Sign In

The Role of the CMA in Physician Health and Wellness

The CMA strategy is to champion physician health and wellness across the physician lifecycle through leadership and advocacy; and through a lens of shared responsibility — from 'individual' to 'system' — with particular emphasis on system-level initiatives. Although focusing on what physicians can do as individuals has been a major focus within the community to date, strengthening the health and wellness of the physician workforce is a shared responsibility. This emerging frontier involves a collaborative approach, from the top-down, at the system level (e.g., institutions, organizations, community), as well as the bottom-up, individual level (e.g., taking action to maintain personal health and wellness).

Activities and Initiatives

ICPH

ICPH
SAVE THE DATE
TORONTO, October 11-13, 2018


Major initiatives currently underway:

  • Revised CMA Policy on Physician Health
  • 2017 National Physician Health Survey
  • Collaboration and engagement with national, provincial, and local stakeholders
  • Supporting and working with Provincial Physician Health Programs via the Forum of Canadian Physician Health Programs (FCPHP)
  • Advancing CMA Medical Professionalism Strategic Initiative

Inspiring Happy and Healthy Physicians across the Career Lifecycle

Some of these videos are in French only.

Physician Health and Wellness

Physician health and wellness is an issue that resonates with CMA members across the continuum of their career, from medical training, through practice. Despite its rewards, medicine can be a demanding profession with tremendous responsibility. Although important strides have been made to enhance the health and wellness of the physician workforce, barriers remain. Evidence has repeatedly demonstrated that many physicians face a growing list of adverse outcomes, including troubling rates of burnout, depression, substance abuse, suicide and suicidal ideation. These are linked to a myriad of contributing factors, including:

  • disruptive work environments,
  • restricted autonomy,
  • heavy workloads,
  • long hours and fatigue,
  • reduced work-life balance,
  • financial strain,
  • high expectations,
  • stigma,
  • influences within medical culture

Compounding such outcomes for the individual physician, evidence links physician health and wellness to quality of care and patient safety. It is not surprising that the health of Canada’s physician workforce has become an area of public concern.

What Makes a Physician ‘Well’?

It is important to envision health and wellness beyond the presence or absence of disease or infirmity. Maintaining a sense of wellness involves attuning to a multitude of interconnected factors including physical, mental (psychological/emotional), and social. Others may involve environmental, occupational, and intellectual.

Leading from the WHO’s Position Statement on Physician Health, physican health and wellness can be conceptualized as the:

  • Prevention and treatment of acute or chronic issues experienced by physicians, resulting from occupational stressors and hazards
  • Optimization of multiple factors affecting health and wellness

Physical Health:

Being physically active and eating a healthy diet can boost energy, reduce fatigue and help you maintain stamina throughout your daily schedule.

Mental Health:

Physicians in good psychological health report fewer medical errors, fewer patient safety incidents, higher productivity and more sustainable practice.

Social Health:

Maintaining personal and professional relationships can promote positive health and wellness outcomes, and concepts such as mentorship and peer-support are linked to career development and job satisfaction.

Connexion

Le rôle de l’AMC dans la santé et le bien-être des médecins

La stratégie de l’AMC consiste à promouvoir la santé et le bien-être des médecins tout au long de leur carrière par le leadership et la représentation, ainsi que par une perspective de responsabilité commune — de la « personne » au « système » — en se concentrant particulièrement sur les initiatives à l’échelle du système. Bien que la communauté se soit jusqu’ici beaucoup concentrée sur ce que chaque médecin peut faire, l’amélioration de la santé et du bien-être des médecins est une responsabilité commune. Cette nouvelle frontière exige une approche collaborative, partant du sommet, d’abord à l’échelle du système (p. ex., établissements, organisations, communauté), jusqu’à l’échelle individuelle (p. ex., gestes visant à maintenir sa santé et son bien-être personnels).

Activities and Initiatives

CISM

CISM
DATES À RETENIR
TORONTO, du 11 au 13 octobre 2018


Initiatives importantes en cours

  • Révision de la politique de l’AMC sur la santé des médecins
  • Sondage national sur la santé des médecins 2017
  • Collaboration avec des intervenants nationaux, provinciaux et locaux
  • Soutien des programmes provinciaux de santé des médecins par l’entremise du Forum canadien des programmes de santé des médecins (FCPSM) et travail avec eux
  • Promotion de l’initiative stratégique sur le professionnalisme médical de l’AMC

Des médecins inspirants, heureux et en santé à toutes les étapes de la carrière

Certaines de ces vidéos sont en anglais seulement.

Santé et bien-être des médecins

La santé et le bien-être des médecins interpellent les membres de l’AMC tout au long de leur carrière, des études à l’exercice. La médecine est une profession gratifiante, mais elle est aussi exigeante et s’accompagne d’immenses responsabilités. Bien que des avancées importantes aient été réalisées pour améliorer la santé et le bien-être des médecins, il reste des obstacles à surmonter. Il a été démontré plusieurs fois que de nombreux médecins sont aux prises avec une liste grandissante de problèmes, notamment des taux troublants d’épuisement professionnel, de dépression, de toxicomanie, de suicide et de pensées suicidaires. Ces problèmes sont associés à une multitude de facteurs, comme :

  • des environnements de travail perturbateurs;
  • une autonomie réduite;
  • de lourdes charges de travail;
  • des horaires prolongés et de la fatigue;
  • une conciliation travail-vie personnelle difficile;
  • des pressions financières;
  • des attentes élevées;
  • des préjugés;
  • des influences au sein de la culture médicale.

Lorsqu’on combine ces problèmes pour chaque médecin, les données associent la santé et le bien-être des médecins à la qualité des soins et à la sécurité des patients. Il n’est donc pas surprenant que la santé des médecins canadiens soit devenue un sujet d’intérêt public.

Qu’est-ce qui fait qu’un médecin va « bien »?

Il est important de penser à la santé et au bien-être au-delà de la présence ou de l’absence de maladie ou d’invalidité. Pour maintenir un sentiment de bien-être, il faut être à l’écoute d’une multitude de facteurs physiques, mentaux (psychologiques et émotionnels) et sociaux interreliés. Des facteurs environnementaux, professionnels et intellectuels peuvent également entrer en jeu.

D’après l’énoncé de position sur la santé des médecins de l’OMS, la santé et le bien-être des médecins peuvent être conceptualisés comme :

  • la prévention et le traitement des problèmes aigus ou chroniques vécus par les médecins et résultants de facteurs de stress et de dangers professionnels;
  • l’optimisation de divers facteurs influençant la santé et le bien-être.

Santé physique :

L’activité physique et une alimentation saine peuvent vous donner de l’énergie, réduire votre fatigue et vous aider à maintenir votre endurance tout au long de la journée.

Santé mentale :

Les médecins en bonne santé psychologique signalent moins d’erreurs médicales, moins d’incidents compromettant la sécurité des patients, une productivité accrue et une pratique plus durable.

Santé sociale :

Le maintien de relations personnelles et professionnelles peut avoir un effet positif sur la santé et le bien-être, et les concepts comme le mentorat et le soutien par les pairs sont associés au perfectionnement professionnel et à la satisfaction au travail.