Sign In

Salute to Tupper at this year’s Medical Hall of Fame ceremony

Sir Charles Tupper, CMA’s first-ever president, was one of six new laureates inducted into the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame (CMHF) at their annual gala, held recently in Hamilton. Tupper was recognized by the CMHF for his impact on the fields of medicine, education and politics.

“For many physicians, the name Tupper has become synonymous with advocacy and the CMA, even has an award in his name and honour – the Sir Charles Tupper Award for Political Action. ” said Dr. Cindy Forbes, current CMA president, who spoke at the gala on behalf of Tupper’s descendants. “Thirteen physicians have received this award to-date and so his spirit continues to live on.”

Tupper held leadership roles in Halifax as the city medical officer, as a member of surgical staff of the provincial and city hospital, and was president of the Medical Society of Nova Scotia. Elected into the Nova Scotia Assembly in 1855, Tupper was Premier by 1864.

Through his advocacy, he helped pass the Free Education Act and led Nova Scotia into Confederation. He also chaired the committee responsible for creating Dalhousie Medical School.

Known as Sir John A. Macdonald’s ‘right hand', Tupper also had a long career as a federal cabinet minister and, ever a physician, was known for keeping his medical bag beneath his seat in the House of Commons. He is the only physician to have served as Prime Minister of Canada.

Dr. Forbes also noted that Tupper – and his induction into the CMHF – will be highlighted as part of the CMA’s 150th anniversary celebrations in Quebec City in August 2017.

The other CMHF 2016 inductees are:

  • Michael Bliss, medical historian;
  • Dr. May Cohen, women’s health pioneer;
  • Dr. Gordan Guyatt, leader in evidence-based research;
  • Dr. David Naylor, physician-scientist; and
  • Dr. Mark Wainberg, HIV/AIDS researcher.

The CMHF is a national charitable organization that celebrates individuals who have made, and are making, significant contributions to medicine and health in Canada and the world. The CMA has been a supporter of their work since their inception in 1994.

To learn more about the CMHF and this year’s inductees, visit http://cdnmedhall.org

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Hommage à Sir Charles Tupper aux cérémonies du Temple de la renommée médicale

Sir Charles Tupper, le tout premier président de l’AMC, est l’un des six nouveaux lauréats qui ont été intronisés au Temple de la renommée médicale canadienne (TRMC) lors de son gala annuel tenu récemment à Hamilton. Le TRMC a reconnu Sir Charles pour son influence dans les domaines de la médecine, de l’éducation et de la politique.

« Pour de nombreux médecins, le nom de Sir Charles Tupper est devenu synonyme de représentation et de l’AMC. Un prix a même été créé en son honneur – le Prix Sir-Charles-Tupper d’action politique », a déclaré la Dre Cindy Forbes, présidente actuelle de l’AMC, qui était présente afin d’accepter cet honneur au nom des descendants de Sir Charles. « Treize médecins ont reçu ce prix jusqu’à présent, et son esprit reste bien vivant. »

Sir Charles a occupé divers postes de leadership à Halifax, notamment comme médecin hygiéniste de la ville et membre du personnel chirurgical des hôpitaux de la ville et de la province, et a présidé la Société médicale de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Élu à l’Assemblée législative de la Nouvelle-Écosse en 1855, Sir Charles est devenu premier ministre de la province en 1864.

Par ses activités de représentation, il a soutenu l’adoption de la Loi sur l'enseignement gratuit (Free Education Act) et a guidé la Nouvelle-Écosse vers la Confédération. Il a également présidé le comité responsable de la création de la Faculté de médecine de l’Université Dalhousie.

Reconnu comme étant le « bras droit » de Sir John A. Macdonald, Sir Charles a aussi eu une longue carrière comme ministre du cabinet fédéral. Médecin dans l’âme, il était reconnu pour toujours avoir sa trousse sous son siège à la Chambre des communes. Il est le seul médecin à avoir été premier ministre du Canada.

La Dre Forbes a également souligné que Sir Charles – et son intronisation au TRMC – seront mis en lumière dans le cadre des célébrations du 150e anniversaire de l’AMC, qui auront lieu à Québec en août 2017.

Les autres lauréats intronisés en 2016 sont :

  • M. Michael Bliss, historien médical
  • Dre May Cohen, pionnière de la santé des femmes
  • Dr Gordan Guyatt, chef de file de la recherche factuelle
  • Dr David Naylor, médecin et scientifique
  • Dr Mark Wainberg, chercheur sur le VIH-sida

Le TRMC est un organisme de bienfaisance national qui rend hommage aux personnes qui ont apporté, et qui apportent, une contribution significative à la médecine et à la santé, au Canada et dans le monde. L’AMC soutient les activités de l’organisme depuis sa création en 1994.

Pour en savoir plus sur le TRMC et les lauréats de cette année, veuillez visiter le site http://cdnmedhall.org/fr.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.