Sign In

​​Submit a guideline

You can submit a guideline and/or related materials (e.g., patient versions, quick-reference guides, evaluation documents) for possible inclusion in the CPG Infobase. All submissions will be carefully reviewed to ensure they meet the inclusion criteria. A staff member will contact you with the results of this review process.

What is a clinical practice guideline (CPG)?

JouleTM​, a CMA company, follows the lead of the Institute of Medicine in defining CPGs as "systematically developed statements to assist practitioner and patient decisions about appropriate health care for specific clinical circumstances." [Committee to Advise the Public Health Service on Clinical Practice Guidelines, Institute of Medicine. Clinical practice guidelines: directions for a new program. Washington: National Academy Press; 1990. p. 38.]

What are the criteri​a for inclusion of a clinical practice guideline in the C​PG Infobase?

(currently under review)

To be included in the CPG Infobase, each guideline must:

  1. Include information to help patients and physicians make decisions about appropriate health care for specific clinical circumstances. Ethics guidelines are included only if they help in decision-making concerning appropriate care. Guidelines on facilities, management, training or professional qualifications are not included unless they also contain guidelines on clinical practice.
  2. Be produced in Canada by a medical or health organization, professional society, government agency or expert panel at the national, provincial/territorial or regional level (CPGs produced by individuals are excluded), or produced outside Canada by one of the foregoing types of groups and officially endorsed by an authoritative Canadian organization.​
  3. Have been developed or reviewed in the last 5 years (rolling date).
  4. Have evidence that a literature search was performed during guideline development.

In addition, all developers are encouraged to include a structured abstract with each guideline. This will assist users in determining whether the guideline is appropriate to their specific clinical circumstances.

What are related materials?

Related materials include any item that is connected to a guideline meeting the above inclusion criteria. This could include patient versions, physician quick-reference guides, evaluation documents, review articles, editorials, etc.

How do I submit a guideline and/or related materials?

Submissions can be done by regular mail, fax or email. Please include the full name, address, telephone and fax numbers, and email address of the appropriate contact person.

CPG Infobase Information Specialist
Joule | A CMA Company
Email: ​infobase@cma.ca

Connexion

​​Pour proposer un guide

Vous pouvez demander qu'un guide soit versé dans l'Infobanque des GPCMC en nous expédiant le guide et les documents connexes (par ex., version à l'intention des patients, guide de référence rapide, documents d'évaluation, etc.). Toutes les demandes sont soigneusement évaluées en fonction de nos critères d'inclusion. Un membre du personnel communiquera avec vous pour vous faire part des résultats de cet examen.

Qu'est-ce qu'un guide de pratique clinique (GPC)?

JouleMC​ a adopté la définition proposée par l'Institute of Medicine: «Les GPC sont des énoncés systématiques conçus pour aider les médecins et les patients à prendre, au sujet des soins de santé, des décisions appropriées dans des circonstances cliniques précises.» [Committee to Advise the Public Health Service on Clinical Practice Guidelines, Institute of Medicine. Clinical practice guidelines: directions for a new program. Washington: National Academy Press; 1990. p. 38.]

Quels critères régissent l'inclusion d'un guide de pratique clinique dans l'Infobanque des GPCMC?

(Actuellement en cours de révision)

Pour pouvoir être versé dans l'Infobanque GPC, un guide doit :

  1. Inclure des renseignements qui aideront les patients et les médecins à prendre, au sujet des soins de santé, des décisions appropriées dans des circonstances cliniques précises. Les guides à teneur éthique ne sont versés dans la banque que s'ils aident à prendre des décisions au sujet des soins qui conviennent. Les guides sur les installations, la gestion, la formation ou les qualités professionnelles ne sont versés dans la banque que s'ils contiennent aussi des lignes directrices de pratique clinique.
  2. Avoir été produit au Canada par une association des milieux de la médecine ou de la santé, une société professionnelle, une entité gouvernementale ou un groupe d'experts nationaux, provinciaux, territoriaux ou régionaux (les GPC produits par des particuliers sont exclus), ou avoir été produit à l'étranger par un des groupes susmentionnés et avoir reçu l'approbation officielle d'une organisation canadienne reconnue.
  3. Avoir été créé ou revu depuis moins de cinq ans (date de péremption).
  4. Démontrer qu'on a procédé à une recension des écrits pendant l'élaboration du guide.

On encourage en outre tous les rédacteurs à joindre à leur guide un résumé structuré qui aidera les utilisateurs à déterminer si le guide convient dans leurs circonstances cliniques particulières.

En quoi consiste la documentation connexe ?

Fait partie de la documentation connexe tout document relié à un guide et qui répond aux normes d'inclusion énoncées ci-dessus (notamment, version à l'intention des patients, guide de référence rapide pour les médecins, documents d'évaluation, articles d'examen systématique, éditoriaux, etc.).

Comment procéder pour proposer un guide et la documentation connexe ?

Les guides peuvent être envoyés par la poste, par télécopieur ou par courrier électronique. Veuillez donner intégralement les renseignements suivants : nom, adresse, numéros de téléphone et de télécopieur et adresse électronique de la personne-ressource.

Spécialiste de l’information de l'Infobanque AMC
Joule | Une compagnie de l’AMC 
Courriel : infobase​@cma.ca