Sign In

Reporting of drug shortages to be made mandatory

A decision by Health Canada mandating drug manufacturers to report drug shortages, has been applauded by the Canadian Medical Association.

Health Minister Rona Ambrose announced plans to establish an independent third-party website “for companies to provide timely, comprehensive and reliable information to Canadians on anticipated and actual drug shortages. The website will also provide information on multi-stakeholder efforts to address actual shortages, and provide tools to ensure Canadians can access the information they need.”

Ambrose also announced a Public Notification Register on Health Canada’s website that will list all the manufacturers that have committed to providing voluntary public notification of shortages, and includes public letters to companies that fail to live up to these expectations. Until the mandatory system is up and running, manufacturers are expected to continue voluntarily posting information on all shortages on the industry-run website, www.drugshortages.ca.

The CMA and its specialty affiliate organizations have taken a leadership role in calling for resolution of drug shortages since such shortages were highlighted in 2010. Many specialty groups believe the shortages of prescription drugs in Canada are so severe that they are having an impact on the delivery of appropriate patient care.

CMA President Chris Simpson applauded the announcement stating “the CMA commends the federal government for today’s commitment ... This reporting framework is a welcome and necessary step to communicating the persistent shortages of prescription medication in recent years, shortages which have serious consequences for patient care.”

In 2013, the CMA adopted a policy on drug shortages stating “the escalation in shortages of prescription drugs in the past few years and the ongoing disruptions to supply experienced in Canada and globally are matters of grave concern to the CMA and its members.

“Drug shortages are having a detrimental impact on the delivery of patient care and treatment and the availability of health care services across the country,” the statement continued.

In that document, the CMA advocated a number of steps to address the issue, including establishment of a legislative framework requiring pharmaceutical companies to provide advance notice of production stoppages and any forecast disruptions in the drug supply.

In the wake of the government announcement, the CMA said other steps outlined in its policy document should be carried out such as further investigation into the underlying causes of drug shortages and the development of mitigation strategies to reduce shortages and their impact on patient health and patient care.

A survey conducted by the CMA, Canadian Pharmacists Association (CPhA) and Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists in October, 2013 indicated shortages were “a significant problem.”

That survey found:

  • 66% of MDs report drug shortages have worsened since 2010
  • 47% of doctors said patient visits are growing longer as MDs seek appropriate drugs to substitute for those in short supply
  • 67% of physicians reported they are spending more time researching and consulting as they seek alternatives to drugs in short supply

Last June, Health Canada Health Canada sought input from Canadian physicians and members of the public on the current approach to notifications about the shortages.

There are currently more than 700 drugs listed on www.drugshortages.ca documenting the shortages.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

La divulgation des pénuries de médicaments deviendra obligatoire

Une décision de Santé Canada obligeant les fabricants de médicaments à divulguer les pénuries de médicaments a été applaudie par l’Association médicale canadienne.

La ministre de la Santé Rona Ambrose a annoncé des plans visant à établir un site Web tiers autonome « afin que les entreprises fournissent à la population canadienne des renseignements, à jour, complets et dignes de foi sur les pénuries de médicaments actuelles ou prévues. Ce site Web fournira aussi des renseignements sur les efforts consentis par de nombreux intervenants pour régler les pénuries actuelles, en plus d’outils pour s’assurer que la population canadienne peut accéder aux renseignements dont elle a besoin. »

La ministre Ambrose a également annoncé la création d’un registre de divulgation sur le site Web de Santé Canada, lequel énumèrera tous les fabricants s’étant engagés à divulguer volontairement les pénuries, et affichera des lettres publiques aux entreprises qui omettent de tenir leurs promesses. D’ici à ce que cette modalité obligatoire soit implantée, on s’attend des fabricants qu’ils continuent d’afficher volontairement les renseignements relatifs à toutes les pénuries de médicaments sur le site Web de l’industrie www.drugshortages.ca.

L’AMC et ses sociétés affiliées ont adopté un rôle de premier plan en demandant la résolution des pénuries de médicaments depuis que ce problème a été souligné en 2010. De nombreux groupes de spécialistes croient que le problème des pénuries de médicaments est si grave qu’il a une incidence sur la prestation de soins appropriés aux patients.

Le Dr Chris Simpson, président de l’AMC, a salué cette annonce, déclarant que « l’AMC félicite le gouvernement fédéral pour l’annonce d’aujourd’hui… Ce cadre de référence constitue une démarche intéressante et nécessaire pour communiquer les pénuries persistantes de médicaments des dernières années, pénuries qui ont eu des conséquences sérieuses sur les soins aux patients. »

En 2013, l’AMC a adopté une politique relative aux pénuries de médicaments qui déclarait ce qui suit : « les pénuries de plus en plus graves de médicaments d’ordonnance des dernières années et les ruptures de stocks qui se font sentir constamment au Canada et à l’étranger préoccupent l’Association médicale canadienne (AMC) et ses membres. »

« Les pénuries de médicaments ont un effet nuisible sur la prestation des soins aux patients, sur leur traitement et sur la disponibilité des services de santé, partout au Canada. »

Dans ce document, l’AMC proposait un certain nombre de mesures pour s’attaquer au problème, notamment la mise en place d’un cadre législatif obligeant les entreprises pharmaceutiques à donner un préavis pour tout arrêt de production et pour toute perturbation prévue dans l’approvisionnement en médicaments.

À la suite de l’annonce du gouvernement, l’AMC a expliqué que les autres mesures décrites dans son énoncé de position devraient être concrétisées, notamment la tenue d’une enquête sur les causes sous-jacentes des pénuries de médicaments et l’élaboration de stratégies d’atténuation destinées à réduire les pénuries et les répercussions sur la santé des patients et les soins qui leur sont prodigués.

Un récent sondage mené en octobre 2013 par l’AMC, l’Association des pharmaciens du Canada (APhC) et la Société canadienne des pharmaciens d’hôpitaux révélait que les pénuries de médicaments constituaient « un grave problème ».

Le sondage révélait ce qui suit :

  • 66 % des médecins ont vu les pénuries empirer depuis 2010;
  • 47 % des médecins disent que les visites des patients durent plus longtemps à cause des problèmes liés à la recherche de médicaments appropriés pour remplacer ceux qui sont en pénurie;
  • 67 % des médecins signalent qu’ils consacrent davantage de temps à la recherche et à la consultation pour trouver des médicaments de rechange;

En juin dernier, Santé Canada a invité les médecins canadiens et les membres du public à formuler des commentaires sur l’approche actuelle concernant les avis relatifs aux pénuries.

Il y a actuellement plus de 700 médicaments inscrits sur www.drugshortages.ca documentant les pénuries de médicaments.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.