Sign In

Promoting the values of the medical profession: first recipients of CMA 150th bursaries and awards program ​

​Quebec, Ontario and British Columbia are the first provinces to benefit from the CMA Foundation’s program to support medical students. Students at University of Montreal, Ottawa, Sherbrooke and British Columbia have been granted awards and bursaries totalling more than sixty thousand dollars. Later this month, the CMA Foundation will be presenting more awards to medical students at the University of Manitoba and Laval University.

A $15,000 award recognizes student leaders who best represent the values of the medical profession, including honesty, integrity, respect, responsibility, accountability, collaboration and commitment to self-improvement. As well, an $8,500 bursary provides financial assistance to those who need it the most.

The CMA 150th Anniversary Bursaries and Awards Program was launched last year as part of the association’s anniversary celebrations. Funded by the CMA Foundation, the program aims to recognize the values of the medical profession and alleviate some of the financial challenges faced by medical students.

In partnership with the country’s 17 medical schools, the CMA Foundation is funding an award and bursary in every school. In total, more than 170 students will benefit from the program over the next five years. Stay tuned as more winners are announced throughout 2018.

The CMA Foundation was launched in 2017 by the CMA, in partnership with its subsidiaries, MD Financial Management and Joule™ to provide impactful charitable giving to further excellence in health care.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

​Promouvoir les valeurs de la profession médicale : les premiers bénéficiaires du Programme de prix et bourses du 150e de l’AMC

​Le Québec, l’Ontario et la Colombie-Britannique sont les premières provinces à bénéficier du programme de la Fondation AMC visant à soutenir les étudiants en médecine. Des étudiants de l’Université de Montréal, de l’Université d’Ottawa, de l’Université de Sherbrooke et de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique ont reçu des prix et des bourses d’une valeur totale de plus de soixante mille dollars. Plus tard ce mois-ci, la Fondation AMC présentera de nouveaux prix remis à des étudiants en médecine de l’Université du Manitoba et de l’Université Laval.

Un prix de 15 000 $ est remis aux leaders étudiants qui représentent le mieux les valeurs de la profession médicale, notamment l’honnêteté, l’intégrité, le respect, la fiabilité, la responsabilisation, la collaboration et la détermination à se perfectionner. Une bourse de 8 500 $ est également remise comme soutien financier à ceux qui en ont le plus besoin.

Le Programme de prix et bourses du 150e de l’AMC a été lancé l’an dernier dans le cadre des célébrations entourant l’anniversaire de l’AMC. Ce programme financé par la Fondation AMC vise à reconnaître les valeurs de la profession médicale et à alléger les difficultés financières que doivent surmonter certains étudiants en médecine.

En partenariat avec les 17 facultés de médecine du Canada, la Fondation AMC finance un prix et une bourse dans chaque faculté. Au total, plus de 170 étudiants bénéficieront de ce programme au cours des cinq prochaines années. Surveillez l’annonce des prochains bénéficiaires tout au long de l’année 2018.

Créée en 2017 par l’AMC, en partenariat avec ses filiales Gestion financière MD et Joule, la Fondation AMC verse des dons à des organismes de bienfaisance qui contribuent à promouvoir l’excellence en santé.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.