Sign In

Self-awareness and effective leadership


Self-awareness means having a strong sense of who you are, what you can do and where you’re going as a leader — coupled with the ability to manage your communication, emotions and behaviours. In this course, you will gain insight into the personal attributes essential for effective leadership.

By exploring best practices and emerging trends, you will delve into the dynamics of leadership. Using the concepts of emotional intelligence and temperament theory, you will explore how to communicate more effectively to create positive, enduring work relationships. A variety of tools and techniques will help you assess your personal leadership capacity and enhance your ability to influence and lead others.

Return on investment

  • Explore the complexity of roles, values, challenges and satisfactions of physician leadership
  • Interpret your emotional intelligence strengths and areas for development
  • Discuss the relevance of your personal effectiveness profile for your role as a leader
  • Develop communication strategies for adapting and connecting with others
  • Discuss techniques for self-management that enhance well-being
  • Create a professional development action plan for your leadership practice

Because self-awareness is important to a leader, this course provides access to the online leadership assessment tool Insights® Discovery® Personal Profile, and the emotional intelligence assessment tool MHS Bar-On EQ-i™ 2.0 Workplace Report ― both of which you will have completed pre-course.

Duration

2.5 days

Maximum class size

40 participants

Faculty team

Jamie Campbell, MEd, BEd, BA(Hon)
Mamta Gautam, MD, FRCPC, CPDC
Paul Mohapel, PhD
Monica Olsen, MHRD, BScN, BA


Dates, prices and to register


For open-enrolment PLI course information please call 800-663-7336 x8455 or e-mail pli@cma.ca.

Connexion

​Conscience de soi et leadership efficace

(Ce cours est offert en anglais.)


La conscience de soi signifie avoir une bonne idée de son identité, de ce que l’on peut faire et de son orientation comme chef de file et posséder la capacité de gérer ses communications, ses émotions et ses comportements. Ce cours vous donnera une idée des qualités personnelles essentielles à un leadership efficace.

En explorant les pratiques exemplaires et les tendances émergentes, vous plongerez dans la dynamique du leadership. Vous vous servirez des concepts de l’intelligence émotionnelle et de la théorie du tempérament pour explorer comment communiquer plus efficacement afin de créer des relations de travail positives et durables. Des outils et des techniques variés vous aideront à évaluer votre capacité de leadership personnelle et à améliorer votre aptitude à influencer et à diriger d’autres personnes.

Rendement de l’investissement

  • Explorer la complexité des rôles, des valeurs, des défis et des satisfactions du leadership médical.
  • Interpréter vos forces et vos points à améliorer en matière d’intelligence émotionnelle.
  • Discuter de la pertinence de votre profil personnel d’efficacité dans votre rôle de chef de file.
  • Élaborer des stratégies de communication pour vous adapter et établir des contacts avec d’autres personnes.
  • Discuter des techniques d’auto-prise en charge qui améliorent le mieux-être.
  • Créer un plan d’action en développement professionnel pour votre rôle de leadership.

Étant donné l’importance de la conscience de soi pour les chefs de file, le cours donne accès à l’outil d’évaluation en ligne du leadership Insights® Discovery® Personal Profile et à l’outil d’évaluation de l’intelligence émotionnelle Bar-On EQ-iMC 2.0 Workplace Report de MHS. Les participants auront rempli les questionnaires d’évaluation avant le cours.

Durée

2,5 jours

Nombre maximal de participants

40 participants

Membres du corps professoral

Jamie Campbell, MEd, BEd, BA(Hon)
Mamta Gautam, MD, FRCPC, CPDC
Paul Mohapel, PhD
Monica Olsen, MHRD, BScN, BA


Dates, prix et inscription


Pour obtenir de l’information sur l’inscription libre au cours de l'ILM, veuillez composer
le 800-663-7336, poste 8455 ou envoyer un message électronique à ilm@amc.ca.