Sign In

Recognizing the work of the medical profession: CMA to celebrate National Physicians’ Day on May 1​

​The CMA is officially declaring May 1 as National Physicians’ Day, in recognition of the work of physicians and physicians-in-training across Canada. 

While several provinces — Ontario and Nova Scotia — already hold their own celebrations on May 1, the goal of a national day is to recognize the Canadian medical profession and its contributions to the country’s history and national identity. Many other countries already officially observe their own doctors’ day, such as Brazil, Cuba, India and the United States.

May 1 was chosen as the proposed date to pay tribute to one of the most influential individuals in Canadian medical history. Dr. Emily Stowe — born May 1, 1831 — was the first female to practise medicine in Canada, and a founder of the country’s women’s movement.

She was inspired to pursue a career in medicine after her husband, John, contracted tuberculosis. At the time, no Canadian college or university would accept a woman, so she pursued her medical studies in the United States, earning a degree from the New York Medical College for Women. Following her studies, Dr. Stowe went on to open a medical practice in Toronto.

Support for the creation of a national day is also gaining support in Parliament. Last month, Senator Art Eggleton introduced the Bill, An Act respecting National Physicians’ Day, which would create an official commemorative day at the federal level. 

As May 1 approaches, stay tuned for more information on how the CMA will be marking this special day and celebrating the many contributions of our country’s medical profession.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Reconnaissance de la profession médicale : l’AMC célébrera la Journée nationale des médecins le 1er mai​

​L’AMC déclare officiellement le 1er mai « Journée nationale des médecins », afin de souligner le travail des médecins et des futurs médecins du Canada.

Bien que certaines provinces – l’Ontario et la Nouvelle-Écosse – aient déjà leurs propres célébrations le 1er mai, une journée nationale aiderait à exprimer notre reconnaissance à l’ensemble de la profession médicale canadienne pour sa contribution à l’histoire et à l’identité du Canada. Beaucoup d’autres pays ont déjà leur journée des médecins, comme le Brésil, Cuba, l’Inde et les États-Unis.

La date a été choisie pour rendre hommage à l’une des personnes les plus influentes de l’histoire médicale canadienne, la Dre Emily Stowe. Née le 1er mai 1831, elle a été la première femme à exercer la médecine au Canada, et une des fondatrices du mouvement de défense des droits des femmes du pays.

Elle a décidé de faire carrière en médecine lorsque son mari, John, a contracté la tuberculose. À l’époque, aucun collège ou université au Canada n’acceptait les femmes; elle s’est donc rendue aux États-Unis, où elle a obtenu son diplôme du Collège de médecine pour femmes de New York. Après ses études, la Dre Stowe a ouvert un cabinet à Toronto.

La création d’une journée nationale gagne aussi des appuis au Parlement. Le mois dernier, le sénateur Art Eggleton a présenté le projet de loi intitulé Loi instituant la Journée nationale des médecins, qui créerait une journée commémorative officielle à l’échelle nationale.

À l’approche du 1er mai, restez à l’affût pour découvrir comment l’AMC soulignera cette journée spéciale et célébrera les nombreuses contributions de la profession médicale de notre pays.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.