Sign In

Taming of Queue conference tackles demographic issues

Providing appropriate care for seniors in a health care system lagging far behind the realities of the issues involved was the theme of the 12th annual Taming of the Queue conference held recently in Ottawa.

“The challenge of providing timely access to quality health care continues," said conference co-chair and former Manitoba politician and former Canadian senator Sharon Carstairs in introducing the meeting, which featured international and Canadian experts as well as patient representatives.

For the Canadian Medical Association (CMA), one of the conference sponsors, most of what was said at the two-day meeting was a vindication of the CMA’s decision to focus on seniors care as the critical issue facing the health care system.

In his remarks to the conference, CMA President Chris Simpson was critical of cuts in health care funding as an “unimaginative and mean way” of controlling costs. He advocated an emphasis on the delivery of quality, patient-centred care.

Simpson called on physicians to take the lead in making the necessary reforms, as he said the medical profession has the necessary tools to do so.

The CMA campaign for a national seniors strategy to co-ordinate the delivery of care was endorsed by Toronto geriatrics expert Dr. Samir Sinha in the final panel discussion at the conference. Sinha is one of several physicians serving on a CMAadvisory panel on seniors care.

“The world is changing but health care isn't changing with it - we are in the 19th century with respect to attitude and culture,” was how the issue was framed by keynote speaker Sir John Oldham, chair of the Independent Commission on Whole Person Care.

His perspective was mirrored by Dr. Ross Upshur, Canada Research Chair in Primary Care Research, who delivered a blistering critique of the failure of the current Canadian system to respond to the growing challenges of treating aging patients who have multiple chronic diseases.

Upshur was also critical of the emphasis placed on clinical practice guidelines to treat patients because such an approach has a single-disease focus not appropriate to those patients with multiple morbidities.

The growing population of frail elderly patients “needs coordinated, person-centred care rather than treatment as a collection of separate diseases,” said Dr. John Muscedere, scientific director of the Technology Evaluation in the Elderly Network and professor of medicine at Queen’s University, Kingston, Ont.

Many innovative programs already in place in Canada to help seniors maintain their independence in the community were featured at the meeting, but the project receiving most attention was the Northumberland (Ont.)-based Partners Advancing Transitions in Healthcare (PATH) project with its emphasis on involving seniors and their caregivers in their care.

“The best place is home,” is how Carstairs summarized what many speakers said about the need for co-ordinated community care.

While Taming of the Queue 2015 had a deliberate focus beyond strategies to improved wait times for medical procedures, the wait times problem was addressed in an overview by University of York, UK, economist Luigi Siciliani

Based on his review of strategies to reduce wait times in OECD countries over the past 13 years, Siciliani said it is now clear that setting some form of maximum wait time guarantee is effective.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

La conférence Maîtriser les files d’attente se penche sur les enjeux démographiques

La 12e conférence annuelle Maîtriser les files d’attente, tenue récemment à Ottawa, a porté sur la prestation de soins appropriés aux aînés dans un système de santé qui n’est nullement adapté à la réalité des enjeux connexes.

« La prestation en temps opportun de soins de qualité est toujours problématique », a dit la coprésidente de la conférence, Sharon Carstairs, une ancienne politicienne provinciale du Manitoba et sénatrice canadienne, en introduction de la rencontre, qui accueillait des experts canadiens et internationaux, de même que des représentants de patients.

L’Association médicale canadienne (AMC), qui coparrainait la conférence, estime que la majeure partie de ce qui a été dit lors de cette rencontre de deux jours justifie sa décision de considérer les soins aux aînés comme étant le principal enjeu auquel le système de santé est confronté.

Dans son allocution, le président de l’AMC, Chris Simpson, a critiqué les compressions dans le financement de la santé, disant que c’était une façon de contrôler les coûts « mesquine et peu imaginative ». Selon lui, il faut plutôt se concentrer sur la prestation de soins de qualité, axés sur les patients.

Le Dr Simpson a exhorté les médecins à prendre l’initiative afin de faire les réformes nécessaires, soutenant que la profession médicale a les outils pour le faire.

La campagne menée par l’AMC en faveur de l’élaboration d’une stratégie nationale sur les aînés afin de coordonner la prestation des soins a reçu l’appui du Dr Samir Sinha, un spécialiste en gériatrie de Toronto, lors du panel de discussion qui clôturait l’événement. Le Dr Sinha est l’un des médecins qui siègent au groupe consultatif de l’AMC sur les soins aux aînés.

« Le monde change, mais les soins de santé ne suivent pas le mouvement. Notre attitude et notre culture sont dignes du 19e siècle », a affirmé le conférencier principal Sir John Oldham, président de l’Independent Commission on Whole Person Care, au Royaume-Uni.

Son point de vue a été partagé par le Dr Ross Upshur, titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada sur les soins primaires, qui a vivement critiqué l’incapacité du système actuel à relever les défis grandissants posés par les patients vieillissants qui souffrent de maladies chroniques multiples.

Le Dr Upshur s’est également montré critique des traitements axés sur des guides de pratique clinique car cette approche, a-t-il dit, se fonde sur le principe de la maladie unique et ne convient pas aux patients atteints de morbidités multiples.

L’augmentation du nombre de patients âgés frêles « requiert des soins coordonnés, axés sur l’individu, et non le traitement d’une série de maladies distinctes », a renchéri le Dr John Muscedere, directeur scientifique du réseau Technology Evaluation in the Elderly et professeur de médecine à l’Université Queen’s, à Kingston, en Ontario.

Les nombreux programmes innovateurs visant à aider les aînés à rester autonomes dans la communauté qui existent déjà au Canada ont été mis en lumière à la rencontre, mais celui qui a suscité le plus d’attention a été le projet Partners Advancing Transitions in Healthcare (PATH), réalisé à Northumberland, en Ontario, qui vise à engager les aînés et leurs soignants dans la prestation des soins.

« Le meilleur endroit, c’est chez soi. » C’est en ces termes que la Dre Carstairs a résumé ce que nombre de conférenciers ont dit sur la nécessité d’offrir des soins communautaires coordonnés.

.

D’après son examen des stratégies de réduction des temps d’attente adoptées dans les pays de l’OCDE ces 13 dernières années, M. Siciliani a dit que la mise en œuvre d’une certaine forme de garantie sur les temps d’attente maximaux a démontré son efficacité efficace.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.