Sign In

​Engaging others

This course is also available in a 6-week online format. Register below or contact us to find out more. Participants need to be a CMA member to access the course through the CMA’s learning management system (LMS).

Please click to view computer requirements for online courses.


When leading and managing others in health care organizations, one must frequently work across functions, distance and cultures. This course focuses on the core practical skills that leaders need to succeed in this environment. It introduces several pragmatic tools for engagement and influence, which are particularly useful when you need to gain the commitment and cooperation of people outside your sphere of organizational authority. The course will address what it means to be engaged — and to engage others — by tapping into people’s potential.

Return on investment

  • Define engagement and assess your own (and others’) engagement in the workplace.
  • Describe a strengths-based approach to building engagement.
  • Discuss strategies for motivating others and building trust.
  • Distinguish dialogue from other forms of discourse.
  • Practise: powerful listening approaches to discover common ground and mutual insight.
  • Prepare the steps required for providing constructive feedback.
  • Describe the major principles behind coaching.
  • Apply a framework for facilitating a high-performing team.

To deepen and anchor your learning, this course provides access to the online leadership assessment tool Work Engagement Profile®, which you will complete pre-course. In addition, we recommend that you purchase the book Strengths Based Leadership by Tom Rath and Barry Conchie and complete the online Strengthsfinder 2.0 Assessment to receive your personalized Strengths Based Leadership Guide. (NOTE: Access code is in the book.)

Duration

2.5 days

Maximum class size

40 participants

Faculty team

Paul Mohapel, PhD
Monica Olsen, BScN, BA, MHRD


Dates, prices and to register


For open-enrolment PLI course information please call 800-663-7336 x8455 or e-mail pli@cma.ca.

Connexion

​Motiver les autres

(Ce cours est offert en anglais.)

Ce cours est aussi offert en format en ligne (six semaines). Inscrivez-vous ci-dessous, ou contactez-nous pour en savoir plus. Les participants doivent être membres de l’AMC pour accéder au cours par l’intermédiaire du système de gestion d’apprentissage de l’AMC.

Veuillez voir les configurations recommandées pour les cours en ligne.


Les leaders et les gestionnaires des organisations du secteur de la santé doivent souvent interagir avec des personnes occupant diverses fonctions, issues de milieux culturels différents et travaillant dans divers lieux. Ce cours met l’accent sur les compétences pratiques essentielles dont les leaders ont besoin pour réussir dans un tel contexte. On y présente plusieurs outils pragmatiques favorisant la motivation et l’influence, outils particulièrement utiles lorsqu’il faut solliciter l’engagement et la coopération de gens qui ne relèvent pas de votre autorité organisationnelle directe. Le cours traite de l’engagement personnel et de la façon de mobiliser les gens en misant sur leur potentiel.

Rendement de l’investissement

  • Définir la motivation et évaluer votre participation (et celle des autres) au travail.
  • Décrire la motivation basée sur les points forts.
  • Discuter de stratégies de motivation à suivre pour motiver les autres et gagner leur confiance.
  • Distinguer le dialogue d’autres formes d’intervention.
  • Pratiquer des méthodes d’écoute puissantes pour découvrir des terrains d’entente et des points de vue mutuels.
  • Préparer les étapes à franchir pour formuler de la rétroaction constructive.
  • Décrire les grands principes qui sous-tendent le mentorat.

Afin d’approfondir et d’ancrer votre apprentissage, ce cours vous donne accès à l’outil en ligne d’évaluation du leadership Work Engagement ProfileMD, que vous remplirez avant le cours. Nous vous recommandons en outre d’acheter l’ouvrage intitulé Strengths Based Leadership de Tom Rath et Barry Conchie et de répondre à l’évaluation en ligne Strengthsfinder 2.0 Assessment pour recevoir votre édition personnalisée de Strengths Based Leadership Guide. (NOTE : Le code d’accès est dans le livre.)

Durée

2,5 jours

Nombre maximal de participants

40 participants

Membres du corps professoral

Paul Mohapel, PhD
Monica Olsen, BScN, BA, MHRD


Dates, prix et inscription


Pour obtenir de l’information sur l’inscription libre au cours de l'ILM, veuillez composer
le 800-663-7336, poste 8455 ou envoyer un message électronique à ilm@amc.ca.