Sign In

Public health emergencies and emerging threats

Canada’s public health care system faces new and emerging public health threats every year. Pandemics like SARS and avian flu have posed serious challenges to the health care system. Similarly, emergencies like floods and fires require governments to respond in a rapid and efficient manner.

The CMA continues to call on the federal government to invest significant resources to prepare for public health emergencies and emerging threats, should they arise.

Watch this section for CMA statements on public health emergencies and emerging threats as they occur.

Pandemic planning for medical practices

An influenza pandemic presents unique challenges for the delivery of health care, with case numbers likely to seriously exceed the capacity and capability of our systems to cope in conventional ways.

Physicians will be on the front lines of response, so it is important that they be prepared both personally and in their practice. Physicians should develop a preparedness plan to ensure their practice can respond in a coherent, effective and coordinated way to maintain service continuity. This planning will also help in responding to other communicable disease situations.

Physicians should identify someone to coordinate pandemic influenza planning for their office, and should remember to update their plan and procedures annually, or after each wave of pandemic influenza.

Connexion

Situations d’urgence en santé publique et de menaces émergentes

Le système public de soins de santé du Canada fait face à des menaces nouvelles et émergentes en santé publique chaque année. Des pandémies comme celles du SRAS et de la grippe aviaire posent de sérieux défis au système de santé. De même, les situations d’urgence comme les inondations et les incendies requièrent une réponse rapide et efficace du système de santé publique.

L’AMC continue de demander au gouvernement fédéral d’investir des ressources importantes pour se préparer à d’éventuelles situations d’urgence en santé publique et menaces émergentes.

Suivez cette section pour connaître les positions de l’AMC sur les situations d’urgence en santé publique et les menaces émergentes à mesure qu’elles se manifestent.

Préparation aux pandémies pour les cabinets de médecin

Les pandémies de grippe posent des défis particuliers à la prestation des soins de santé, et le nombre de cas sera sans doute largement supérieur à la capacité de nos systèmes de répondre à une crise par des moyens classiques.

Les médecins seront aux premières lignes d’intervention; il est donc important qu’ils soient préparés à la fois sur les plans personnel et professionnel. Les médecins devraient établir un plan de préparation afin de s’assurer que leur cabinet peut répondre à la demande de façon cohérente, efficace et coordonnée et maintenir la continuité des services. Cette préparation s’appliquera aussi à d’autres maladies transmissibles.

Les médecins devraient désigner quelqu’un pour coordonner la planification à leur bureau en vue d’une vague de grippe pandémique, sans oublier de mettre à jour leur plan et leur procédure à tous les ans ou après chaque vague de grippe pandémique.