Sign In

Strengthening resilience in medical training and practice

The final strategic session at the Canadian Medical Association (CMA) annual meeting examined ways to improve the health of physicians and physicians-in-training, with a special focus on resiliency and being able to “bounce back” from difficult situations.

“Physician health has emerged as a growing priority for the CMA,” said Dr. Cindy Forbes, CMA Past President. “Although important strides have been made, a growing body of literature reminds us that serious personal and professional barriers to ensuring physician health remain.”

In particular, participants heard how resilience reflects an individual’s capacity to respond to setbacks in a healthy and adaptive manner, and persist in the face of obstacles. Resilient individuals are able to not only bounce back, but also further refine behaviors, thoughts and actions.

The session was led by a medical student, resident doctor and an early-career physician. Ms. Marie-Pier Bastrash is a final year medical student at McGill University planning to train to be an obstetrician and gynecologist. She is also Vice President, Student Affairs for the Canadian Federation of Medical Students (CFMS), and past chair of the CFMS Wellness Committee.

Dr. Jonathan Dean — a PGY-3 Internal Medicine resident at the University of Saskatchewan, a Resident Doctors of Canada (RDoC) board member representing Saskatchewan and co-chair of the RDoC Wellness Committee — provided the resident perspective.

The panel was rounded out with the perspective of early-career physician Dr. Tracy Scott, assistant program director in the general surgery residency program at Vancouver’s St. Paul’s Hospital.

The need for greater understanding among physicians and physicians-in-training about resiliency was a key focus of the session as well as how it can be compromised by both internal and external factors.

The CMA Board of Directors approved a new, multi-year strategy to refresh and redefine a vision for physician health last winter. Since then, the association has worked on several major activities:

  • development of a new CMA policy on physician health;
  • development of a new National Physician Health Survey;
  • continuing planning for hosting national and international physician health conferences; and
  • ongoing collaboration with provincial physician health programs via the Forum of Canadian Physician Health Programs.

Discussions during General Council will be used to direct future CMA work in the field of physician health.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Améliorer la résilience dans la formation et la pratique médicales

La toute dernière séance stratégique de l’Assemblée annuelle de l’Association médicale canadienne (AMC) portait sur des façons d’améliorer la santé des médecins et des médecins en formation, avec un accent particulier sur la résilience et la capacité de « rebondir » après avoir traversé une situation difficile.

« La santé des médecins devient une priorité grandissante pour l’AMC », a dit la Dre Cindy Forbes, présidente sortante de l’AMC. « Bien que des progrès importants soient réalisés, de plus en plus d’écrits nous rappellent qu’il demeure de gros obstacles personnels et professionnels à la santé des médecins. »

Plus précisément, les participants ont appris comment la résilience reflète la capacité d’une personne à réagir aux revers de manière saine et adaptative, et à persévérer face aux obstacles. Les personnes résilientes sont non seulement capables de rebondir, mais d’améliorer leurs comportements, leur façon de penser et leur manière d’agir.

La séance était dirigée par une étudiante en médecine, un médecin résident et un médecin en début de carrière. Mme Marie-Pier Bastrash est en dernière année de médecine à l’Université McGill et prévoit se spécialiser en obstétrique et en gynécologie. Elle est aussi vice-présidente des Affaires étudiantes de la Fédération des étudiants et des étudiantes en médecine du Canada (FEMC) et ancienne présidente du Comité du bien-être de la FEMC.

Le Dr Jonathan Dean — médecin résident de troisième année en médecine interne à l’Université de la Saskatchewan, membre du Conseil de Médecins résidents du Canada (MRC) représentant la Saskatchewan, et coprésident du Comité du bien-être de MRC — a donné le point de vue des médecins résidents.

Le panel s’est terminé avec la perspective de la Dre Tracy Scott, médecin en début de carrière et directrice adjointe du Programme de résidence en chirurgie générale à l’Hôpital St. Paul’s de Vancouver.

La nécessité pour les médecins et les médecins en formation de mieux comprendre la résilience était un élément clé de la séance, de même que la façon dont cette résilience peut être compromise par des facteurs à la fois internes et externes.

L’hiver dernier, le Conseil d’administration de l’AMC a approuvé une nouvelle stratégie pluriannuelle visant à actualiser et à redéfinir la vision de la santé des médecins. Depuis, l’Association travaille sur divers projets majeurs :

  • l’élaboration d’une nouvelle politique de l’AMC sur la santé des médecins;
  • l’élaboration d’un nouveau sondage national sur la santé des médecins;
  • la planification continue de conférences nationales et internationales sur la santé des médecins;
  • a collaboration continue avec les programmes provinciaux sur la santé des médecins par l’intermédiaire du Forum canadien des programmes de santé des médecins.

Les discussions du Conseil général serviront à orienter les travaux futurs de l’AMC dans le domaine de la santé des médecins.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.