Sign In

Tax guide available for CMA members

The Canadian Medical Association has updated its taxation guide for members for the current year.

Tax Tips for the Physician and Physician in Training is a popular guide prepared annually by Dr. Brian Cummings, a well-known physician consultant on financial matters.

“One of the most significant expenses you will incur during your professional career will be taxes — specifically, federal and provincial income taxes,” writes Cummings in the introduction to the guide. “For 2014, up to 50% of your taxable income could be paid in the form of income taxes. As such, it is prudent to avail yourself of all available deductions and tax credits to minimize taxes payable and maximize your cash flow and financial position.”

Cummings starts with an overview of the February 2014 federal budget, and notes that it did not change personal or corporate tax rates but focused on providing targeted and affordable measures, as well as tightening perceived tax loopholes.

In addition to general tax advice, Cummings also deals with issues specific to physicians-in-training, such as the CaRMS (Canadian Residency Matching Services) applicant registration fees and the final-year medical student bursary.

Cummings concludes by noting, “like medicine, tax law is frequently complex and often requires the involvement of qualified professional advisors, such as a tax accountant and/or tax lawyer.”

While the 34-page guide is comprehensive and covers an extensive list of topics, Cummings cautions the information is intended for discussion and educational purposes only. He says members should “customize their personal action plans to best fit their personal and professional aspirations.”

Members are also advised to consult with professional advisors to ensure that all their specific needs are met.

Forward any comments about this article to: cmanews@cma.ca.

Connexion

Un guide sur les impôts pour les membres de l’AMC

L’Association médicale canadienne a actualisé pour l’année en cours son guide sur les impôts à l’intention des membres.

Le guide Conseils fiscaux à l’intention des médecins et des médecins en formation est un ouvrage à succès préparé chaque année par le Dr Brian Cummings, médecin bien connu pour son expertise en matière de finances.

« Les taxes et les impôts représenteront l’un des postes de dépenses les plus importants que vous aurez à assumer tout au long de votre carrière, et plus particulièrement l’impôt sur le revenu fédéral et provincial », écrit le Dr Cummings dans son introduction du guide. « Pour 2014, l’impôt sur le revenu exigible pourrait atteindre jusqu’à 50 % de votre revenu imposable. »

Le Dr Cummings présente d’abord un aperçu du budget fédéral de 2014 et signale que les taux d’imposition des particuliers et des entreprises n’ont pas changé, les mesures budgétaires ayant plutôt mis l’accent sur des mesures ciblées et abordables, ainsi que sur un resserrement des échappatoires fiscales perçues.

Outre des conseils fiscaux d’ordre général, le Dr Cummings aborde aussi des enjeux qui intéressent particulièrement les médecins en formation, notamment les frais d’inscription au Service canadien de jumelage des résidents (CaRMS) et la bourse pour finissants en médecine.

Le Dr Cummings conclut en disant que, « tout comme la médecine, le droit fiscal est une discipline souvent complexe qui exige dans bien des cas l’intervention de conseillers compétents, comme des fiscalistes ou des avocats-fiscalistes ».

Même si le guide de 38 pages est détaillé et couvre un grand éventail de sujets, le Dr Cummings prévient les lecteurs que l’information doit servir aux fins de discussion et d’information uniquement. Les membres, dit-il, « doivent adapter leurs décisions à leurs aspirations personnelles et professionnelles ».

Il recommande aussi aux membres de consulter des conseillers professionnels qui pourront répondre à leurs besoins particuliers.

Envoyer des commentaires au sujet de cet article à : cmanews@cma.ca.