Sign In

​Statement on National Resident Awareness Week

Ottawa (ON) – We seize National Resident Awareness Week (Feb. 5-9) to recognize and thank Canada’s 12,000 residents for contributing so significantly to the health of Canadians. In addition to pursuing excellence in medical care as learners, residents also provide care to patients and serve as advocates for critical policy matters. This leadership sets an inspiring example for the future of medical care in our country.

Working closely with Resident Doctors of Canada (RDoC), we’re committed to addressing the challenges confronting residents and the medical profession. We recognize the importance of creating additional residency spaces and the CMA Board of Directors approved a resolution in December 2017 on this very issue. Specifically, we’ll be advocating to allocate additional funding on an urgent basis to enable Canada's 17 faculties of medicine to offer additional postgraduate training positions in 2018.

The stress imposed on residents must be addressed. Most recently, the CMA has released a new health policy that acknowledges the challenges that medical learners face and calls for action. Supporting physician health is a CMA priority and we recognize that everyone has a role to play in finding solutions. In addition, we’ll soon have findings from our National Physician Health Survey, which will provide an up-to-date portrait of the challenges we’re facing. Together, we can use this data to tackle the root causes affecting physician health in Canada. 

As we look to the future, we’ll continue to explore how medicine is changing, and how we can best support physicians and medical learners across the county. This work includes upcoming revisions to our Code of Ethics, including a new section on medical professionalism — a first on the international scene. As a profession, we must also define the kind of medical culture we want, including how we treat one another as colleagues. Our new Charter of Shared Values will be a resource to guide us as we strengthen our intra-professionalism.

The CMA is proud to represent you, our next generation of medical professionals. Once again, thank you for all that you do — not just during resident awareness week, but 365 days a year.

Dr. Laurent Marcoux
CMA President

Connexion

Déclaration à l’occasion de la Semaine nationale de sensibilisation envers les résidents​

Ottawa (Ontario) – Nous profitons de la Semaine nationale de sensibilisation envers les résidents (du 5 au 9 février 2018) afin de rendre hommage aux 12 000 médecins résidents du Canada et de les remercier pour leur contribution si importante à la santé des Canadiens. En plus de rechercher l’excellence en soins médicaux comme apprenants, les médecins résidents prodiguent des soins aux patients et se font défenseurs en matière d’enjeux politiques importants. Ce leadership est un exemple inspirant pour l’avenir des soins médicaux au Canada.

En étroite collaboration avec Médecins résidents du Canada (MRC), nous nous engageons à relever les défis auxquels sont confrontés les médecins résidents et la profession médicale. Nous sommes conscients de l’importance de créer des places additionnelles en résidence, et le Conseil d’administration a approuvé une résolution sur ce sujet en décembre 2017. Plus précisément, nous demanderons l’allocation en urgence de financement supplémentaire pour permettre aux 17 facultés de médecine du Canada d’offrir davantage de places de formation postdoctorale en 2018.

Il faut tenir compte du stress imposé aux résidents. L’AMC a récemment présenté une nouvelle politique sur la santé qui reconnaît les défis auxquels font face les apprenants, et qui lance un appel à l’action. Le soutien à la santé des médecins est une priorité pour l’AMC, et nous savons que tout le monde a un rôle à jouer afin de trouver des solutions. De plus, nous aurons bientôt les résultats de notre Sondage national sur la santé des médecins, qui donnera un portrait à jour des défis auxquels nous sommes confrontés. Ensemble, nous pouvons utiliser ces données pour nous attaquer aux causes fondamentales des problèmes de santé des médecins au Canada. 

Alors que nous regardons vers l’avenir, nous continuerons à observer comment la médecine évolue et comment nous pouvons soutenir les médecins et les apprenants de façon optimale, partout au pays. Cela consiste entre autres à revoir notre Code d’éthique, notamment en y ajoutant une section sur le professionnalisme médical, une première sur la scène internationale. En tant que profession, nous devons également définir ensemble le genre de culture médicale que nous voulons encourager, notamment comment nous nous comportons les uns avec les autres en tant que collègues. Notre nouvelle Charte des valeurs communes nous servira de ressource pour orienter nos interactions alors que nous renforçons notre intraprofessionnalisme.

L’AMC est fière de représenter notre prochaine génération de professionnels médicaux. Une fois encore, merci pour tout ce que vous faites – pas seulement pendant la Semaine nationale de sensibilisation envers les résidents, mais durant toute l’année.

Le président de l’AMC,
Dr Laurent Marcoux