Sign In

Physicians would be wary of providing assistance in dying for mature minors, patients with sole diagnosis of mental illness

Although an overwhelming majority (90%) of Canadian Medical Association (CMA) members who responded to a recent survey on medical assistance in dying (MAiD) support having new federal legislation in place, only approximately 25% say they are willing to participate.

On average, 90% of respondents felt there was a need for federal legislation, including robust patient safeguards, to ensure a consistent legislative/regulatory framework for MAiD across Canada, but results varied slightly across the country. In Newfoundland, almost all respondents (98%) felt this way while in Quebec, 84% agreed on the need for federal legislation.

“Based on what our members and patients have told us, the CMA considered a federal law on medical assistance in dying to be extremely important,” said CMA President, Dr. Cindy Forbes. “Now that the law is in place, Canada must move to address the critical underlying issues confronting end-of-life care in this country, specifically improving access to high-quality palliative care for all Canadians who need it.”

Consistent with previous CMA surveys, approximately 25% of respondents indicated that they would be willing to participate in assistance in dying for their patients. The majority of respondents indicated they would not participate (61%) or were not sure if they would (14%).

Of those willing to participate, less than a quarter (22%) would consider providing the service for patients whose sole diagnosis is mental illness, 59% would provide it for non-terminal physical illness and 38% would provide the service to mature minors, were these issues to be covered under future federal legislation. The federal government has committed to further study of these issues, and the CMA will be an active participant in that process.

Of those who were definitive about not providing the service (61%), two thirds (67%) would also be uncomfortable referring to a colleague who would provide it. Those who were uncertain as to their own participation (14%), on the other hand, were more likely to be comfortable making a referral with 91% saying so. The issue of mandatory referral continues to be a concern particularly in Ontario, where a court challenge has been launched against the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario.

“The CMA believes that establishing a central referral system is the best way to ensure access to assistance in dying for patients who desire the service while protecting the rights of physicians who conscientiously object to providing it on moral or ethical grounds,” said Dr. Forbes. “Setting up such a structure is a key next step.”

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Les médecins hésiteraient à fournir une aide à mourir aux mineurs matures et aux patients dont le seul diagnostic est une maladie mentale

Bien qu’une majorité écrasante (90 %) des membres de l’Association médicale canadienne (AMC) qui ont répondu à un récent sondage sur l’aide médicale à mourir soient satisfaits qu’une nouvelle loi fédérale soit en place, seulement 25 % environ disent qu’ils sont prêts à offrir ce service.

En moyenne, 90 % des répondants ont dit qu’il fallait une loi fédérale, comprenant notamment de solides garanties pour les patients, afin d’assurer un cadre législatif et réglementaire cohérent sur l’aide médicale à mourir partout au Canada. Cependant, les résultats varient légèrement d’une région à l’autre. À Terre-Neuve, presque tous les répondants (98 %) sont de cet avis, alors qu’au Québec, 84 % des répondants ont dit qu’une loi fédérale était nécessaire.

« D’après ce que nous disaient les membres et les patients, l’AMC estimait qu’une loi fédérale sur l’aide médicale à mourir était extrêmement importante », a dit la présidente de l’AMC, la Dre Cindy Forbes. « Maintenant que la loi est en vigueur, le Canada doit donner suite aux enjeux critiques sous-jacents des soins de fin de vie, en particulier l’amélioration de l’accès à des soins palliatifs de qualité pour tous les Canadiens qui en ont besoin. »

Comme c’était le cas lors des sondages précédents de l’AMC, environ 25 % des répondants ont dit qu’ils seraient prêts à offrir une aide médicale à mourir à leurs patients. La majorité des répondants ont dit qu’ils ne participeraient pas à l’acte (61 %), alors que d’autres étaient indécis (14 %).

Parmi ceux qui seraient prêts à offrir ce service, moins d’un quart (22 %) envisagerait de l’offrir aux patients dont le seul diagnostic est une maladie mentale, 59 % l’offriraient en cas de maladie physique qui n’est pas en phase terminale et 38 % le fourniraient aux mineurs matures, si ces aspects étaient pris en compte dans une future loi fédérale. Le gouvernement fédéral s’est engagé à étudier ces questions plus avant, et l’AMC participera activement à ce processus.

Parmi ceux qui refusent catégoriquement d’offrir ce service (61 %), deux tiers (67 %) ne seraient pas à l’aise d’orienter un patient vers un collègue qui l’offre. D’un autre côté, ceux qui sont indécis quant à leur propre participation (14 %) seraient probablement plus à l’aise d’orienter des patients vers d’autres ressources (91 %). La question d’orientation obligatoire du patient vers d’autres ressources demeure une préoccupation, en particulier en Ontario, où une contestation judiciaire a été entreprise contre l’Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l’Ontario.

« L’AMC croit que la mise en place d’un système central de coordination des ressources et de coordination des patients est le meilleur moyen d’assurer l’accès à l’aide à mourir des patients qui veulent recevoir ce service, tout en protégeant le droit de conscience des médecins qui s’opposent à l’acte pour des raisons morales ou éthiques », a dit la Dre Forbes. « L’établissement d’une telle structure est une prochaine étape essentielle. »

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.