953; médecine familiale. Décédé le 25 août 2017 à l'âge de 87 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil 4 enfants, 10 petits-enfants et 2 arrière-petits-enfants. « Gordon était engagé dans le travail de l'Église et a passé plus de 15 ans à offrir des soins médicaux en Afrique en tant que missionnaire. Sa contribution au domaine de la médecine et aux communautés médicales de l'Afrique et du Canada est importante et extraordinaire. »

Curtis, John E., London (Ont.); Université Dalhousie, 1963; médecine interne. Décédé le 19 août 2017 à l'âge de 80 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil 2 fils et 2 petits-enfants. « Après une formation postdoctorale, il s'est joint à l'Hôpital Princess Margaret de Toronto où il a été oncologue jusqu'en 1998, se spécialisant en greffe de moelle osseuse. Il a ensuite déménagé à Windsor (Ont.) pour participer à la fondation du Centre régional de cancérologie de Windsor. Puis, il s'est installé à London où il s'est joint à l'Hôpital universitaire et a accepté un poste au Service d'oncologie de l'Université Western Ontario. Après avoir pris sa retraite de la pratique médicale, il est demeuré actif dans le domaine des services publics. »

De Lima, Leslie J., Edmonton; Université de Bombay (Inde), 1954. Décédé le 7 septembre 2017 à l'âge de 92 ans.

Egier Brian P., Ancaster (Ont.); Université McMaster, 1980; anesthésiologie. Décédé le 2 septembre 2017 à l'âge de 63 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Ro et 2 enfants. « Brian a été un médecin brillant et dévoué pendant ses 30 années de service en anesthésiologie, en médecine des soins intensifs et en soins hyperbares. »

Enns, George, Chilliwack (C.-B.); Université de l'Alberta, 1966; médecine familiale; ancien chef du personnel, Hôpital général de Chilliwack; membre à vie, AMC. Décédé le 12 septembre 2017 à l'âge de 86 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Helen, 3 enfants et 8 petits-enfants. « Après avoir obtenu son diplôme de dentiste, George a décidé de poursuivre ses études et de devenir médecin, carrière qu'il a exercée jusqu'en 1994. Plusieurs des patients qu'il avait en tant que dentiste sont devenus ses patients lorsqu'il est devenu médecin, et quelques-uns montrent encore fièrement le travail dentaire qu'il a fait sur eux des décennies auparavant. Son attachement à ses patients était d'une importante capitale pour lui. Les membres de sa famille se souviennent de plusieurs réveillons de Noël, vacances familiales ou autres évènements similaires qui ont été repoussés par des urgences médicales inattendues chez l'un de ses patients. De plus, il choisissait fréquemment de renoncer à des vacances afin de pouvoir travailler dans les zones du monde les plus instables, pauvres et dévastées par des guerres. Il a fait des séjours, qui ont duré de 2 semaines à près d'un an, dans de nombreux pays, notamment le Rwanda, le Soudan, le Cambodge, le Nicaragua, le Bélize, le Mexique, l'Ukraine, la Zambie et la Sibérie. »

Fitzpatrick, Peter J., Alliston (Ont.); Université de Londres (Angleterre), 1955; radio-oncologie; professeur, Université de Toronto. Décédé le 24 août 2017 à l'âge de 87 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Vivienne, 3 enfants et 7 petits-enfants. « Il a grandi dans une Londres dévastée par la Seconde Guerre mondiale et a survécu au Blitz, des évènements qui ont grandement influencé le regard et la perception qu'il avait de la vie. Après avoir servi dans la Royal Signals, il a étudié la médecine et s'est spécialisé en radiothérapie, le seul traitement non chirurgical du cancer alors existant. Il s'est joint à l'Hôpital Princess Margaret de Toronto, nouvellement ouvert, où il est resté pendant 26 ans. En collaboration avec le DRider et d'autres collègues de l'Institut de cancérologie de l'Ontario, Peter a aidé à développer l'irradiation hémicorporelle, une technique qui est maintenant utilisée à travers le monde pour le traitement du cancer. En 1964, il a instauré une clinique mensuelle à Sudbury, la première clinique organisée pour soigner le cancer au nord de l'Ontario. Amoureux des animaux, Peter passait ses samedis matin à l'hôpital Princess Margaret à soigner chats et chiens à l'aide de la radiothérapie. Son intérêt pour la médecine vétérinaire lui a valu un poste partagé au Collège vétérinaire de l'Ontario à Guelph, où il mit les bases du traitement des animaux atteints de cancer. En 1989, Peter a été recruté à Halifax en tant que médecin en chef à la Clinique de cancérologie de la Nouvelle-Écosse et a été président du Département de radio-oncologie de l'Université de Dalhousie. Peter est alors devenu responsable des soins et des traitements de cancer pour les provinces maritimes. Il a pris sa retraite en 1995 de ce qu'il considérait comme un art et une science, la pratique médicale. »

Freeman, Michael R., Toronto (Ont.); Université Queen's, 1974; médecine interne, cardiologie; professeur agrégé, Université de Toronto. Décédé le 3 septembre 2017 à l'âge de 68 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Sharon, 3 enfants et 3 petits-enfants. « Michael était cardiologue à l'Hôpital St. Michael de Toronto depuis 1980 et, au moment de sa mort, il était le directeur médical du Programme cardio-vasculaire, en plus d'être directeur de l'informatique médicale et du Département de cardiologie nucléaire. Il a créé l'un des premiers laboratoires de cardiologie nucléaire du Canada et a transmis la connaissance de ces techniques aux communautés cliniques et de recherche de tout le pays. Michael a publié plus de 50 articles évalués par ses pairs et a parlé publiquement tant au niveau national qu'international de l'application des techniques de cardiologie nucléaire dans la pratique clinique. Il était aussi un membre fondateur de l'Association canadienne de médecine nucléaire et de la Société américaine de cardiologie nucléaire. »

Glinski, Robert G. (Dr Bob), Ottawa (Ont.); Université d'Ottawa, 1976; médecine familiale. Décédé le 9 septembre 2017 à l'âge de 71 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Joanne, 3 enfants et 6 petits-enfants. « Robert a été médecin de famille et urgentologue à Ottawa pendant 40 ans. » Un ancien patient a écrit : « c'était un homme formidable et il m'a aidé à des moments particulièrement difficiles de ma vie. »

Gougeon, François W., High River (Alb.); Université McGill, 1970; chirurgie générale. Décédé le 17 juillet 2017 à l'âge de 71 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse, Lucie Dusablon, 3 enfants et 4 petits-enfants. « François était un médecin et un chirurgien accompli. »

Grant, Douglas J., Essex (Ont.); Université Western Ontario, 1955; dermatologie; ancien président, Académie de médecine de Kitchener-Waterloo (Ont.) et Collège des médecins et chirurgiens de l'Ontario. Décédé le 27 août 2017 à l'âge de 91 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Gail, 3 enfants, 4 petits-enfants et un arrière-petit-enfant. « Doug a finalement été libéré le 27 août de cette sombre cage où la démence l'avait enfermé. Au cours de sa carrière, il a pratiqué la dermatologie à Kitchener, en plus de cultiver un intérêt pour les enjeux touchant la communauté médicale dans son ensemble. Après avoir fermé sa clinique en 1985, Douglas et Gail se sont installés à Bayfield (Ont.) où il a travaillé en tant que dermatologue consultant pour quelques hôpitaux et a continué son travail communautaire en siégeant au conseil d'administration de l'Architectural Conservancy et en étant conseiller, puis préfet du village de Bayfield avant de prendre sa retraite complète. »

Guanzon, Alfredo Z. (Fred), West Vancouver (C.-B.); Université de Santo Tomas (Philippines), 1956; anesthésiologie. Décédé le 22 août 2017 à l'âge de 86 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Socorro, 5 enfants et 10 petits-enfants. « Fred a été anesthésiste à l'Hôpital universitaire de Saskatoon et ensuite aux hôpitaux Royal Columbien (New Westminster, C.-B.) et Eagle Ridge (Coquitlam, C.-B.) pendant 37 ans avant de prendre sa retraite. En 2001, il a reçu le titre de membre honoraire de l'AMC. Celui-ci est conféré à des humanistes qui ont mis en pratique les buts et les idéaux les plus nobles de la profession. Ils incarnent la devise qui figure sur les armoiries de l'AMC : intégrité et compassion. »

Isbister, Earl G., Burlington (Ont.); Université McGill, 1958; urologie. Décédé le 12 septembre 2017 à l'âge de 86 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Pat, 2 enfants et 4 petits-enfants. « Earl pratiquait l'urologie générale, mais s'était spécialisé en chirurgie de la prostate. En 1981, il s'est joint au Département des Sciences de la santé de l'Université McMaster en tant que professeur agrégé et a été nommé chirurgien en chef à l'Hôpital général Henderson. En plus de sa pratique urologique bien remplie, il a rationalisé les services urologiques et a été nommé directeur en urologie, un poste qu'il a occupé jusqu'à sa retraite en 2000. Il se remémorait avec nostalgie les contributions qu'il a apportées à la croissance de l'urologie en milieu universitaire à Hamilton, et en particulier à l'Université McMaster. »

Kelly, Francis P. (Frank), Brantford (Ont.); Université McGill, 1948; chirurgie générale. Décédé le 30 août 2017 à l'âge de 94 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Frances, 2 enfants, 6 petits-enfants et 6 arrière-petits-enfants. « Frank a pratiqué la médecine pendant plusieurs années à Leamington (Ont.). Il était un fervent canadien et a vécu au Nouveau-Brunswick, en Nouvelle-Écosse, au Québec, en Saskatchewan et en Ontario. »

McKee, Wesley H. (Hugh), Saskatoon (Sask.); Université de la Saskatchewan, 1971; médecine familiale; professeur clinique agrégé, Université de la Saskatchewan; Médecin de famille de Saskatchewan de l'année 1992. Décédé le 13 septembre 2017 à l'âge de 70 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Sheryl, un enfant et 4 petits-enfants. « Hugh a pratiqué la médecine à Saskatoon (Médecins de famille associés) de 1972 à 2017 et a reçu sa certification du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada en 1983. Il a été instructeur clinique au Collège de médecine du Département de médecine de l'Université de la Saskatchewan de 1975 à 1985. » Un ancien patient a écrit : « Il a été mon docteur préféré depuis l'époque où l'on m'a enlevé mes amygdales, j'avais alors 6 ans. »

Pankarican, Josif G., Waterloo (Ont.); Université de Belgrade (Yougoslavie), 1966. Décédé le 20 août 2017 à l'âge de 76 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Lenuca, 2 fils et 5 petits-enfants.

Richardson, Evelyn H., Wiarton (Ont.); Université de St. Andrews (Écosse), 1944; Corps médical de l'armée royale, Seconde Guerre mondiale. Décédée le 9 septembre 2017 à l'âge de 97 ans. Elle laisse dans le deuil 3 enfants, 4 petits-enfants et 2 arrière-petits-enfants. « Après la guerre, elle est revenue au Canada en tant qu'épouse de guerre et a suivi une formation postdoctorale en psychiatrie à l'Université Western Ontario où elle a aussi été conférencière en neuroanatomie. Son époux Bill et elle ont emménagé à Galt (Ont.) et ont tous deux travaillé dans le domaine médical : lui en tant que médecin généraliste et elle en tant que psychiatre pour les services correctionnels de la Girls Training School de Galt et du Hillcrest School for Boys de Guelph. Comme le souhaitait Evelyn, son corps a été donné à la Faculté de médecine de l'Université Western. »

Roper, Peter D., Montréal (Qc); Royal Air Force (RAF), Seconde Guerre mondiale; Université de Glasgow (Écosse), 1951; psychiatrie. Décédé le 11 août 2017 à l'âge de 95 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil sa dernière épouse Virginie et sa seconde épouse Beverlea Tallant, 6 enfants, 1 enfant par alliance et 17 petits-enfants. « Le jour de son 18e anniversaire, Peter s'est enrôlé dans la RAF. Le lendemain du débarquement de Normandie (7 juin 1944), son avion de chasse Typhoon est abattu au-dessus de Monts-en-Bessin, en Normandie, où la famille de Clément d'Huart ainsi que d'autres résidents français de l'endroit l'ont secouru avant qu'il ne soit fait prisonnier de guerre. De forts liens se sont créés entre Peter et les nombreux citoyens qui ont risqué leur vie pour assurer sa sécurité. Il leur a toujours attribué sa chance. Après la guerre, il a étudié la médecine à l'Université de Glasgow et a ramé sous la bannière de celle-ci à Henley. Après sa formation à Londres, il s'est rendu à Montréal pour y étudier et y pratiquer la médecine. Au cours de sa longue carrière, Peter a travaillé à l'Hôpital Royal Victoria, à l'Institut Allan Memorial et à l'Hôpital Douglas. Il était passionné par ses recherches médicales avec les pilotes de ligne et l'utilisation de rétroaction biologique (biofeedback). Très dévoué envers ses patients, il a pris sa retraite de la pratique privée à l'âge de 93 ans. » Une connaissance a écrit : « Un homme extraordinaire qui a vécu une vie incroyable. »

Song, Wan, Burnaby (C.-B.); Université de Witwatersrand (Afrique du Sud), 1956. Décédé le 17 août 2017 à l'âge de 89 ans.

Stewart, Iain O., Ancaster (Ont.); Université de Glasgow (Écosse), 1949; microbiologie médicale. Décédé le 1er septembre 2017 à l'âge de 92 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Barbara, 3 enfants et 5 petits-enfants. « Universitaire, clinicien et administrateur médical accompli, Iain était professeur émérite à l'Université McMaster ainsi qu'ancien chef de laboratoire et chef du personnel à l'Hôpital général de Hamilton. Il était aussi président du conseil d'administration de l'Hôpital Civic d'Hamilton dont il a facilité la fusion avec l'Hôpital Chedoke-McMaster et la création des Sciences de la santé de Hamilton. Avant tout, cependant, Iain était un Écossais passionné. Son amour de l'Écosse et sa fierté envers son héritage culturel ne se sont jamais éteints. »

Sweeney, Vincent P., Vancouver (C.-B.); Université de Glasgow (Écosse), 1953; Corps médical de l'armée royale, Guerre de Corée; neurologie; ancien professeur et directeur du programme d'éthique biomédicale, Université de la Colombie-Britannique (UBC). Décédé le 10 septembre 2017 à l'âge de 87 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Mary, 5 enfants et 9 petits-enfants. « Vincent était un neurologue d'exception et un professeur très apprécié à la faculté de médecine de l'UBC de 1973 à 1995. Bien que ses distinctions et reconnaissances professionnelles soient trop nombreuses pour les nommer toutes, il était particulièrement fier de son prix pour l'Excellence en enseignement de l'UBC, reçu en 1993, et du Prix Dr-William-Marsden d'éthique et de professionnalisme en médecine de l'Association médicale canadienne qui reconnaissait son travail de directeur et fondateur du Programme d'éthique biomédicale de l'UBC. »

Trites, Kimberly L., Saint John (N.-B.); Université Dalhousie, 2003; obstétrique et gynécologie. Décédée le 20 août 2017 à l'âge de 41 ans.

Walker, Ronald T., Nanaimo (C.-B.); Université de la Colombie-Britannique, 1970; Forces canadiennes (Marine); médecine générale. Décédé le 18 juillet 2017 à l'âge de 80 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Carol Stewart Walker, 2 enfants et 6 petits-enfants. « Alors qu'il était basé à Ottawa, Ron et 3 autres médecins de la marine ont ouvert la première clinique sans rendez-vous du Canada. Il a été par la suite transféré à la base militaire de Chilliwak (C.-B.) pour y servir en tant que chirurgien. Deux ans plus tard, il a quitté la marine pour ouvrir une clinique à North Vancouver où il a pratiqué la médecine en solitaire pendant 22 ans. Il s'est ensuite joint à la clinique Caledonia de Nanaimo, où il est resté 3 ans avant de prendre sa retraite à l'âge de 62 ans. »

Waters, William R. (Reid), Winnipeg (Man.); Université McGill, 1955; chirurgie plastique; ancien professeur adjoint et médecin en chef de chirurgie plastique, Université du Manitoba; ancien chef du Service de chirurgie, Hôpital Misericordia; ancien président, Société canadienne des chirurgiens plasticiens. Décédé le 4 août 2017 à l'âge de 86 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil 4 enfants et 12 petits-enfants. « Pionnier tout au long de sa vie, Reid est né près de 3 mois prématurément et faisait partie des premiers bébés de l'époque à survivre à un si jeune âge. Plus tard, en tant que médecin, il a été un grand défenseur pour les meilleurs soins médicaux qui soient, a été le précurseur de plusieurs chirurgies révolutionnaires et a profondément changé la vie de nombreux patients. En 1976, il était l'un des 3 chirurgiens plasticiens canadiens à être invité par le gouvernement chinois à partager les plus récentes techniques de gestion des soins aux brûlés et de microchirurgie. En 2007, Reid a reçu un prix de la Société canadienne des chirurgiens plasticiens pour l'ensemble de ses réalisations. »

Wilson, William M. (Bill), Ancaster (Ont.); Université de Toronto, 1955; pédiatrie. Décédé le 16 septembre 2017 à l'âge de 86 ans. Il laisse dans le deuil son épouse Marilyn, 3 enfants, 8 petits-enfants et 3 arrière-petits-enfants. « Bill adorait la médecine et l'enseignement clinique. Il a été pédiatre consultant à Hamilton, d'abord pour les hôpitaux Chedoke et St. Joseph's, puis pour l'Hôpital pour enfants McMaster jusqu'à sa retraite. Il a été le mentor aimable, gentil et sérieux de plusieurs des pédiatres qui pratiquent aujourd'hui et a reçu le titre de professeur émérite en pédiatrie à l'Université McMaster. Il a aussi fondé la Clinique de fibrose kystique de McMaster, et les enfants atteints de cette maladie ont toujours occupé une place spéciale dans son cœur. Son amour des enfants a été un phare tout au long de sa vie. »