Sign In

 Content Editor

​​​​​

16 MDs who made 2016 better for physician-led innovation

2016 was quite the year for physician-led innovation in Canada. In April, the Canadian Medical Association (CMA) launched JouleTM to be a leader and catalyst in this area. As a first step we created the Joule Innovation Council (JIC) bringing together physician entrepreneurs and business leaders to mentor CMA members as they develop their ideas and solutions. By July, the inaugural round of our Innovation grants uncovered 126 would-be physician entrepreneurs trying to make it easier for their peers to practice quality care and to improve patient outcomes in Canada and often around the world. As we close out 2016, we celebrate the first five grant recipients and the 11 physician Innovation Council members for their contributions to changing the landscape of physician-led innovation in Canada and for reminding us all that when it comes to our collective future, the possibilities are endless.

Meet this year’s profiled physicians

Watch this year’s grant recipients talk to their ventures

 
 
 
Joule is dedicated to making it easier for physicians to expand their roles to include "innovator" and "entrepreneur". The next round of Joule Innovation grant applications is now open and will close May 1, 2017. To learn more about Joule Innovation, our grant process and engagement opportunities please download the Joule app and use it daily.

 

"I believe that innovation is a big part of any physician’s job. As such, Joule adds an added layer of value to my CMA membership. Having Joule there provides the leadership and support to facilitate innovation."

Dr. Dale Podolsky
Plastic Surgery Resident
Chief Technical Officer and Founder of Simulare Medical Corp
Joule Innovation grant recipient

Connexion

 Éditeur de contenu

​​​​​

Seize piliers qui ont favorisé l’innovation dirigée par des médecins en 2016

L’année 2016 a été extrêmement propice à l’innovation dirigée par des médecins au Canada. En avril, l’Association médicale canadienne (AMC) a lancé JouleMC afin de se positionner comme chef de file et catalyseur dans ce domaine. Nous avons d’abord créé le Conseil d’innovation de Joule, formé de médecins entrepreneurs et de chefs d’entreprise jouant le rôle de mentors auprès des membres de l’AMC qui souhaitent concrétiser leurs idées et leurs solutions. En juillet, la vague inaugurale de subventions à l’innovation a été octroyée, mettant au jour 126 médecins aspirants entrepreneurs qui s’efforcent d’aider leurs pairs à offrir des soins de qualité et d’améliorer l’état de santé des patients au Canada et, dans bien des cas, partout dans le monde. En cette fin d’année 2016, nous rendons hommage aux cinq premiers bénéficiaires des subventions à l’innovation et aux onze membres du Conseil d’innovation pour leurs contributions à la transformation du paysage de l’innovation dirigée par des médecins au Canada. Ces médecins innovateurs nous rappellent que lorsqu’il s’agit de notre futur à tous, les possibilités sont infinies.

Voici les médecins innovateurs en vedette cette année

Écoutez les bénéficiaires des subventions de cette année vous parler de leur projet

 
Joule a pour mission d’aider les médecins à devenir des innovateurs et des entrepreneurs. La deuxième vague de demandes de subventions à l’innovation de Joule est maintenant commencée et prendra fin le 1er mai 2017. Téléchargez l’application Joule pour en savoir plus en tout temps sur le programme d’innovation de Joule, le processus d’attribution des subventions et les possibilités de participation.

 

« J’estime que l’innovation constitue un élément important du rôle de tout médecin. Joule ajoute donc de la valeur à mon adhésion à l’AMC en offrant le leadership et le soutien nécessaires pour faciliter l’innovation. »

Dr Dale Podolsky
Résident en chirurgie plastique
Technicien en chef et fondateur de Simulare Medical Corp
Bénéficiaire d’une subvention à l’innovation de Joule