Sign In

​Physician leadership focus: Put unrelenting distractions in their place


In an era of unrelenting distractions, demands, and pressures, physician leaders, now more than ever, need to learn to sharpen focus in order to thrive in the complex world of healthcare. Recent research suggests that as leaders move into more senior positions, their attention and social skills suffer. The hectic pace of leading appears to be contributing to greater stress, poorer focus, and reduced productiveness. Moreover, modern technology, such as email, has been shown to be the leading cause of workplace distraction.

Daniel Goleman states in his most recent book Focus: The Hidden Driver of Excellence that “attention is a mental muscle, and can be strengthened with the right practice”. Research shows how high-performers demonstrate higher levels of sustained attention and better manage potential distractions. Specifically, these high performers instill practices—such as mindfulness meditation, focused preparation, recovery from setbacks, continued attention to learning, and positive emotions and connections—that help them improve habits, add new skills, and sustain excellence.

This course will utilize cutting-edge research with relevant case studies to reveal how the ability to focus distinguishes “stars” from average leaders. The course will assist physician leaders in not only paying attention to what matters to them personally, but also enhancing their attention on building relationships and increasing focus on issues of their complex environment. The course emphasizes a “hands-on”, practical application to establish effective leadership skills that enhance focus and attention, and ultimately performance.

Learning objectives

At the end of this course, you will be able to:

  • Identify how the modern healthcare workplace contributes to distraction and poor performance.
  • Examine the link between attention, resilience, empathy and relationships building.
  • Discuss how to cultivate focused awareness and minimize distractions.
  • Practice mindfulness, reflective practice, and communication techniques to enhance performance.

Duration

2 days

Maximum class size

30 participants

Faculty team

Paul Mohapel, PhD


Dates, prices and to register


For open-enrolment PLI course information please call 800-663-7336 x8455 or e-mail pli@cma.ca.

Connexion

Optimiser la concentration du médecin leader : apprendre à repousser les distractions incessantes


Aujourd’hui, confrontés à des distractions, des demandes et une pression continuelles, les médecins leaders doivent plus que jamais apprendre à se concentrer pour prospérer dans le monde complexe des soins de santé. Des études récentes suggèrent que lorsque les leaders accèdent à des fonctions plus élevées, leur attention et leurs aptitudes sociales en souffrent. Le rythme effréné imposé aux dirigeants semble contribuer à une augmentation du stress et à une diminution de l’attention et de la productivité. Qui plus est, il a été prouvé que les technologies modernes telles que le courriel sont la principale source de distraction en milieu de travail.

Dans son dernier livre, Focus : The Hidden Driver of Excellence, Daniel Goleman affirme que « l’attention est un muscle mental qui peut être renforcé par les bonnes pratiques ». Certaines études montrent d’ailleurs comment les professionnels les plus performants exercent une attention soutenue et gèrent mieux les distractions potentielles. Ces individus adoptent des pratiques comme la méditation de la pleine conscience, la préparation ciblée, la récupération après des revers, l’attention continue à l’apprentissage et les émotions et les contacts positifs pour améliorer leurs habitudes, développer de nouvelles compétences et maintenir leur excellence.

Ce cours fait appel à des recherches d’avant-garde étayées par des études de cas pertinentes pour montrer comment la capacité à se concentrer distingue les leaders « étoiles » des leaders ordinaires. Ce cours aidera les médecins leaders à demeurer attentifs à ce qui importe à leurs yeux, mais aussi à se concentrer davantage sur la création de liens ainsi que sur les problèmes présents dans leur environnement complexe. Il privilégie une approche pratique pour favoriser le développement de compétences efficaces en leadership qui augmentent la capacité d’attention et, en définitive, le rendement.

Objectifs d’apprentissage

Au terme de ce cours, vous serez en mesure :

  • De voir comment le milieu de la santé moderne contribue à détourner l’attention et nuit au rendement.
  • D’examiner le lien entre l’attention, la résilience, l’empathie et la création de liens.
  • De discuter de la façon d’encourager les prises de conscience et de minimiser les distractions.
  • D’utiliser la pleine conscience, la pratique réflexive et la communication pour améliorer votre rendement.

Durée

2 jours

Taille maximale du groupe

30 participants

Membre du corps professoral

Paul Mohapel, PhD


Dates, prix et inscription


Pour obtenir de l’information sur l’inscription libre au cours de l'ILM, veuillez composer
le 800-663-7336, poste 8455 ou envoyer un message électronique à ilm@amc.ca.