Sign In

​​​​​​Privacy policies for the CMA and its subsidiaries

CMA and its subsidiaries have always valued your privacy and acted to ensure that it is protected.

CMA and its subsidiaries have enacted policies to put into writing current practices, and to conform to recent and anticipated legislative requirements requiring organizations to have written privacy policies.

Executive Summary of CMA Corporate Privacy Policy
CMA Corporate Privacy Policy

The CMA Corporate Privacy Policy applies to all personal information, excluding CMA employee information and information in the public domain, that has been and will be collected, used and disclosed by CMA.

Online Privacy Statement for

CMA has a separate but consistent online privacy policy for the website called the Online Privacy Statement for This document addresses such web-specific topics as the use of cookies and e-commerce.

We have recently revised the Online Privacy Statement to keep our information handling practices current and transparent. These changes include sharing your contact and usage information if you are a registered user with the other companies in the CMA Group of Companies (see Disclosing Information, para. 1), further details with respect to our arrangements with advertisers and sponsors (see Disclosing Information, para. 2), and providing the ability to use your information for product support purposes (see Why We Collect Information at If you have any questions about these changes, contact us by sending an email to

CMA Holdings Incorporated Privacy Policy​​
This privacy policy describes the CMA Holdings Inc.'s current information management practices and confirms our commitment to comply with the federal government's Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act (“PIPEDA”) in order to meet the specific needs and expectations of our clients.

Online Privacy Statement for

The CMA recognizes the importance of protecting the privacy of personal information. You have a right to know the types of information collected by the website, and how and why we collect and use it. You also have a right to choose whether you wish to provide us with this personal information or have it collected.

Please read this privacy statement carefully so that you will understand how your personal information will be treated as you make use of our site. By using the site, you agree to the terms of this privacy statement.

The range of services offered at continues to expand. In future, we may make changes to our privacy policy. We will notify you of any substantial changes and obtain your consent to any significant new uses of your personal information if it was collected from you prior to such a change. We recommend that you check this posted privacy statement regularly to ensure that you have viewed the most recent version. If you do not agree to the terms of this privacy statement or any revised statement, please exit the site immediately.

This online privacy statement is subject to CMA’s Corporate Privacy Policy.

What information is collected at, and how it’s collected

We collect the following information from users of

  • information at registration such as your CMA ID number, date of birth, email address, practice status, and communication preferences
  • information during e-commerce transactions such as name, address, transaction details and credit card information if you are a registered user, information about your usage of such as the products and services you use
  • anonymous non-personal computer information through the use of cookie technology
  • information you voluntarily provide within your 'Dashboard' such as communication preferences
  • information when you respond to requests for feedback and other opportunities to comment on products and services offered on, or on CMA policy
  • information such as your email address when you subscribe to features like email alerts and other products and services offered on

Visiting our sites

When you visit our websites from a link on another website and move from page to page, read pages, search for content or download content onto your computer, we learn which pages are visited, what content is downloaded, and the address of websites that you visited immediately before coming to our website. However, this information is used only in aggregate.

How we use information collected on our website

We use this information to find out how many people visit our website and which sections of the site are visited most frequently. This helps us to know what type of information is most useful to you so that we can improve our website and make it easier for you to access information. We record the statistical information on the numbers of visitors to our website, but no personal information about you will be kept or used.

Using our interactive services

When you register as a user we compile a profile of you for that service (e.g. name, address, CMA ID, username, password, etc.). Each time you use our Internet services, we use your profile to collect information about the transactions that you complete and the informational pages of the website that you visit while using the service. In certain instances we may collect your IP address (which identifies the internet address of the computer you are using) to identify you as a unique user.

  • We use your profile in responding to your enquiries about selected services.
  • We use your profile to identify you as a user of the service.
  • We use the transaction information in the aggregate to assess and improve the service.
  • We use specific transaction information for servicing purposes (e.g. registering you for a meeting).

We also use both your transaction information and the informational pages of the website that you have visited to help us determine areas of interest so that we can offer other products and services to you.

At this time, CMA does not accept third-party advertising on the website. If that changes in the future, this privacy statement will be updated to explain how information is shared with them.


Cookies are small text files a website creates when you visit a site. There are two common types of cookies, “session cookies” and “persistent cookies”. Session cookies store information only for the length of time that you are connected to a website. Unlike “persistent cookies” they are not written onto your hard drive.

The use of cookies is an industry standard and many major websites use them to provide useful features to their visitors. Cookies in and of themselves do not personally identify users, although they do identify a user’s computer.

With most web browsers, you can choose to reject all cookies or accept cookies only from certain sites. You can also choose to delete cookies or to receive a warning before a cookie is used. Please refer to your browser instructions or help screen to learn more about these functions.

On, session cookies are used as part of the login process. If you choose to reject cookies from, you will not be able to login and use all the functions and services on the site.

We also use session cookies to learn how all our visitors navigate throughout the various parts of the website. This website tracking data is used in the aggregate to help us provide the most efficient service and navigational tools for our visitors.

Cookies can also make your use of the web easier by saving language and login preferences. You can indicate whether or not you wish to have your language and login preferences saved by checking the “Keep me logged in” box at registration, in the login box or on the ‘Personal information’ within your Dashboard. If this option is checked, persistent cookies are used to store your language preference and login information so that you will not need to enter your login id each time you visit the site. If this option is not selected you may need to re-enter your login information every time you visit the site.

Why we collect information at

We collect information at the site for the following purposes, or consistent with the following

  • to register you as a physician visitor and confirm your status as a physician and CMA member for the gated portions of the website
  • to create internal reports to understand individual and aggregate web usage and activity levels
  • to communicate with you
    • to confirm that you have successfully registered
    • to provide you with information such as updates about features, content on the website, medical specialty CME alerts etc.
    • to help us identify and resolve technical issues you may experience while visiting
    • to provide you with the opportunity to provide feedback on the website and CMA products, services or policies
    • to provide you with the opportunity to participate in online CME needs assessments
    • to provide you with product support on services available on the site
    • to provide you with information about benefits and services offered by CMA and its subsidiary companies, as well as third party service providers
    • in exceptional circumstances, to inform Canadian physicians of urgent health alerts of national importance
    • to customize your experience of the website through data collected using cookies and pixels
    • to complete your e-commerce transactions, such as meeting registrations and product purchases, and for billing and shipping of goods or services sold. We retain a record of your billing and shipping information for accounting and customer support purposes. For credit card information, we retain the cardholder name, card issuer, expiry date and the last four digits of the credit card number for the purposes of making available to you your purchase history over time, and to guard against fraud and wrongful use.

You can change your mind at any time about receiving email communication by using the unsubscribe instructions provided with each email with the exception of urgent health alerts. As well, your email preference is saved in a part of the website within Personal Information in your ‘Dashboard. You can also change your email preferences by accessing your profile anytime.

Disclosing information

We do not sell or trade the personal information collected at We share personal information about you with third parties to provide you with the products or services you have purchased (for example, for credit card processing). We may share your personal information with CMA subsidiary companies. We may also share your personal information under authority of a valid legal requirement such as a law, regulation or search warrant. In all other cases, we will seek your permission before we disclose personal information.

Accessing and objecting to the collection, use and disclosure of personal information

If at any time you wish to update the information you provided during registration, to verify its accuracy, or to opt out of any use of your personal information, log into your account and visit your ‘Dashboard’. and/or email ​Please note that your notification preferences (such as email) will apply to transactions only. If you wish to change your mailing and contact information for the Canadian Medical Association and its subsidiaries call the Member Centre at 888-855-2555.

If you object to providing some personal information, we may not be able to give you access to certain portions of the website because these are reserved for physicians and members only. These require your CMA ID number for access. However, if you do not wish to provide your date of birth in order to register for the website, contact the CMA Member Centre at 888-855-2555 to discuss the alternate process available.


The website has physical and technical measures in place to ensure the security of information. It uses state-of-the-art technology to safeguard your data. Servers reside in Canada in pass-code-secured rooms accessible to only a limited group of authorized personnel. All access to these rooms is tracked through video surveillance. We also use advanced encryption and firewall technology. Although we make every reasonable effort to protect your personal information from loss, misuse or alteration by third parties, you should be aware that there is always some risk involved in transmitting information over the Internet.

Questions about this policy statement

We will in all cases respect your privacy preferences.

This privacy statement applies only to the website. You should be aware that the site contains links to other websites, and we are not responsible for the privacy practices of other sites. We encourage you to look for and review the privacy statements of every website you visit through a link on, or at any site that collects personal information from you.

If you have any questions about the online privacy statement, email

Connexion

​Politiques de l’AMC et de ses filiales sur la protection des renseignements personnels

L’AMC et ses filiales ont toujours respecté la confidentialité de vos renseignements personnels et pris des mesures pour les protéger.

L’AMC et ses filiales ont adopté des politiques organisationnelles afin de consigner par écrit leurs pratiques en vigueur et de se conformer aux exigences législatives récentes et prévues qui obligent les organisations à avoir des politiques écrites sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Politique organisationnelle de l’AMC sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Politique organisationnelle sur la participation à des sondages (« Politique sur les sondages »)

 

La Politique organisationnelle de l’AMC sur la protection des renseignements personnels s’applique à tous les renseignements personnels, à l’exclusion des renseignements des employés de l’AMC et des renseignements publics qui ont été et seront recueillis, utilisés et divulgués par l’AMC.

Déclaration relative à la protection des renseignements personnels sur le site Web amc.ca

L’AMC a une politique distincte, mais conforme sur les renseignements personnels en ligne pour son site Web, soit la Déclaration relative à la protection des renseignements personnels sur le site Web amc.ca. Ce document traite de sujets particuliers au Web comme l’utilisation de témoins et les transactions commerciales électroniques.

Nous avons révisé récemment la Déclaration relative à la protection des renseignements personnels sur le site amc.ca, pour mettre à jour nos pratiques de traitement des renseignements et en assurer la transparence. Ces changements portent notamment sur le partage de vos coordonnées et de vos données d’utilisation, si vous êtes un utilisateur inscrit auprès des autres sociétés du Groupe de sociétés Holding AMC (voir La divulgation de renseignements, premier paragraphe), ajoutent des détails relatifs à nos arrangements avec les annonceurs et les commanditaires (voir La divulgation de renseignements, deuxième paragraphe) et permettent d’utiliser vos renseignements dans le contexte du soutien de produits (voir Les motifs pour lesquels nous recueillons des renseignements sur le site amc.ca). Pour toute question sur ces modifications, veuillez nous envoyer un courriel à privacy@cma.ca.

Holding financier MD inc. sur la protection de la vie privée
Cette politique sur la confidentialité décrit les pratiques en vigueur de gestion de l’information de Holding financier MD inc. et confirme que nous sommes déterminés à nous conformer aux exigences de la Loi fédérale sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques (la « LPRPDE ») afin de répondre aux attentes et aux besoins particuliers de nos clients.

Déclaration sur la protection des renseignements personnels en ligne pour amc.ca

L’AMC reconnaît qu’il importe de protéger la confidentialité des renseignements personnels. Vous avez le droit de savoir quels types de renseignements le site Web amc.ca recueille, et comment et pourquoi nous les recueillons et les utilisons. Vous avez aussi le droit de décider si vous voulez ou non nous fournir ces renseignements personnels ou nous laisser les recueillir.

Veuillez lire attentivement la présente déclaration sur la protection des renseignements personnels afin de comprendre comment vos renseignements personnels seront traités lorsque vous utiliserez notre site. En utilisant le site Web amc.ca, vous acceptez les conditions de la présente déclaration sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

L’éventail des services que nous offrons sur amc.ca continue de s’élargir. Nous pourrons à l’avenir modifier notre politique sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Nous vous préviendrons de toute modification importante et nous vous demanderons votre consentement pour toute utilisation nouvelle importante de vos renseignements personnels si vous les avez fournis avant une telle modification. Nous vous recommandons de vérifier régulièrement la page de la présente déclaration sur la protection des renseignements personnels pour vous assurer de prendre connaissance de la version la plus récente. Si vous n’acceptez pas les modalités de cette politique ou de toute version révisée, veuillez quitter le site immédiatement.

Cette déclaration sur la protection des renseignements personnels est assujettie à la politique générale de l’AMC en la matière.

Quels renseignements nous recueillons sur amc.ca et comment nous les recueillons

Nous recueillons les renseignements suivants des usagers d’amc.ca :

  • renseignements à l’inscription comme votre numéro d’identité de l’AMC, votre date de naissance, votre adresse électronique, ainsi que le statut de votre pratique et vos préférences en matière de communication;
  • renseignements pendant les opérations de commerce électronique comme le nom, l’adresse, la description des opérations et les renseignements liés à la carte de crédit si vous êtes un utilisateur inscrit, des renseignements au sujet de votre utilisation du site comme les produits et les services que vous utilisez;
  • renseignements informatiques non personnels anonymes au moyen de l’utilisation de témoins;
  • renseignements que vous fournissez volontairement dans votre « tableau de bord » comme vos préférences en matière de communication;
  • renseignements tirés de vos réponses aux demandes de commentaires, notamment sur les produits et services offerts sur le site amc.ca ou sur la politique de l’AMC;
  • renseignements ‒ comme votre adresse électronique – fournis lorsque vous vous inscrivez à des services comme les alertes électroniques et d’autres produits et services offerts sur le site amc.ca.

Visite de nos sites

Lorsque vous visitez nos sites à partir d’un lien qui se trouve sur un autre site Web et passez d’une page à l’autre, lisez des pages, recherchez du contenu ou téléchargez du contenu sur votre ordinateur, nous savons quelles pages vous visitez, quel contenu vous téléchargez, et nous connaissons l’adresse des sites Web que vous avez visités immédiatement avant d’arriver sur le nôtre. Les renseignements servent toutefois de façon agrégée seulement.

Comment nous utilisons l’information recueillie sur notre site Web

Nous utilisons cette information pour déterminer combien de personnes visitent notre site Web et les sections de celui-ci qui sont visitées le plus souvent. Cette information nous aide à déterminer le type de renseignements qui vous seront les plus utiles, à améliorer notre site Web et à vous faciliter l’accès à l’information. Nous consignons les données statistiques sur le nombre de visiteurs de notre site Web, mais nous ne garderons ni n’utiliserons aucun renseignement personnel à votre sujet.

Utilisation de nos services interactifs

Lorsque vous vous inscrivez comme utilisateur d’amc.ca, nous traçons votre profil pour les besoins de ce service (p. ex., nom, adresse, numéro d’identité de l’AMC, nom d’utilisateur, mot de passe, etc.). Chaque fois que vous utilisez nos services Internet, nous accédons à votre profil pour recueillir de l’information sur les opérations que vous effectuez et les pages d’information du site Web que vous visitez pendant que vous utilisez le service. Dans certains cas, nous pouvons noter votre adresse IP (qui indique l’adresse Internet de l’ordinateur que vous utilisez) pour vous identifier comme utilisateur unique.

  • Nous utilisons votre profil pour répondre à vos demandes de renseignements sur certains services.
  • Nous utilisons votre profil amc.ca pour vous identifier comme usager du service.
  • Nous utilisons l’information sur les opérations de façon agrégée pour évaluer et améliorer le service.
  • Nous utilisons des renseignements sur des transactions précises aux fins de l’entretien (p. ex., pour vous inscrire à une réunion).

Nous utilisons aussi à la fois les renseignements sur vos opérations et les pages d’information du site Web que vous avez visitées pour déterminer les domaines qui vous intéressent afin que nous puissions vous offrir d’autres produits et services.

Pour le moment, l’AMC n’accepte pas de publicité de tierces parties sur le site Web amc.ca. Si la situation change, nous mettrons à jour cette déclaration sur la protection des renseignements personnels pour expliquer comment l’information est partagée avec les intéressés.

Témoins

Les témoins (cookies) sont de petits fichiers texte qu’un site Web crée lorsque vous le visitez. Il y a deux types courants de témoins, les « témoins de session » et les « témoins permanents ». Les premiers stockent des renseignements seulement pendant que vous êtes branché à un site. Contrairement aux « témoins permanents », ils ne sont pas enregistrés sur votre disque dur. L’utilisation de témoins est une norme de l’industrie et beaucoup de grands sites Web s’en servent pour offrir des fonctionnalités utiles à leurs visiteurs. En soi, les témoins n’identifient pas les usagers personnellement, même s’ils identifient leur ordinateur.

La plupart des navigateurs Web permettent de rejeter tous les témoins ou d’accepter ceux de certains sites seulement. Vous pouvez aussi décider de supprimer les témoins ou de recevoir un avertissement avant qu’un témoin soit utilisé. Pour en savoir davantage au sujet de ces fonctions, veuillez consulter les instructions d’utilisation de votre navigateur ou l’écran d’aide. Sur amc.ca, les témoins de session servent au processus d’entrée en communication. Si vous décidez de rejeter les témoins d’amc.ca, vous ne pouvez entrer sur le site et utiliser l’ensemble des fonctions et des services qu’il offre.

Nous utilisons aussi des témoins de session pour déterminer comment nos visiteurs s’y retrouvent dans les diverses sections du site Web. Ces données de suivi sur le site Web servent globalement à offrir à nos visiteurs le service et les outils de navigation les plus efficients. Les témoins peuvent aussi faciliter l’utilisation de la toile en sauvegardant vos préférences relatives à la langue et à l’entrée en communication. Vous pouvez indiquer si vous voulez ou non que vos préférences relatives à la langue et à l’entrée en communication soient sauvegardées en cochant la case « Keep me logged in » au moment de l’inscription, dans la case en cause, ou dans les « renseignements personnels » de votre tableau de bord. Si cette option est cochée, des témoins permanents servent à mémoriser vos préférences en matière linguistique et vos renseignements sur l’entrée en communication afin que vous n’ayez pas à entrer en communication chaque fois que vous visitez le site. Si cette option n’est pas sélectionnée, vous devrez peut-être entrer de nouveau vos données d’entrée en communication chaque fois que vous visitez le site.

Pourquoi nous recueillons de l’information à amc.ca

Nous recueillons des renseignements sur le site amc.ca aux fins suivantes et aux fins compatibles avec les suivantes :

  • pour vous inscrire comme médecin visiteur sur le site amc.ca et confirmer votre statut de médecin et de membre de l’AMC pour les parties protégées du site Web;
  • pour créer des rapports internes afin de comprendre l’utilisation et les niveaux d’activité par personne et dans l’ensemble;
  • pour communiquer avec vous afin
    • de confirmer votre inscription réussie;
    • de vous fournir des renseignements sur des sujets comme les mises à jour des services et du contenu du site Web ou des alertes EMC sur les spécialités médicales, etc.;
    • afin de nous aider à identifier et à résoudre les problèmes techniques que vous pourriez rencontrer lorsque vous consultez le site amc.ca de vous permettre de formuler des commentaires sur le site Web, ainsi que sur les produits, services et politiques de l’AMC;
    • de vous permettre de formuler des commentaires sur le site Web, ainsi que sur les produits, services et politiques de l’AMC;
    • de vous permettre de participer à des évaluations en ligne de vos besoins en EMC;
    • de vous fournir un service de soutien en matière de produits offerts sur le site;
    • de vous fournir des renseignements au sujet des avantages et des services offerts par l’AMC et ses filiales, ainsi que par d’autres fournisseurs de services;
    • d’informer les médecins canadiens d’alertes santé urgentes d’importance nationale dans des cas exceptionnels;
    • de personnaliser votre expérience du site amc.ca au moyen de données recueillies au moyen de témoins et de pixels
    • pour compléter vos opérations de commerce électronique, comme les inscriptions à des réunions et les achats de produits et aux fins de la facturation et de l’expédition des produits ou services vendus. Nous gardons un dossier de vos renseignements de facturation et d’expédition pour les besoins de la comptabilité et du soutien à la clientèle. Quant aux renseignements sur votre carte de crédit, nous gardons le nom du titulaire de la carte, celui de l’émetteur, la date d’expiration et seulement les quatre derniers chiffres du numéro de carte de crédit pour pouvoir mettre à votre disposition vos statistiques d’achat et pour vous protéger contre la fraude et l’utilisation abusive.

Sauf en ce qui concerne les alertes santé urgentes, vous pouvez changer d’idée n’importe quand au sujet de la réception de communications électroniques en suivant les instructions pour vous désabonner qui sont jointes à chaque message électronique. Vos préférences relatives au courrier électronique sont sauvegardées dans une partie du site Web amc.ca, dans vos renseignements personnels consignés dans votre « tableau de bord ». Vous pouvez modifier vos préférences relatives au courrier électronique en accédant à votre profil n’importe quand.

La divulgation de renseignements

Nous ne vendons ni n’échangeons les renseignements personnels recueillis sur le site amc.ca. Nous communiquons à des tiers des renseignements personnels à votre sujet afin de vous fournir les produits ou services que vous avez achetés (traitement de carte de crédit ou soutien de produits, par exemple). Nous pouvons communiquer vos renseignements personnels à une filiale de l’AMC. Nous pouvons aussi communiquer vos renseignements personnels à cause d’une obligation valide imposée par une loi, un règlement ou un mandat de perquisition, notamment. Dans tous les autres cas, nous vous demanderons au préalable l’autorisation de divulguer vos renseignements personnels.

Accès aux renseignements personnels et opposition à leur collecte, leur utilisation et leur diffusion

Si vous voulez mettre à jour n’importe quand les renseignements que vous avez fournis au cours de l’inscription, en vérifier l’exactitude, ou cesser d’autoriser l’utilisation de vos renseignements personnels, entrez dans votre compte sur amc.ca, rendez-vous à votre « tableau de bord » ou envoyez un message électronique à privacy@cma.ca​. Veuillez prendre note que vos préférences sur la notification (comme l’adresse électronique) ne s’appliqueront qu’aux opérations du site amc.ca. Si vous désirez modifier vos coordonnées postales et personnelles pour l’Association médicale canadienne et ses filiales, veuillez téléphoner au Centre des membres, au 1 888 855 2555.

Si vous ne voulez pas fournir certains renseignements personnels, il se peut que nous ne puissions vous donner accès à certaines parties du site Web qui sont réservées aux médecins et aux membres. Il faut fournir votre numéro d’identité de l’AMC pour y avoir accès. Toutefois, si vous ne voulez pas fournir votre date de naissance pour vous inscrire au site Web, veuillez communiquer avec le Centre des membres de l’AMC, au 1 888 855 2555, pour discuter des solutions de rechange possibles.

Sécurité

Le site Web amc.ca dispose des moyens physiques et techniques nécessaires pour assurer la sécurité des renseignements. Nous utilisons une technologie à la fine pointe pour protéger vos données. Les serveurs sont installés au Canada dans des pièces sécurisées, accessibles seulement par un groupe limité de personnes préautorisées qui doivent utiliser un code d’entrée. Tout accès à ces pièces est surveillé par vidéo. Nous utilisons aussi une technologie avancée de chiffrage et de coupe-feu. Même si nous déployons tous les moyens raisonnables nécessaires pour protéger vos renseignements personnels contre la perte, l’utilisation indue ou l’altération par des tiers, il faut savoir que la transmission de renseignements dans Internet pose toujours certains risques.

Questions au sujet du présent énoncé de politique

Nous respecterons toujours vos préférences quant à la protection de vos renseignements personnels.

Cette déclaration au sujet de la protection des renseignements personnels s’applique au site Web amc.ca seulement. Il faut savoir qu’amc.ca contient des liens vers d’autres sites Web. Nous ne sommes pas responsables de leurs pratiques en matière de protection des renseignements personnels. Nous vous encourageons à chercher et à lire la déclaration sur la protection des renseignements personnels de chaque site Web que vous visitez en passant par un lien affiché sur le site amc.ca ou de tout site qui vous demande de fournir des renseignements personnels.

Si vous avez des questions au sujet de la politique sur la protection des renseignements personnels en ligne sur amc.ca, veuillez envoyer un message électronique à privacy@cma.ca.